Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do NOT deal with Pixmania!!!

• 22-11-2005 1:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭

I ordered 2 H&B DivX players on the 11th of September from Pixmania.

After receiving the goods, one of the players was physically damaged. The top cover was warped and actually sticking up away from the main unit. And the disc tray would not open correctly. Luckily I had ordered two as I was able to compare both items.

I took pictures of the unit and sent it to them. They arranged for collection of the item.

I am still waiting for a replacement TO THIS DAY. They say they cannot send a replacement until they hear back from the manufacturer to confirm that it was actually faulty. It was physically damaged for god's sake!

They’ve fobbed me off now on three occasions when I’ve mailed them via their site, which I might ad, is very hard to navigate to find a contact button.

Don’t deal with these shams.

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭SteM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭TheStrandRoads

Cheers,

I saw it right after submitting the thread. I was seeing the red mist as I was submitting, so I was careless. heh

But just to reiterate.........Pixmania sucks!

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭richiek

im sorry to hear you've had a bad experience with pixmania, i've ordered off them a couple of times and i have had no problem, but i suppose for dealing with online shopping if anything goes wrong the whole thing becomes a headache.

i personally have had particularly bad experiences dealing with komplett.ie as they have NEVER got an order of mine right yet, however very few of my friends have had any problems with them at all,

it could have also been the courier service they used to deliver the goods that damaged it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭MR DAZ

@ Thestrandroads

I ordered three of these divx players and had no problems... i recommended them to a friend of mine..he ordered and his arrived the same way as yours..

Now all that was wrong .."even though it looked warped" was that the DVD Drive was misaligned inside the player..

he took off the cover and screwed in the drive properly and put back on the cover..and his player works perfectly ..

..Now I know...you shouldnt have to do this..but if it beats the hassle of sending it back.

I just thought i'd let you know.. hope you get sorted one way or another

I understand Richiek. All things considered, my real problem with them is their after sales service. It's quite difficult to contact them, as I tried mailing them (using the addresses at the bottom of their webpage) and I got an automated response telling me that I could only mail them via their website - in which you have to select from a list of queries, before getting to write anything.

You receive an automated response from doing it their way, informing that they'll get back to you within 24 hours.

In my particular case, I was able to go out of my way and take some pics of the item in question to aid my request. But they would not send a replacement to me. I was simply dumb-founded as to why they needed to hear it from their manufacturers first when they had the evidence in front of them. And they knew I had ordered two! One which was working perfectly.

It's been well over a month and I've still heard nothing from them. For all the times they've gotten back to me, they've stressed that it's in their Terms & Conditions that they deal with a query like this, in this way.

In my opinion, no company should be stressing their Terms & Conditions to a customer. It's a real backs to the wall 'get off my case' attitude. It's simply not good service.

Cheers for the update Mr.Daz. Unfortunately it's too late for me, as I've sent mine back already. But having said that, I'd probably would've sent it back anyway. We shouldn't compromise when we receive mediocre service.

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭WarZoneBrother

I ordered 2 H&B DivX players on the 11th of September from Pixmania.

After receiving the goods, one of the players was physically damaged. The top cover was warped and actually sticking up away from the main unit. And the disc tray would not open correctly. Luckily I had ordered two as I was able to compare both items.

I took pictures of the unit and sent it to them. They arranged for collection of the item.

I am still waiting for a replacement TO THIS DAY. They say they cannot send a replacement until they hear back from the manufacturer to confirm that it was actually faulty. It was physically damaged for god's sake!

They’ve fobbed me off now on three occasions when I’ve mailed them via their site, which I might ad, is very hard to navigate to find a contact button.

Don’t deal with these shams.

John

maybe it is because you ordered on 9/11

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭bounty

poxmania should be avoided at all costs, i too am a victim of their shjtty before and after sales service

send in a letter to your visa company saying you are disputing the poxmania transaction, you get a full refund within 5 weeks, this is the only thing these french cnuts understand, screw emailing them, they laugh (french style) at email complaints

this is a picture of poxmania's employee in charge of replying to email complaints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

But at which one?

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 KmcG

I too have had the misfortune of dealing with Pixmania. On the 17th of November I purchased 2 car stereos online with them. An hour or 2 later i received a mail asking me to fax through a document with proof of my address. So I sent them a renewal form i received from FBD insurance. A couple of hours later I received a call from Pixmania, this bloke starts quizing me on my order and was extremely arrogant and rude on the phone. He eventually tells me that he works in the security department and that the fax i sent them wasnt adequate and that I would need to send through another one or my order would be cancelled. After hanging up the phone I received another mail stating I was going to be reimbursed for my order. So they had cancelled my ordered because they believed it was a fraudulent transaction. The credit card was registered to the address that I was getting the goods delivered to, i.e. my house!
    So I rang there customer service and complained about the individual that called me and they told me that I would be reimbursed.
    I then ordered the 2 stereos with another company in the UK.
    When I checked my banking online yesterday I noticed to my horror that 6 days after placing the 2 orders with Pixmania and the orders then been cancelled they had charged my credit card for the 2 products.
    I rang there customer service again and after waiting on hold for a half an hour i eventually got to speak to one of there customer care agents. I gave him the order numbers and he says ' Oh I see there is a security issue with this order"! I explained that my credit card was after been debited for 2 orders that I will never receive and that your company has cancelled. I told them I wanted my card credited back the full amount. He said that he believed this was a fraudulent transaction! So tell me why if they believed it was a fraudulent transaction would they debit my credit card? He went and spoke to his supervisor and he then told me that they would not be refunding my credit card, to go and talk to my bank and ask them to reimburse me! I could not believe it! I have chased this up with the bank and they are dealing with it now. Basically even though Pixmainia believed it was a fraudulent transaction they still debited the credit card. What kind of company are Pixmania? I can safely say i will never try purchasing from them again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

KmcG wrote:
    I too have had the misfortune of dealing with Pixmania................. I can safely say i will never try purchasing from them again.

That is absolutely incredible! I would be totally livid if I was in your situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭muffinhead

KmcG wrote:
    I too have had the misfortune of dealing with Pixmania................. I can safely say i will never try purchasing from them again.

They should be called Prixmania ;) ! what a shower of w*nkers :mad: - typical arrogant French attitude!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,284 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

muffinhead wrote:
    They should be called Prixmania ;) ! what a shower of w*nkers :mad: - typical arrogant French attitude!
    Yeah, typical :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

KmcG wrote:
    He said that he believed this was a fraudulent transaction! So tell me why if they believed it was a fraudulent transaction would they debit my credit card? He went and spoke to his supervisor and he then told me that they would not be refunding my credit card, to go and talk to my bank and ask them to reimburse me!

**** Me . I would complain to the Garda Fraud Squad about that, they should never take money if they believe the 'card' is dodgy, and they did believe the card was dodgy so they commited fraud ....knowingly.

Has Pixmania Corporate HQ gone to 419 Dodge St, Lagos, Nigeria ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭m_stan

Call the office of the director of consumer affairs to confirm, but it seems like they aredenying you your consumer rights on this one. They will advise you over the phone as to your rights.

http://www.odca.ie/cfmdocs/contact.cfm

On the face of it, it seems like you are entitled to a new item since the one they sent you was never fit for the purposed they sold it to you. Thy therefore are obliged to send you a new one right away - no waiting on the manufacturer. If they wont do this, you are entitled to take them to the small claims court.

My advice is:

1). record all correspondence with Pixmania in case you need to refer to it in court
    2). send them a registered letter outlining your grievance. keep a copy
    3). call the odca to confirm your rights in this case (they are VERY helpful).

I have been in a similar situation with an electrical retailer in Dublin and they backed down and gave me a brand new TV when the one I bought from them didnt work and I quoted my rights. Until then they wanted me to accept a repaired unit.

DONT back down. Know your rights, quote them, and take them to court if they dont give you what you are entitled to. Consumer rights are quite strong in Ireland, so use them.

Let me know how you get on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

ok heres my problem with them as of recent
    i ordered a dj mix console for the pc off them in late september, €189 waited 4 weeks and ended up with a sony xplod car radio, €70 more.
    so i rang up about sending it back and got no reply, so im keeping it, they have only charged me 189.
    So just last week i decided to order a dvd and speaker system off them and it arrived in top condition. So ill still use them, but ill be more aware now of them.
    Their excuse on the website is that they had a database messup and now they say they have moved to a state of the art warehouse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭bounty

m_stan wrote:
    Call the office of the director of consumer affairs to confirm, but it seems like they aredenying you your consumer rights on this one. They will advise you over the phone as to your rights.

http://www.odca.ie/cfmdocs/contact.cfm

On the face of it, it seems like you are entitled to a new item since the one they sent you was never fit for the purposed they sold it to you. Thy therefore are obliged to send you a new one right away - no waiting on the manufacturer. If they wont do this, you are entitled to take them to the small claims court.

My advice is:

1). record all correspondence with Pixmania in case you need to refer to it in court
    2). send them a registered letter outlining your grievance. keep a copy
    3). call the odca to confirm your rights in this case (they are VERY helpful).

I have been in a similar situation with an electrical retailer in Dublin and they backed down and gave me a brand new TV when the one I bought from them didnt work and I quoted my rights. Until then they wanted me to accept a repaired unit.

DONT back down. Know your rights, quote them, and take them to court if they dont give you what you are entitled to. Consumer rights are quite strong in Ireland, so use them.

Let me know how you get on

it should be the law to put a big poster of this on the wall of every shop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

KmcG wrote:
    Basically even though Pixmainia believed it was a fraudulent transaction they still debited the credit card. What kind of company are Pixmania? I can safely say i will never try purchasing from them again.

Wow! I've been on their website loads of times and on the brink of buying.
    Thanks for the tips! That is absolutely appauling. If it was one person having trouble you might write it off as an error .. but this is too much.

KmcG, that would really scare me. I would be wondering if my card was hotlisted or something.

bubby wrote:
    Wow! I've been on their website loads of times and on the brink of buying.
    Thanks for the tips! That is absolutely appauling. If it was one person having trouble you might write it off as an error .. but this is too much.

Glad to see this thread has worked. Don't be fooled by the fancy website with it's attractive prices...(like I was :mad: )

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭100gSoma

hi all,

I ordered two items of pixmania (usb keyrings) 8 weeks ago. they took payment immediately but the item is still 'out of stock'. I recieved one of the items after 4 weeks, but no word o nthe other. I have mailed them 4 times and just got 'automated' responses. blha blah blah due in on xx date etc.

finally i wrote a very harsh letter and someone from pixmania replied and said "according to our records your item was posted yesterday, plesase check your mail for delivery tracking ID" That was 4 days ago and no email saying it was posted. They are seriously unprofessional. Do not be impressed by the website. service is dire...

:(

100gSoma wrote:
    hi all,

I ordered two items of pixmania (usb keyrings) 8 weeks ago. they took payment immediately but the item is still 'out of stock'. I recieved one of the items after 4 weeks, but no word o nthe other. I have mailed them 4 times and just got 'automated' responses. blha blah blah due in on xx date etc.

finally i wrote a very harsh letter and someone from pixmania replied and said "according to our records your item was posted yesterday, plesase check your mail for delivery tracking ID" That was 4 days ago and no email saying it was posted. They are seriously unprofessional. Do not be impressed by the website. service is dire...

:(

Surely this crowd can be reported to a consumer ombudsman or internet equivilant..??

Anyone know if there's any avenues to take?

I'm sure we've got enough dissatisfied customers to have something done about them.

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

BEUC would probably be of assistance:
    www.beuc.org

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 KmcG

I rang my bank this morning and they told me that they had refunded my credit card. I asked them if they would be able to get the money out of Pixmania and they said they would. I would hate to see Pixmania make a profit out of this. I really still cant believe that a company conducts there business in this way. I just hope word spreads about the problems people are having with this crowd and that people stir clear. I know I certainly will!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭DamoKen

jaysus! glad I didn't go through ordering from them. Was on the the brink of ordering an expensive digital slr cos of the attractive price but sent an enquiry about deliveries to Ireland, as well as some specs on the accessories that came with it. Reply I got in very bad English was "unfortunately they only deliver inside Europe and for details on the other questions look at the specs". The fact that I was asking a question related to the specs and was told to look at the damn things again, as well as the obvious geographical relocation of this fair isle dissuaded me in the end from ordering from them, I mean if it's like this before you even order it, what would it be like if there's problems with the order? Easy enough to see the answer to that from this thread and all I can say is sorry to hear that OP, hope it works out.

maidhc wrote:
    BEUC would probably be of assistance:
    www.beuc.org

Cheers for the link. I may write up a little something.
    I asked them if they would be able to get the money out of Pixmania and they said they would

I think I'm gonna do the same at this stage. I can't see them sending a replacement anytime before the year's out. They still haven't sent me an update. All of their mails are sent in response to my chasing.
    .....and all I can say is sorry to hear that OP, hope it works out

Cheers mate, will let yous know as the saga unfolds.

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

As unlikely as it may seem i had a good experience shopping with them, but after seeing this thread I wont be doing it again ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,180 ✭✭✭samo

I only ever ordered off them the once...

Initially, order processed and arrived in great time, smoothly and with no hassles.

But then I began to unpack my order....

I'd ordered a Sony TFT 17" monitor that first of all didnt come with the adaptor to allow me to plug it into elec socket. So after a call to query this, they told me they would refund me approx 3e if I wanted to go out and buy one...duly headed off to Power city and got the adaptor needed.

Set the monitor up and nothing, was completely dead, wouldnt switch on:mad: so yet another phone call to pixmania, who told me that I could return it (and at my own expense and once it arrived back they would either refund me or replace it) Considering they had sent me a faulty item and I also had taken out the Zen agreement - I didnt think this was very good service.

To post the monitor back to France ended up costing 84 euro :eek: which after I threatened them with credit chargebacks and the whole works, they finally agreed to re-compensate me. So a week after the monitor had arrived in France (and had been accepted and signed for by Pixmania) and a week spent calling them every day to see where my refund was + 84e postage I was owed , I finally managed to find a supervisor to agree to track down by the missing monitor and process the refund.

This took a further 10 days and at that the same supervisor who received an email from me every day asking for an update still only processed a refund for the monitor cost and zen agreement.

Finally after an untold amount of emails, then got my refund for the postage for the returned (faulty) monitor (approx a month later!) It has to be the worst experience I have ever had buying online and would be VERY reluctant to deal with Pixmania again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭m_stan

I think I'm gonna do the same at this stage. I can't see them sending a replacement anytime before the year's out. They still haven't sent me an update. All of their mails are sent in response to my chasing.

send them a registered letter saying your next course of action is to take them to the small claims court to get your refund.

More info on the small claims court here:
    http://www.oasis.gov.ie/justice/small_claims_court/small_claims_court.html?search=small+claims+court

See how fast they respond then. If not, then then they will have to appear in court and fight their case which they will lose based on what you've said. If they don't turn up, they will lose by default.

Either way, you are happy. And all it will cost you is 9 Eur and the price of a registered letter.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭mik_da_man

I have a bad/good story from this crowd!

I ordered an MP3 player from them last crimbo for my bro on the 10th Dec and they PROMISED that it would be here before christmas.

Well it didn't arrive, Pixmania blamed the courier, courier blamed Pixmania.
    I had to go out to the shops on Crimbo eve and grab the MP3 player for my bro.

I sent many furious mails and got a refund of my postage charge just after christmas, they said that the MP3 player would arrive first Working day in Jan
    Which it did!!
    So I was pi**ed off and just decided to take it as a lesson not to deal with them again.

Now for the good bit:D
    On the 7th March I got a mail from the so called customer service saying that they were very sorry but it turns that my MP3 player got "lost" !!

They offered me a full refund - which I took for the hassle they cost me

Dreadful cust service IMO

Mik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭TomCo

Getting free things due to postal errors is always fun.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

samo wrote:
    To post the monitor back to France ended up costing 84 euro :eek: which after I threatened them with credit chargebacks and the whole works, they finally agreed to re-compensate me.

Now I know why I love Komplett, they accept faulty goods RMA 's at a Dublin address which saves a hell of a lot of shipping costs. Dabs may do so as well but I am not sure.

Any eTailer that does lots of business here without providing an Irish return address should be avoided at all costs particularly for heavy items .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭davehey79

was very worried about ordering off Pixmania this time round have done so lots of times before with no hassle or delays. this and another thread were making me think about ordering my items fro ma different e-tailer. but i ordered off them anyway this was sunday afternoon. just cecked my order on dhl tracking now and it has left paris enroute for dublin so should have it this evenin maybe or tomorrow morning. just goes to show not all bad from them, maybe theyve sorted there delivery out.