Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meath the new management

• 21-11-2005 11:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Looks like it's coming to a premature end.

On the face of it, I'd agree with Barry's stance. If his Physio has served his suspension (I don't know what he did wrong in the first place) then he should be allowed to be part of the management team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭mchurl

it's just stuborness on the part of the board but then again we don't know the full story of whta happened. Can any meath boys shed some light on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭klong

From what I can tell, the county board chairman (Ginnity) never wanted Barry in the first place- but why, I haven't been able to tell.
    Barry's brother was to be appointed physio- but he (Martin Barry) is not a qualified physio like Trevor Giles, for instance.
    Martin has now offered to withdraw.
    IF Eamonn Barry hangs on in there and is around for the championship, an All- Ireland is the only way he will be able to keep his job. Apparently the county board have a replacement already lined up for Barry.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Martin Barry had a huge bust up with the Meath county board chairman in 2003 over a number of things that happened in the All Ireland JFC. That is why he dislikes the Barry's.

I'm aware of that- I thought it predated the All Ireland. Oh well.

What happened there- if you're unaware- was that Gary Rogers, Drogheda United goalkeeper at the time, was picked for the panel for the final. He hadn't played for his club, St. Ultans, in over a year. Rules said that a player was ineligible if he hadn't played a club match in over a year. There was some sort of altercation in the dressing room, Rogers had his jersey taken off him. He then came on as a sub late in the game and scored a point. 96 and 48- week suspensions then handed out by the county board to Garys father and Martin Barry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Not looking good

http://www.rte.ie/sport/2005/1201/barrye.html
    Following a meeting of the Meath County Board last night the management committee has recommended that manager Eamonn Barry be removed from his post.

The current controversy engulfing Meath football stems from a disagreement between Barry and the board over his appointment of Dessie Rogers to the physiotherapist position.

Rogers had formally requested for his his name to be withdrawn from the nominations for the position on Monday, but this has evidently failed to quell tensions in the Royal County.

The county board is scheduled to meet on Monday to debate the current situation.

if the co. board are going to get rid of him they would want to do it soon so and have a new man lined up for the job as well. The players should already be well in to their pe-season training at this stage and so if barry is dismissed then it is going to cause problems for the panel

klong wrote:
    What happened there- if you're unaware- was that Gary Rogers, Drogheda United goalkeeper at the time, was picked for the panel for the final. He hadn't played for his club, St. Ultans, in over a year. Rules said that a player was ineligible if he hadn't played a club match in over a year. There was some sort of altercation in the dressing room, Rogers had his jersey taken off him. He then came on as a sub late in the game and scored a point. 96 and 48- week suspensions then handed out by the county board to Garys father and Martin Barry.
    Yeah, I'm well aware of that. Martin is coaching the team I play for at the moment. He's a good coach and motivater.

Well, looks like he's held on to his job. Good news.

Barry still in charge so maybe meath can get back to concentrate on football matters and getting knocked out of the championship in the first round again!!

I wish him the best (sorta, you know what I mean), but I can't see how his position is tenable under this county board.

He basically begged and whimpered for his job, and they still put him through an embarrassing meeting and issued a list of directives that wouldn't be given to a teenager the night before his leaving cert.

He should have told them to stick their job, and let them deal with the public pressure.

This is what Barry signed up to, IMO he got the raw end of the deal:

COISTE NA MÍ C.L.G. AGUS
    EAMONN BARRY (MEATH SENIOR FOOTBALL TEAM MANAGER)

Eamonn Barry acknowledges that he made an error of judgement in seeking to appoint Dessie Rogers and Martin Barry to his backroom team and in discussing the various matters in the media. He regrets how this has affected the G.A.A. in Meath. He has already apologised to the Cathaoirleach and repeats this apology to the Officers and Members of the Management Committee.

He acknowledges that the County Committee have overall responsibility for the G.A.A. in Meath. They have delegated certain responsibilities and functions to the Management Committee. Subject to their overall control, he has responsibility for the management of the Meath Senior Football Team.

The Officers and Management Committee reiterate their full support for Eamonn Barry as the duly elected and appointed Meath Senior Football Team Manager.

The following binding framework will govern the future relationship between Eamonn Barry and the Management Committee:

1. All Officers of Coiste na Mí C.L.G. are deserving of respect regardless of who they are.

2. The Cathaoirleach and Rúnaí are entitled to be present in Meath team dressing rooms as well as at meetings, games, training sessions etc.

3. Eamonn Barry will restrict his dealings with the media to comments about team selection and performance. In particular, he will not criticise Meath County Committee in the media.
    4. All members of Eamonn Barry’s “backroom team” must be approved in advance by the Management Committee but this approval will not be unreasonably withheld. Neither Dessie Rogers nor Martin Barry will be part of the backroom team or be associated in any way with the management of the team.

5. Eamonn Barry is entitled to request permission to address the Management Committee from time to time to discuss issues, which might arise.

6. All expenditure in relation to the Meath Senior Football team must be approved in advance by the Management Committee or its Finance Committee. In this regard Eamonn Barry intends to prepare monthly plans, which he will submit to the Management Committee.

7. An agreed member of Eamonn Barry’s backroom team will be appointed to liaise with the relevant Officers and Committees.

8. The Fixtures Secretary will consult with Eamonn Barry in relation to club fixtures.

9. The relevant County official will supply team jerseys and kit to Eamonn Barry’s duly appointed kitman before each game and the jerseys and kit will be collected after each game by the kitman and a County official for return to Coiste na Mí C.L.G.

Signed:
    Fiontan Mac Ginneartaí - Cathaoirleach

Bernard Ó hAilín - Rúnaí

Eamonn Barry - Meath Senior Football Team Manager

Witnessed:
    Liam Keane

Date:

Nice job spec :rolleyes:

Pretty toough to work under those sort of conditions and isnt it a bit oetty that the jerseys have to be collected/returned for each game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,759 ✭✭✭The Rooster

All thats missing is:

Eamonn, you have to wear a skirt at all times in the performance of your management duties

Culchie wrote:
    On the face of it, I'd agree with Barry's stance. If his Physio has served his suspension (I don't know what he did wrong in the first place) then he should be allowed to be part of the management team.
    It had something to do with Dessie Rogers and Martin Barry taking the Meath County Board to the High Court earlier in the year too, afaik.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Triton

All thats missing is:

Eamonn, you have to wear a skirt at all times in the performance of your management duties

Caffrey will be trading in his garda hat for a skirt next year in the Championship ;)

Triton wrote:
    Caffrey will be trading in his garda hat for a skirt next year in the Championship ;)

So you think Meath and Dublin will meet in the qualifiers then ;)

The last time everyone said Meath were past it was in 1996 and look what happened in '97.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Splendid

klong wrote:
    I'm aware of that- I thought it predated the All Ireland. Oh well.

What happened there- if you're unaware- was that Gary Rogers, Drogheda United goalkeeper at the time, was picked for the panel for the final. He hadn't played for his club, St. Ultans, in over a year. Rules said that a player was ineligible if he hadn't played a club match in over a year.

He was on the panel for a lot of the campaign. It got to the stage where the county board would only turn up with five minutes to go and hand out the jerseys. But not give one to Rogers.

As i remember it. He was still eligible, as it was just that season that he quit GAA to concentrate on soccer. He was still within the 1 year.

Anyway in my opinion Ginnity is a prick.

Triton wrote:
    The last time everyone said Meath were past it was in 1996 and look what happened in '97.

In 97 Kerry won the All-Ireland and Offaly won the Leinster Championship!:p I know what you are saying though! Meath have had some success at minor level in recent years, but that does not always translate to success at senior level! Plus in 1996 Boylan was in charge and was allowed to do whatever he wanted!

I think that Wexford will beat Meath in this years Leinster championship! I have heard good things about our new manager, and some players like Richie Purcell and Leigh O'Brien are returning to the panel and they will strengthen our defence!

Triton wrote:

Ye started a big scrap under the Nally stand ;)

In 97 Kerry won the All-Ireland and Offaly won the Leinster Championship! I know what you are saying though! Meath have had some success at minor level in recent years, but that does not always translate to success at senior level! Plus in 1996 Boylan was in charge and was allowed to do whatever he wanted!

I think that Wexford will beat Meath in this years Leinster championship! I have heard good things about our new manager, and some players like Richie Purcell and Leigh O'Brien are returning to the panel and they will strengthen our defence!

Sorry, got mixed up, meant '95 and '96!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Ohtoohtobe

Don't think there is any danger of a repeat Triton. How much respect can Barry have after messing up a job he'd chased for years in the first few weeks? Though he's a bit stronger now Ginnity got the boot I suppose. Still, seems like a bit of a muppet to me

Never mind the championship for now...is the league match on in New Ross or Wexford Park?:confused:

lads il give anyone 1000-1 on meth winning leinster his year!!!

I'll put a tenner on that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

I will too. Stranger things have happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,759 ✭✭✭The Rooster

With Ginnity ousted as county chairman, I presume the 9 commandments are history now.

I believe Gerry McEntee's brother has since stepped down from Barry's management team.

Rumour is that Barry only backed down in his fight with Ginnity because he believed Ginnity wouldnt be there much longer. Will be interesting if Barry tries again to get his brother and Rogers involved.

I also believe that Trevor Giles shoulder injury isnt recovering as well as hoped. There's a chance he may have to give 2006 a miss altogether. The next couple of months will be important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Wonder what peoples opinions now, especially team selection