Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

10,0000 Gtd tourney in Silversprings - (Cork)

• 21-11-2005 10:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭

Anyone know anything about this? I have heard from a few people that this is on during the week, but can't find anything about it on the net. Just like to know who's organising it, and find out the structure etc.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 680 ✭✭✭Amaru

Is it 10K or 100K?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭Washout

sounds like a celtic poker event to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭jimbling

Amaru wrote:
    Is it 10K or 100K?

lol... obv 10k....

Funkyzeit wrote:

cheers.... thats a bit of a balls... was looking forward to it and all. don't get too many events down here.

jimbling wrote:
    cheers.... thats a bit of a balls... was looking forward to it and all. don't get too many events down here.

Actually while on that topic.... can someone tell my why POKEREVENTS never came back to Cork. They were running for a while there in the Rochestown Hotel. Never made it in, but a few friends did and they really enjoyed the experience. They stopped (due to dying numbers I think), but I was told they were going to start up again (bi-monthly) in september... but have seen or heard nothing else about it. I sent an email, but got no response.

so POKEREVENTS... any chance of some more events in Cork? Its def starting to get more popular down here. I reckon we deserve another chance :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭jem

these f###ers seem to love tipp, first thurle, then nenagh now Roscrea. I am not a happy camper.

bumb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Gavan

I asked Donal about it one night and he said that the hotel had been booked out . I think he may have mentioned that they would be starting up there next year .

thanks for the reply... i hope your right about them starting again in the new year.

just registered for it via celticpoker site - will be interesting to see what kind of competition will be there....roll on Thursday...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Funkyzeit wrote:
    just registered for it via celticpoker site - will be interesting to see what kind of competition will be there....roll on Thursday...

Any chance you'd do me a favour when you attend and ask them what the registration fee is for?

was thinking I might go along and see what the turn out was.. if it was under 130 or so I might play... but wondering:

are the cpt tournaments still self deal??

jimbling wrote:
    was thinking I might go along and see what the turn out was.. if it was under 130 or so I might play... but wondering:

Yes and I doubt they have a proper self deal system in place either.( i.e. BB shuffles, SB cuts, button deals.) It's more likely to be the same player doing it all while playing the hand. Awful stuff.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

jimbling wrote:

I think someone said on another thread that they are still self deal but they have 10 plus staff to hand out chips/take your cash.

NickyOD wrote:
    Yes and I doubt they have a proper self deal system in place either.( i.e. BB shuffles, SB cuts, button deals.) It's more likely to be the same player doing it all while playing the hand. Awful stuff.
    I have never seen this anywhere I have played cards of any type.
    I have only seen dealer shuffels, player to left cuts, dealer deals.

jem wrote:

The problem with that is if the player to the left just taps the deck the dealer can shuffle the cards to the order he wants. I've seen a player in a 5 card draw classic who could deal himself any hand he wanted so imagine how easy in is for someone like that in a holdem tournament to give himself a pair of aces.

NickyOD wrote:
    Any chance you'd do me a favour when you attend and ask them what the registration fee is for?
    Bit of a rip off allright - just noticed that on the mail they sent me - surely this one won't be a self deal - if it is they have some cheek after charging you a fiver for nout....:(

Funkyzeit wrote:
    Bit of a rip off allright - just noticed that on the mail they sent me - surely this one won't be a self deal - if it is they have some cheek after charging you a fiver for nout....:(

cpt keep all funds over the gtd 10,000 as profit: Therefore even if they did have dealers they shouldnt be charging a reg fee for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

jem wrote:

player to the right should cut. The reason for this is that the player to the left will receive the top card from the deck.

You can insist that the player must cut the deck, not just tap the top of it. If he doesn't want to, he should pass it to his right and let somebody cut it.

RoundTower wrote:
    player to the right should cut. The reason for this is that the player to the left will receive the top card from the deck.

You can insist that the player must cut the deck, not just tap the top of it. If he doesn't want to, he should pass it to his right and let somebody cut it.

Sorry brain mustn't have been in order yesterday. player to the right, I always insist that the cards are cut, I always vary how deep I go when I cut them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,663 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Feck. I registered but self deal? Stinks of amateurism - not only in dealing but in deciding who wins what. I've seen some crazy **** with split pots and dealers not realising who wins. On one occaision when I intended to check-raise a straight, I exclaimed "****" when nobody raised and the dealer had pulled the pot into his stack before he could be told his pair of 10s hadn't won. In a tournament like that there could be serious agro.

jimbling wrote:
    cpt keep all funds over the gtd 10,000 as profit: Therefore even if they did have dealers they shouldnt be charging a reg fee for them.

Actually their prizpools seem to be 12K now. They had 174 runners in nenagh last week and that's what they paid out but I think they had well over 200 runners is Ennis and still paid out 12K. I don't know what the average buy in is but I'd imagine its atleast €100 since the rebuy is half the initial buy in for a lot more chips.

NickyOD wrote:
    Actually their prizpools seem to be 12K now. They had 174 runners in nenagh last week and that's what they paid out but I think they had well over 200 runners is Ennis and still paid out 12K. I don't know what the average buy in is but I'd imagine its atleast €100 since the rebuy is half the initial buy in for a lot more chips.

okay.. a slight improvement on the money front.

I did think it was a limited rebuy tournament though... i.e. one rebuy one add on. Don't really know where I got that idea from.

So its unlimited? and 25 for a rebuy of more chips??? that must cause chaos for the opening hour.

Is there anywhere (maybe another boards link) which has the actual structure of tournaments - money, rebuys, starting stacks blind levels and intervals etc etc?? would be handy, as they have nothing on there website.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

jimbling wrote:

Is there anywhere (maybe another boards link) which has the actual structure of tournaments - money, rebuys, starting stacks blind levels and intervals etc etc?? would be handy, as they have nothing on there website.

There was a controversial thread a while back which I dont see any point in firing up again. They're bad value, end of story. From that thread, here's the CPT structure:

"The tournament itself was a standard NLHE rebuy event, with your inital stack of 5000 costing 50euro (+ 5 for reg), and the option of 3 rebuys and a top-up or 4 rebuys, at 25euro each. Rebuys lasted for the first 6 levels (20minutes each), with the standard structure of 25/50, 50/100, 75/150, etc, and the freezeout period would have levels of 15 minutes each. Antes were to be introduced at level 14."

Edit: Rebuys were 5000 chips, with the top-up at 10000 chips. But if you took the fourth rebuy before the top-up, you got 5000 chips, not 10000.

omfg - rebuys for two hours? You've probably got better odds on the lotto!

CPT wrote:
    Hello James; 3 rubuys available @ $25 each {5000 chips) + one top up after break@$25 (10000 chips) blinds every 20 mins , first blind25/50 by level 7 the blinds are 300/500. they basically double after that. food served between level 7 and 8. the tournament is not capped the more people the greater payout $16500 paid in tralee last thursday, $10000 guaranteed min payout (68 players in ballina!) +ticket to grand final. loads of other prizes , last lady ,high hand, first poker etc. reg fee covers door prize of beautiful full size texas holdem table + chips. see you there regards Mike!

I did ask for the percentage that was taken from the overall prize pool (including rebuys) and thats pretty much the only think he left out.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

jimbling wrote:
    I did ask for the percentage that was taken from the overall prize pool (including rebuys) and thats pretty much the only think he left out.

You should have given the link to this forum and asked them to come on here an defend themselves.

Dub13 wrote:
    You should have given the link to this forum and asked them to come on here an defend themselves.

I could have... and I still could if I thought it would do any good :rolleyes:

But I think thats been tried a few times, and if they havent bothered up to this point - I doubt there going to start now.

so ... how'd ye get on... those that played??

****e! Complete ****ing amateur ****e. There was one gob****e at our table who would go all in on any two cards to try and steal the tiny blinds. He went all in before the flop with Q5 and beat some guy's AK suited. He bought back in five times because they 'forgot' to mark his card and he was doing fairly well when I left. Nearly every hand had somebody all in - you might as well play the lottery.