Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HP, Clonskeagh

• 19-11-2005 1:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,705 ✭✭✭

Hi guys,Iam about to start a 3 month contract in HP above, anybody have any idea what its like at all??

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Always useful if you state what kind of job your doing.
    Nice enough area though to work... Berman & Wallace do lovely sambos and rolls in the place if you dont have a canteen.... and Donnybrook is just a short walk away for more lunch venues.
    I'm think HP even have a small gym in their building there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,705 ✭✭✭BrookieD

Hi
    thanks for the info, I am working a contract tech support monkey for CPL, Do you have the main address as i have 2 locations ?????? Clonkseagh is all i have been shown but i have Clonskeagh Rd in D14 and now D4 as a location

cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Clonskeagh is adjacent to D4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭mountainyman

Not Great and they threaten not to pay you if you don't work the notice period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭qwertz

I strongly recommend against it. I worked there for five months. Good money but the worst managed shop I've ever worked for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,705 ✭✭✭BrookieD

i am only there for three months untill i get my drving instructors school set up

Make sure everything is in writing. And I mean everything that's important! No verbal shenenigan nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭rick_fantastic

ah its not a bad palce to work. subsidised canteen, gym and stuff

it all depends on what desk you are working for as to how hard and head wrecking the job will be.

if u tell me what desk u r on then i can tell u around how many calls ur going to get a day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 cpl_biznitch

Run For Tha Hills Ma Parker!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 anynomous

Don't bother coming in. It's a waste of time and a pointless position. Work for someone else. CPL/HP are 5h1t.
    Mark Hurd needs a new helicopter, he'll probably be shutting this dump down soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭trent_derby

RUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

If your doing 3 months i would say just go for it, but you will feel like jesus in passion of the christ for the 3 months. And when the cock crows 3 times, you will have left!!

18 months for cpl.

and remember 5h1t always flows downhill, and your at the bottom.
    mudslide_narrowweb__200x288.jpg

i work there for three months during the summer and it wasnt that bad at all.

the people i was working with were sound, the management were sound, the amount of work i had to do was minimal. the office was comfortable, i was allowed to listen to music as i worked.

it is quite badly run as in nobody is particularly organised, i was 4 weeks before i got my own desk, 5 weeks before i got all my passwords.

i enjoyed my 3 months there but its not the kinda job id do for much longer than that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

Is that helicopter from HP? It's always flying around here (Richview).

nah it belongs to the fatcats in the morris tribunal afaik

Or Michael Smurfit. Who knows. Rich bastards :) (Me so jealous.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

Its grand place to work. Was there for 9 months, left in July. Staff are the soundest, but management havent a clue(CPL shower of ****). Work is standard for a call center. Just depends which desk ye are working on tho, as some desks can be poxy with all the calls, while others ye'd think were on holidays. Gym is a welcome facility, especially if ye've just come off the phone to some tw@t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭Genghis

Dunno about HP, but Clonskeagh is a God-awful place to work.

I work alongside the business park you'll be in. There is no shops, post offices, no banks nothing to speak of. A petrol station that does a mean trade in lunches (actually not bad), a scruffy little pub that'll rip you off for lunch, and Berman & Wallace, who do good food but will never change their menu & struggle to serve you.

And there's the bus service. ****ty no. 11.

3 months might be bearable. I'm here 2 years and 3 months - and look what it's one to me!

What I wouldn't give to be city centre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Muitant

Is there some sort of minibus to HP in Belfield Office Park from Sydney Parade?

If so, does anyone know how frequent it is? Also, if not, is there any alternatives to get there from the train station?

Thanks! :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

There is. Every 15-30 minutes in the morning and evening. From 7am til 10 am and 5pm til 8pm i think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Muitant

thats fantastic, thanks a million Feylya! :x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 PhilomenaJude

Does anybody know about working on this desk?
    Is the initial training very good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Ah I likes it here, been here nearly 2 years now!
    Its a nice spot, not far from town, easy to get to town either by taking the shuttle bus to sydney parade and hopping on the dart or just walking down to Donnybrook and getting the 46a or 145, both of which are nice and regular ;)

Of course in saying that, I don't work for CPL or Manpower and don't have to answer phones! \o/

Thanks Azezil but would you know anyone on actually MS SQL desk who is working for one of those agencies and who would'nt mind dropping me a mail ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭Kazu

Not Great and they threaten not to pay you if you don't work the notice period.

so very true didnt pay me two weeks wages

the head supervisor did not not know how the desk is run idiots

when i was there not many people liked working there

i seen cpl ads on jobs.ie

it looks like the you will be on Bank of Ireland Desk User Access Management Desk

on this desk 3 months will test you i lasted four

not unusual for people to leave after the first week

you will be taking 70 plus calls a day, log all the tickets normall when it gets quiet

you will be taking calls while setting up user accouts.

Monday will be extremely busy Bank staff forget their password after the weekend and alot of password resets

most of the bank staff a computer literature idiots

got a call, person wanted to know if her computer was a laptop

basically you will have a mountain of paperwork to get through on your desk, and faxs and at the same time taking calls

good luck better you than me

Ok thank you for that Ill be wary then
    But No its not Bank of Ireland its Microsoft SQL Server. Does anybody know anything about that job?