Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Monte Carlo Millions Prices

• 19-11-2005 1:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭

The Monte Carlo Millions kicks off tomorrow with a savage field:

http://www.montecarlomillions.com/

If you fancy a punt, PP have a book open, and yes, poker is now listed under sports! :D

Monte Carlo Millions Betting

I put an each way on Ivey, Phil "I can dodge bullets baby!" Hellmuth and Negreanu.

Peter Roche has just been added at 80-1 ;)

The field has been capped at 120 runners.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

PP should do final table betting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

yeah i know, they're trying to incorporate the poker betting into the poker dept so the odds are closer to the mark and the offerings are what people want.

final table betting is on the way. this and the ept are just to test the water.

Good stuff Nikki...sorry Karl.:p

Final table betting is abit more realistic than trying to pick a winner from 200 odd runners.

i think 4 places on an each way bet with 120 runners isnt too bad.

i agree though, would rather final table myself.

Nikkarl.

In the mean time why not have a paddy power special were you get your money back if your player hits the final table.

PP are good at the football specials so I hope they would go for it.

ps:and bring back the free pizza

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Dub13 wrote:
    ps:and bring back the free pizza, and send it to north Donegal
    Fixed.

lafortezza wrote:
    Fixed.

I like it....;) don't forget me.You can call it commission,in fact you can call it what you like just send it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

Michael Greco of Eastenders fame is a shorter price than many a good pro. Hope it wasn't you that compiled the odds Karl.

Bepé is a leg-end. :)

(no, wasn't me on that one)

Phil Ivey still looking good, currently in 2nd with a rake of chips, heading to the final table. 28-1 now looking like a steal!

PP have now launched a regular poker betting feature on the site. I will push for final table betting etc. but for the moment, the next tournament is the Million Dollar Monaco Invitational Poker Tournament to be shown on Sky.

Bet! Bet! Bet!

/PIMP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

karlh wrote:
    i think 4 places on an each way bet with 120 runners isnt too bad.

Nikkarl.

If you are used to betting on horses Karl, you'd realise this is quite poor. In a handicap race with 16 or more runners you get paid 4 places. And for some of the bigger races (larger fields) like the Grand National or Paddy Power Chase they pay first five places. And there is still only about 30 odd runners in those races.

For any event with 120 runners the ew should be paid for the final table.

Just my two cent worth.

with a 28-1 favourite?

....and i'm not used to betting on horses :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Yeah i thought the prices were ok too, as good as your going to get anyway. Like a horse race there was a lot of players in that field that were not realistically going to win. So backing a couple of 'names' at reasonable each way prices was giving you a decent chance of a run for your money.
    There could easily have been more markets like 'match betting', 'top english player' 'top american player' 'prices to reach the final table', 'nationality of winner' etc. maybe next time?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

How did you put a bet on if you work for them? That's against employment t+c isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

karlh wrote:
    with a 28-1 favourite?

....and i'm not used to betting on horses :)

True you don't see a 28/1 fav, but that only means that PP feel anyone in the field can win. If Ivey were to win the next ten events, he won't be that price in the 11th one. If Tiger isn't playing in a golf event the fav is normally 10/1, when he is, he's normally only around 3 or 4 to 1.

Anyway, its only a bit of craic and btw, you're better off not backing horses

ianmc38 wrote:
    How did you put a bet on if you work for them? That's against employment t+c isn't it?

naw, i'm allowed have small web bets.

there is an official line for anyone involved in pricing/hedging etc. but there's no problem having the odd punt since im not privvy to any more information than the public.

i consider it research.

wonder if i can expense it..... :v:
    There could easily have been more markets like 'match betting', 'top english player' 'top american player' 'prices to reach the final table', 'nationality of winner' etc. maybe next time?.

certainly on the way for the bigger tournies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Did anyone else hear a rumour that Antes-Up were covering this? ;):p

Imposter wrote:
    Did anyone else hear a rumour that Antes-Up were covering this? ;):p

Tom does not need the day job now that he is getting good/lucky at this "poker thing"

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

LOL. Apologies for the sparse coverage yesterday, real life, sickness, family and technology all conspired to keep me from reporting. Today I'll be covering the runners up tournie and then the final table tomorrow.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

karlh wrote:

I put an each way on Ivey, Phil "I can dodge bullets baby!" Hellmuth and Negreanu.
    karlh wrote:
    naw, i'm allowed have small web bets.

I'm guessing you'll be banned now ;)

http://www.antesup.com/mcm.php

wp.

booyah!!!! :D

yiz missed that boat lads!

....there's always the Monte Carlo Invitational with live betting tonight though.... ;)

i'll stop pimping now. for today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

I wonder why it has to start so late, i mean Monte Carlo is in europe. Maybe its to cater for the Americans.
    Ok for that they've just lost the contract.