Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gerry Ryan

• 18-11-2005 9:31am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭

Is this guy for real? He had O'Dea on live re the bang-bang photo. He had two ladies on as well and the four way shouting was unreal. Then he invites the Minister to sing a song to diffuse the argument which obviously O'Dea declined so he sang himself. The Campdown hear my Song. O brother...:D

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

What were you doing listening to Jerry Ryan??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Heinrich

Boring myself to death. I like to listen to crap like his so that I don't feel stupid when there is always a dumber one out there.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭bringitdown

I loathe him, I used to tolerate Ryan in fact his odd quip was funny but the guy has clearly lost his marbles. He is all over the place he doesn't know whether he is conservative, liberal, middle of the road or what, basically he is a muppet.

Modern Ireland ....

/sheds a tear, picks up his shilealeagh and leaves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

cannot stand the guy. I used to want to gag him when he start goin on bout him and the missus getting busy - yuck!!

did you hear he had a vasectomy??....yup- the ryan line is now closed ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

did you hear he had a vasectomy??....yup- the ryan line is now closed ;-)

Brilliant :D

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I used to work in an office with a few older women and the wireless was perpetually fixed on 2FM so I had no choice but to listen to him... used to bore the sh*t out of me.. I had to start bringin in a walkman to try and drown him out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

I was walking by the radio the other day and I could have sworn I heard him and yer one Fiona Looney on air TOGETHER. Turned it off as soon as I heard (what I presumed was) her voice .... but it did leave me with nightmares. Evil-squared!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭scargill

Heinrich wrote:
    Is this guy for real? He had O'Dea on live re the bang-bang photo.

are you for real ?? it was a wind-up. I was listening to it on the way to work - I love the way people ring up and get annoyed with a guy taking the pi$$.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Heinrich

scargill wrote:
    are you for real ?? it was a wind-up. I was listening to it on the way to work - I love the way people ring up and get annoyed with a guy taking the pi$$.

Really? The whole show is taking the piss. He is getting as sanctimonious as Bono. God help us:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,225 ✭✭✭Scruff

oh for ffs, that was a piss take. heard it myself and was wondering how many that would fool:rolleyes:

yes, i sometimes listen to him in the morning. "Why?" i hear u gasp in shocked amazement. well friends it because i like to hear the paper review that he does first thing in the morning and then at times forget to tune into ray darcy instead. like this morning with the Willy O'Dea piss take, that was funny cause people rang in beleiving it an made eejits out of themselves. either that or they were part of the plot.

I have to say that at that hour of the morning i think he's the second best thing on after Ray Darcy. I absolutely hate Orla Barry and Tuberty as presenters and 98fm and 104fm in general. the pickings are slim at 9a.m.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭adonis

jerky ryan he should be called.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭arac

Im going to go against the grain here and say I like him. Sure he can be sleazy and apparently has incessant tendancy to talk about "sex" (deep voice) but most of the time I think he is witty, intelligent and thought provoking..Now just for the record Fiona Looney's voice goes through my head
    I also find Ryan Confidential good, I think that Gerry creates a good rapport with his interviewees that is rarely found in other broadcasters and that makes for good listening/watching

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

oh god nothin worse than all the oul ones from down the country ringing in and going 'aaaahhh now G-erry, let me tell ya G-erry' nooooooooo its torture oh and that "phsycic" eejit that he does have in. Your in a year number 6 thats why you are sick. yeah, thats it its not cos youve smoked 50 fags a day, no no its th eeveil year 6- shes never met you but she knows over the fone
    my mate used tolive next door to a 2fm DJ. Massive party there one night and I looked outta the window and theres gerrry himself sprawled across d garden classic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

i like em to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

i must be of the very small minority who can tolerate Mr. Ryan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

you should have taken a picture.

i prefer ray darcy. love fix it friday. although he never respopnded to my query of "what's the deal with airplane peanuts?".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Did you see him on Podge and Rodge last night?

"Gerry can you not see i'm in a meeting here? WOULD YOU EVER JUST *F-CK* *OFF*?"

haha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Pigman II wrote:
    I was walking by the radio the other day and I could have sworn I heard him and yer one Fiona Looney on air TOGETHER. Turned it off as soon as I heard (what I presumed was) her voice .... but it did leave me with nightmares. Evil-squared!

That's where Ms Looney got her foot in the RTÉ door AFAIK....back when Ryan's show was somewhat more listenable than the sh*tfest it is nowadays, Fiona's appearence was my cue to lunge for the tuning dial before I was subjected to an earful.

Have to agree with whoever above said about Ryan not knowing WTF he is these days...I think his head has swollen exponentially in line with his bank account, and the swelling is clouding his once liberal views and in a lot of cases turning them into very right wing attitudes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Did anyone hear the show where he drank his own urine?
    <sips>
    <audible slurping noises>
    "It's not that bad, would anyone else like some?"

Aprés match do a good impression of him, it's hilarious.