Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Independent Tournament Organiser of the Year - Nominations

• 17-11-2005 4:36pm
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭

O.k this category is for independent poker tournament organisers who hold tournaments in non casino environments. They should be considered for good tournament structures, good organisation, good locations (bringing the game to various parts of the country), reaction to feedback and so on. So let the nominations begin. Nominations will be accepted until this time on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

We do it publicly Muso or by PM?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Would NickyOD qualify for organising the BCOOP?? or is this just for Live organisers???

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

I would like to nominate Green Joker Poker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Dub13 wrote:
    I would like to nominate Green Joker Poker.

I thought he mentioned something about "Good locations" :D:p

I think it has to be Poker Events, considering all the different criteria.

ntlbell wrote:
    I thought he mentioned something about "Good locations" :D:p

:D The AUL was abit out of the way but a grand location for a tournament,The Europa is a very good location.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Culchie wrote:
    I think it has to be Poker Events, considering all the different criteria.

by a mile!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭Corben Dallas

I'll second Green Joker Poker, very professional outfit.

Rings around the few pub poker tournie organsers i've seen. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Vegas Nights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

PokerEvents, a rocky start with the confuffle about guaranteed and capped prize pools, but for the sheer size of good tournaments, gets my vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

EDIT: Note to self. READ THE ****ING TITLE FIRST!!!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Samson

Celtic Poker Tour.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Samson

NickyOD wrote:
    Luke Ivors by 100 million miles.

It's Ivory.
    And I don't think he could be classed as an independent tournament organiser (well not usually anyway).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

Poker Events - They are a class above at the moment.

I would like to play in a GJP event and sure I will, but as of yet they don't come West - But that may change.

Luke Ivory should be down for lifetime achievment award - How he remembers everyones name is beyond me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Pokerevents get my vote

Nice hotels, good tables, dealers, good starting stack, time to play, good payout, polite.

organisers who hold tournaments in non casino environments that might give a clue.

Why am I voting for them? I'm always in seat one and play like a fish.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Is this for organisers or tournament directors? Donal is the TD for Pokerevents and is a good one imho. I think he would deserve the award for being the best TD outside a casino.

If its the tour organisation then you would have to start to consider the effects of backing etc. You can't compare GJP, The Aces in Cashel (?) and Tony Rafter in Mayo with the likes of the Boylesports marketing machine. Not that I take anything away from Fintan and the crew, they do a fine job and I've written as much recently but should we compare professionals (which is what PE are) and amateurs. Right now there is only one professional crew working the scene and good as they are it seems pointless to award them a gong for that!

DeV.

They get gongs :eek: I am off to Google these gongs and see if I can pick one up for cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Dub13 wrote:
    They get gongs :eek: I am off to Google these gongs and see if I can pick one up for cheap.
    Don't worry, there's one for most annoying poster ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

DeVore wrote:
    If its the tour organisation then you would have to start to consider the effects of backing etc. You can't compare GJP, The Aces in Cashel (?) and Tony Rafter in Mayo with the likes of the Boylesports marketing machine.

DeV.

Is Tony organising tournaments now? I can't say I noticed:D

Whilst I agree you can't compare... and it's why I mentioned GJP because Mike I know does a good job... I still think it's worth praising Poker Events - Because above all they listened to the players and lets face it they could have ignored us and they'd still be succesful.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Well we could go for another year discussing the award categories and who it means and who it doesn't mean. In the final vote those who come second and didnt have much backing will at least have been recognised. It will be up to the vote for folks to decide who has done best all things considered with backing or lack of it included in the consideration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 gimmeurchips

Vegas nights by far,, real tables have alot to be said for. If i see green cloth in a tourni i just walk back out.
    Vegas Nights have the best to offer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 gimmeurchips

Vegas nights all the way..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Mmmm_Lemony

If your giving awards to the best, there must be some kind of 'raspberries' for the worst.

Texas Nights. A Chav run sham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

Vegas nights, new format running in some places is alot better, 1 rebuy or topup, less of a lottery and more like a real game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Frank Spencer

Green Joker Poker! An excellently ran show. The lads really know their stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

Do Green Joker Poker have a website for their events ?

This is it really, or check out www.AntesUp.com for their tourney schedule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jem

DeVore wrote:
    The Aces in Cashel (?) DeV.
    I assume(hope) you meen Ace High in Roscrea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

Poker Events all the way.

Nobody can touch them for the quality of their tourneys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Vegas Nights. They're the only non-casino tournament I play in now Even if it is just because it's local, they still put on a good tourney.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

PokerEvents, with an honorable mention to Green Joker Poker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

PokerEvents, with an honorable mention to Green Joker Poker.
    Ditto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

If your giving awards to the best, there must be some kind of 'raspberries' for the worst.

Texas Nights. A Chav run sham.

I know we've done all this before but a friend of mine played CPT Athlone €10,000 last Friday and beat 199 other players until the wee hours but finished 13th so won feck all. So still no value there then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

Think that Pokerevents deserve the recognition for this year. They have definitely responded to comments made here to improve their structure. They deserve the award for this alone.

Wouldn't be fair to exclude them (ala mentioned in a previous post) because they have become so big - they have become so big because they run good tournaments in areas where people previously couldn't play poker.

**btw seems to be a lot of 'new users' coming on and voting for Vegas Nights!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

I think I'll start the vote tomorrow evening. Looks like 1 or 2 days is enough time for folks to get their nominations in.

**btw seems to be a lot of 'new users' coming on and voting for Vegas Nights!

They stick out like a sore thumb .... bless 'em :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Vegas nights all the way..

Gimmeurchips

Three posts on the poker forum and two of them are votes for Vegas Nights

Welcome to the forum

:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Has to be Poker Events though i've only played their events and Vegas Nights in Fairview one night which was a joke. I didn't complain on the night though as i came second....hypocrite that i am