Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The inevitable question " Is this a good PC?"

• 15-11-2005 2:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭

Its a curse...

You know a little more about something than other people and they assume you know it all. But do they even know what it is they want?

tit: hey tba, is this a good pc?

*tba gets handed a dell brochure

tba: This is business brochure. Are you starting a new company?
    tit: ha ha very funny, its the only one that came free with the paper.
    tba: right which one?
    tit: that laptop

*tit points at cheapest notebook in booklet.

tba: emmm... what exactly do you want to use it for.
    tit: you know... stuff the internet and word.
    tba: these are business PC's they don't have modems as standard.
    tit: whats a modem?
    tba: right... I think I should approach this from another direction, how much do you want to spend?
    tit: Its a birthday present, my dad said up to €2000.

*tba nearly chokes on breakfast roll

tit: Is that not enough?
    tba: oh yeah... that should be plenty...
    tit: I suppose I might have to go on the website if this is no good....

*tba has already logged on to dell in anticipation of this realisation

tba: are you sure you want a laptop?
    tit: yeah
    tba: I don't believe you. Do you really need to lug it around the place.
    tit: well yes
    tba: really cause as far as I can tell your job involves sitting at that desk all day.
    tit: This is for home.
    tba: so why the need to cart the thing around?
    tit: In case I want to you know, use it in the park or something...?

*tba squints at tit

tba: rain...
    tit: on good days captain sarcastic
    tba: Good Days?
    tit: yes
    tba: the sun is splitting the trees
    tba: children are playing around you
    tba: the birds are tweeting..
    tit: YES!
    tba: and you want to be staring at a tiny LCD screen?
    tit: YE.. eh no..
    tba: You don't want a laptop.

*tba click on desktop option

tba: So you only want it for the internet then.
    tit: and maybe word
    tba: ok
    tit: and maybe photoshop
    tba: eh.. ok
    tit: And maybe bitorrent
    tba: WHAT? How do you know about that?
    tit: I read about it from a google search
    tba: wow.. you is the leet haxor aren’t you?
    tit: leet what?
    tba: forget it, this pc should do pretty well, although I cant tell anything about the motherboard from these specs..
    tit: Do I need a motherboard?
    tba: I'm beginning to wonder..., it has integrated graphics, that will save you a bit of money.
    tit: are we down to €2000 yet?
    tba: we started at €800!
    tit: oh.. why is it so cheap? is it like, bad or something?
    tba: no its not bad.
    tit: I can spend €2000
    tba: you don't need to.. I'm saving you money!
    tit: alright... one question, will this play the sims 2?
    tba: oh jesus christ...

Why me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭duridian

Sounds like my life, I winced when I saw "gets handed a Dell brochure"...and why do all n00bs wanna play the Sims? Anything with 'Sim' in the title puts me to sleep, bring on the sub machine guns and deathray black hole making cannons and first person shoot those stupid sims into oblivion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Joeface

tell me u talked him into buying a XPS so he could play Solitare

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭tba

She (a major factor in my patience) has decided to go with a desktop, and has asked for a bit of help setting up bitorrent.

I was tempted to tell her to google it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭jonski

Or , or , or , you get to the end of all that , without the sims2 part . It's delivered , he/she loves it . THEN ! two weeks later , Phone "ring ring" ( pfff , how do I know how to spell how your phone rings ) , tit on the other end says , "ah , having a bit of a problem here , I got this F.E.A.R thingy and some other games , bf2 and that second fish thingy , COD2 I think it's called , and they don't seem to work well "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Joeface wrote:
    tell me u talked him into buying a XPS so he could play Solitare

lol

Youd be surprised, Sims2 will bring most Laptops integrated graphics to their knees... stay away from fake gfx cards!

Matt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Talk the man out of a laptop whatever else you do unless he really won't play games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

jonski wrote:
    Or , or , or , you get to the end of all that , without the sims2 part . It's delivered , he/she loves it . THEN ! two weeks later , Phone "ring ring" ( pfff , how do I know how to spell how your phone rings ) , tit on the other end says , "ah , having a bit of a problem here , I got this F.E.A.R thingy and some other games , bf2 and that second fish thingy , COD2 I think it's called , and they don't seem to work well "

Oh God, tell me about it! If I had a euro for everytime somebody did that to me, well, let's just say I'd probably be lazing on a sun-drenced beach somewhere right now surrounded by my harem of Angelina Jolie lookalike wives! :D

I'm going to quote tba here! ;):D

tit: "I'm thinking of getting a PC. What do you recommend?"
    aidan: "Well, what do you want to use it for?"
    tit: "Oh, you know, the internet, doing up stuff in Word, nothing too complicated. Just looking for something cheap and cheerful. What do you think of this machine?"

*hands over brochure or newspaper ad showing cheap ass system with onboard graphics and stuff but which would still adequately do all of the above no problem*

aidan: "Yeah, that's not too bad. It would do all that stuff fine. You won't be able to play games on it or anything like that but for surfing the net, e-mailing, doing a bit of stuff in Office or whatever, yeah, it'll be grand."
    tit: "Great, I think I'll buy it so."
    aidan: "Remember though, like I said, you won't be able to play games or anything on that machine. Are you absolutely sure you won't be using it for playing games?"
    tit: "Oh yeah, I definitely won't. I just want it for the basics. Thanks, Aidan. I'm off to buy it now. Cya!"

*two weeks later the phone rings. it's tit on the other end and he's seriously pissed off*

tit: "Hey, Aidan, I'm having some trouble with my new PC here. I'm trying to run a few games here. Doom3 and Half-life 2 and Battlefield 2. Well, for some strange reason they just don't seem to want to run properly. Could you come around and try to get them working for me?"

*cue aidan banging his head off the wall again!*

Honestly, if it's not that it's people who never update their anti-virus software, never keep Windows patched and updated, never bother to make sure they're running a firewall when they go online and never make regular back-ups of their stuff, no matter how many times you emphasise to them that it's vital they do all that! Then, they ring you up almost in tears because they've gotten a virus or something and have lost tons of important data. I mean, seriously, do people not bother to listen anymore! Sometimes I really feel like saying, "Well, I fecking told you so........ dumbass!" and just hang up on them! :mad:

Honest to God, I swear some people should not be let within 5 miles of a computer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭IrishMike

Tba at least tell me she was hot
    otherwise i have lost all respect for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭tba

She had boobs... if thats what you mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭irlrobins

tba wrote:
    She had boobs... if thats what you mean.

ROFL! Spoken like a true nerd/man! :D