Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vigilantes?

• 14-11-2005 12:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭

For a couple of nights an old couple in my area have been the target of someone lately,their car has been broken into and a few other things have been done also.They are a lovely couple and dont need this crap.

The other night before I was heading to bed,I glanced over at their house to see a lad at the car door.So I hopped the jeans on,shoes,jacket and got some protection on me.Now when I got out the door not a sinner was on the streets. Im telling you I had all intentions in cracking some heads.

Im just wondering are there any Vigilantes going around anymore? I havent heard of any since my youth. Would you boards members condone vigilantes or not. I would turn a blind eye to vigilantes especially after my mams house was broken into not so long ago.

Vigilantes 20 votes

Yay
    0%
    Nay
    80%
    Karl HungusMossy MonkPompey MagnusGuy:IncognitoUnrealQueenBeer is Lifemad mRbMr.Nice GuycondraDaelusBinomateRoyale with CheeseboardyVangelisJimmySmith 16 votes
    Leave it to Garda
    20%
    the_sycoThe Song ThrushHugh Hefnerbutters scotch 4 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭hawkmoon269

good for you.

I once ran after some thieves that were trying to break into a neighbour's car.

Didn't catch up with them, but at least the car was saved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Nay
    If you want to risk the legal consiquences then go for it, I'm all for the beating of knackers who are unwilling to abide the law like the ones you're talking about. Unfortunately you'll be the criminal in the eyes of the law more often than not. So the moral of the story is put a balaclava on before you beat the knackers and make sure you don't get caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Nay
    yay as long as it doesnt involve people going around kicking lumps of **** out of people for no reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

Nay
    Me runs off to army bargains for a balaclava.Seriously though I'm not type to go around banging heads. Just when I seen youth at neighbours car I seen red,as I'm sure it can happen to anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Nay
    Oh you'll need a sack of doorknobs to go with that balaclava, standard vigilante weapon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

Nay
    Dr J wrote:
    Oh you'll need a sack of doorknobs to go with that balaclava, standard vigilante weapon.

Charles Bronson style,hmmm I like it.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭Hugh Hefner

Leave it to Garda
    Vigilanteism doesn't end well. Haven't we learnt anything from Nightmare On Elm Street?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Nay
    I've came across a few vigilanties in the last few years.
    In one case, this well known pikey who caused a sh1t load of trouble around an area quite close to mine beat up a young girl and robbed her, then went and beat up some other kids.The guy had numerous warrants out for him but any time the gardaí went into the camp(as he is a traveller) they either got more trouble or he managed to escape, so this time some of the locals decided enough was enough and went after him on a motorbike with a chain and a golf club.
    Quite warranted,especially considering he was more or less immune to the gardaí imo , so in some cases it's definately a good thing, but as some one already said, if it's just knackers going around beating people up then it's not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭Mark

Pool ball in a sock.

*whirrs sock and cracks down onto palm with meaty relish*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Leave it to Garda
    Theres an old saying "There's no smoke without fire". Now, though, there's rumours, and if a rumour states someone did something they didn't do, a vigilante may come after them to do "justice" on them.

Vigilantes are sometimes well meaning, but vigilantes are usually nothing more than an angry mob, chasing after their own little conspiracy. If that conspiracy includes you, then your f*cked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Nay
    Honestly though, the Gardai can most times be utterly useless, and I find the court system is a joke aswell, and often enough, even if the police bother to do anything, the chances of the courts giving such characters what they deserve.
    Your honour, I know young John-Joe O'Skang has been caught robbing cars 50 times, aswell as many other crimes, but he swears he won't do it again, this is a chance for him to turn a new leaf!

My solution would be sending young skangers straight to a military boot camp of sorts for whatever the crime, and reguardless of whether they've done anything like it before, so that they'd the absolute **** knocked out of them on a daily basis by some R. Lee Ermy type drill instructor if they didn't keep in line. I'd say we'd have a hell of a lot less skangers running around being little bastards if that were the case.

Sadly, that isn't happening anytime soon. Well, unless I get into power. But with reguards to vigilantes, I'd like to see the Antos, John-Joes, and a number of other names that end with 'o' getting a good thrashing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Nay
    My solution would be sending young skangers straight to a military boot camp of sorts for whatever the crime, and reguardless of whether they've done anything like it before, so that they'd the absolute **** knocked out of them on a daily basis by some R. Lee Ermy type drill instructor if they didn't keep in line. I'd say we'd have a hell of a lot less skangers running around being little bastards if that were the case.

But we run the risk of having a bunch of tougher, meaner scangers about.:o

I think there should be vigilante groups about to take on the shocking number of scumbags in this country. Rough them up a bit. The Gardai won't anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Leave it to Garda
    My solution would be sending young skangers straight to a military boot camp of sorts for whatever the crime, and reguardless of whether they've done anything like it before, so that they'd the absolute **** knocked out of them on a daily basis by some R. Lee Ermy type drill instructor if they didn't keep in line.
    Well, Antos, John-Joes, and a number of other names that end with 'o' would end up coming out with a great understanding of how to shoot people. Also, how to make bombs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Nay
    the_syco wrote:
    Well, Antos, John-Joes, and a number of other names that end with 'o' would end up coming out with a great understanding of how to shoot people. Also, how to make bombs.

Well, that would only happen if you were actually blind thick enough to send them to a real boot camp where they would learn such things. :rolleyes:

No, let me clarify here, I'm not talking about trainging skankers, I'm talking about sending them to one of those boot camps like they have in the US where they straighten out troubled teens, supposedly they have a very high sucess rate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I know these things can be incredably frustraiting, seeing little shits get away with this kind of thing, but vigalantes? No, It's going down to their level, and at the end of the day, if you beat the shit out of a 16 year old, I'd be as anxious to see you prosecuted as the 16 year old. The law is there for a reason, and the guards are far from perfect, but if we all condoned this behavour there would be chaos, so we shouldn't tolerate it on a small scale either. Also, if we allow hot headed people, or where there is a lot of emotion involved to be Judge, Jury and Prosecutioner a lot of innocent people could get seriously hurt - And that could just as easily be you or your familly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭condra

Nay
    One reason why so many people would be in favour of a certain degree of vigilantism, is that THE GARDAI ARE ****E!

Sweeping statement perhaps, but Ive not had any good experiences with Guards and Im sure many more people have stories of GARDAI LETTING SCUM AWAY WITH MURDER.

imagine....

1988: Its a glorious afternoon.
    I leave my 6 months old BMX [yes I was 8 and it was a christmas present] on my surburban street with my friends, as I go in to get dinner. When I return its gone and my friends tell me some knacker from Ballymun took it. My dad calls the cops, they come around, he gets in the car with a cop...
    THEY FIND THE GUY ON MY BIKE UP IN BALLYMUN.. the cop refuses to get out of the car stating that this little teenage scumbag "might have a knife"...case closed...

middle class people: 0
    gardai: 0
    scumbags: 1
    :mad:

___

1999- Its a hot night.
    Im cleaning the grill in my part time job as a chef. The shop is closed but a junkie scumbag lowlife piece of ****, wielding a hammer, and a skrewdriver, and a hardhat for some reason, manages to burst the doors open.
    He threatens the waitress, then smashes the till with the hammer, threatening to kill me.
    I eventually get the till open and he takes the money.
    Not happy with this he runs upstairs and attempts to hack down the office door. I escape and miracously find a squad car on the street, the scumbag is eventually arrested. The guard later writes my statement for me [?] and informs me that this low life piece of **** who threatened my life, would be in jail for a long time..
    5 days later the same junkie comes back to the shop and tries to kill me. Im lucky to escape with my life, and decide I should take a career break.

middle class hard working people 0
    gardai - ****ing minus 100
    scum of the earth +100

Aside from that, where are the Gardai? How come you dont see them in the scummy parts of town where people are getting mugged every hour? Theres a ****ing cop shop 100 yards from the liffey on both sides, but still feck all cops around..

And what about the known scum, the teenagers who smash peoples windows and threaten and intimidate people.. and get away with it?

What about the dart and the luas? I had a syringe up to my neck on the dart and there was nobody around to help, I would have loved a vigilante then to kick that ****ing scumbag in the head.

So, as long as they pick on the REAL SCUM - the junkies who mug people, the violent suburban sociopaths, and as long as the Gardai are doing such a **** job, "and getting no thanks for it" [boo hoo its your job you prick] Im in favour, to a certain degree, of vigilanties.

This is coming from a lefty, but I do believe in a certain amount of policing, and I dont think the Gardai are doing enough to protect the decent people that make up the majority of Dublinners.