Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

opel ascona

• 12-11-2005 10:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭

howya fellas:)
    anyone out there got an opel ascona c/d ?

i was getting a 1983 opel kadett gte but the fella sold it to the scrap collecters b#####d:mad:
    d###head wouldent even hold it for a day for me.

now im on the hunt for an ascona,dos any one know where theirs one about,
    or gte kadett.
    anybody ever had one? or what ye think of them:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭tlyons

Brilliant cars, though not as good as a Manta (but thats my preference). There are still a few kicking around in the UK. I would start at www.manta.org but I'm biased!

good luck
    Trev

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

I had a 1981 Ascona 2.0 and I loved it, I also had a LHD two door Ascona which I planned on making a GTE replica out of but never got around to. I suppose it would be in my top fifty classic car list somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Redrocket

manta.org seems to be a website for whale sharks & mantas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,031 ✭✭✭Silvera

Yep, I recall the 1978-1983 Ascona well!

There were lots of them about my home town when I was 'nipper' .......IIRC the Gardaí also used them as patrol cars.

I even have a c.1981 Opel brochure which includes the (then) new Ascona !:)

I suppose they were basically a less glamourous version of the Manta .....good car none the less.

I spotted a NI reg Ascona at the Fingal show back in July - first I had seen in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,402 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Silvera wrote:
    I suppose they were basically a less glamourous version of the Manta

Or the Manta was the Ascona coupe ;)

My dad bought a new 1.9 petrol Ascona 2 door back in early '78. A big improvement from our '74 Simca 1100 :D

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

So my manta hatch is actually an Ascona, I've been duped. Both lovely cars, don't care.

Tried to get the Mrs a kadett C, totally on for it but decided on a MGB GT, so I'm still happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Dun na nGal

have ascona berlina '78 2lt sr ... any idea where i'd get an engine ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭manta mad

hello dun na gal.

welcome to the world of classic cars.
    i have a 2lt engine here if that suits you. & in a few weeks time i will be stripping down my 1980 sr manta for a total rebuild , & there will be another spare engine as i will be replaceing that with an 86 fuel injection gte unit:D
    glad to help if i can.

(old opels never die:cool: )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Blue850

I picked up a 1978 Opel Range brochure at the Abbeyshrule autojumble last Sunday , Kadetts, Asconas, Rekords and Mantas mmmmm:)

good lad . whats the story on the engine how much do u want

is it ready to go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭Con_316

manta mad wrote:
    howya fellas:)
    anyone out there got an opel ascona c/d ?

i was getting a 1983 opel kadett gte but the fella sold it to the scrap collecters b#####d:mad:
    d###head wouldent even hold it for a day for me.

now im on the hunt for an ascona,dos any one know where theirs one about,
    or gte kadett.
    anybody ever had one? or what ye think of them:)

Manta= great
    Ascona= great
    kadett= great

Guy who sold your possible car for scrap= B#sta#d

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,031 ✭✭✭Silvera

Blue850 wrote:
    I picked up a 1978 Opel Range brochure at the Abbeyshrule autojumble last Sunday , Kadetts, Asconas, Rekords and Mantas mmmmm:)

Any chance you could post/send me a Kadett Saloon/Coupe and Manta Coupe pic(s) ?

Cheers,
    Silvera.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭stratos

There is a yard at the back of malahide castle, there used to an ascona laying up there, dunno if it's still there will have a look.

manta mad wrote:
    hello dun na gal.

welcome to the world of classic cars.
    i have a 2lt engine here if that suits you. & in a few weeks time i will be stripping down my 1980 sr manta for a total rebuild , & there will be another spare engine as i will be replaceing that with an 86 fuel injection gte unit:D
    glad to help if i can.

(old opels never die:cool: )
    that sounds good .let me know soon as u can please...i'm eager to get the car up and runnin . thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭Alfasudcrazy

There is a rare Opel Kadett for sale on Ebay at the min - might be a cheap buy for someone interested. Looks a bit rough but it does not seem beyond salvation.;)

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/1975-OPEL-KADETT-RED_W0QQitemZ4607749789QQcategoryZ2192QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem