Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

It may not mean alot to you!

• 12-11-2005 5:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭

For those of you who are interested i have been building a guitar over the last 2/3 months and last night I collected my pickups from the doc himself (tyvm) and i pieced together to see what it would look like along with the hardware i have already :]

Sure its rough atm, but hey, it moistened me up and really made me smile! All i need to do is get the top/back boards, a switch and wire it up then i think its pritty much ready to go!!

here 3 pics i took, nothing special - i took em with my phone hehe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭68 lost souls

It looks like its gonna be really nice, cant wait to see it finished. Whats the specs? What finish are you using?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭So Glad

Looks great. What are you casing it with? Or are you leaving it like that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

As I said yesterday man, fair ****ing play for having the balls to build the whole thing from scratch.

Have you decided on a colour scheme?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭sei046

ye fair play bud. Nt an easy thing to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

It looks like its gonna be really nice, cant wait to see it finished. Whats the specs? What finish are you using?

Well, tbh, im not 100% hip to the lingo about the parts to build a guitar, and whats needed to build one, im playing 10 years - isnt that a shame!

Im following doctor j's advice and ive ordered this switch. I also bought some humbuckers off of him the other night, which for the life of me i cant remember the full name/details of them!

No idea what colour scheme im gonna use, but, im looking at getting a [url=https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/39896/18630.JPG[/url] but in a dark metallic red! Like a dark blood :s My best mates dad is in the paint industry and he can get me all the tools i need to mix+spray it, or paint it which ever the case maybe - ill ask him to look into it, give the best advice and ill do it.

For the F-Holes im looking at doing a more animated version of the songs for the deaf pitch fork... i know it sounds ugly, im probably not going to do it, as id be scared to make a mess, so i may use the rickenbacker F-hole but make it sharper, maybe more slimline..

For the nobs, im going to try mould some Q's in a potato or something(hey, the dots in my necks fret board are made of solder), like the alternate songs for the deaf album cover but they will have a little spearm as an arrow pointing to numbers painted around the dials.

Another risky feat :s
    So Glad wrote:
    Looks great. What are you casing it with? Or are you leaving it like that?

guitar case or outer shell? Id have to make something i suppose or, if by outer shell you mean the rest of the body - its on its way!

cheers all btw :v:

:v:o==3 <-- how come noones done that face before?

ohh yea, for the sides of the body, i forgot to mention i was gonna paint that either metalic black or keep it the same as the other red.. theres 2 different types of timber, so it should give a nice effect..

I was also considering doing a tribal design on the sides in black before i stained it metalic red.

I dont know what to use for binding, that hurdle hasnt even hit me and wont untill i have the top and bottom half done, i may even just chamfer it like a gibson SG as i will have a good 10mm to play with both front and back - one things for sure, i have a **** load of sanding to do with the body because im not that handy with a chizzle!

Its going to be one hell of a messed up guitar when im done - i should quit while im ahead haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭So Glad

red_ice wrote:
    guitar case or outer shell? Id have to make something i suppose or, if by outer shell you mean the rest of the body - its on its way!

I did mean finish yeah. I couldn't find an appropriate word for it. But a nice case is allways a plus for a nice guitar!

I like the materials your using and the colour. It's exsactly the same as my Jackson and it is a beautiful finish.

Good luck with the rest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Rustar

Good stuff, Ice! can't wait to see the finished product!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭0utshined

Nice work red_ice,

Keep us up to date on how you get on. I know it's something a lot of us have thought of doing at one stage or another.

heh :D

Well, ive been waiting/putting it off since second year of school.. im 22 now.. I came to realise there a few months back that ive been holding off for the right time which will probably never come! One day i had 50 quid in my pocket and on a spur of the moment thing i went to a timber yard and bought a lump of some weird ass tropical hardwood which the guy was sound enough to do very cheap and all in one piece (30x40x2 inches)

From then on i found the guitar made time to build itsself, i mean, every time i pass it, id stop for a few mins and think about how i can do more work on it.. Ill be on the pc reading on boards then get an idea, draw it out on the timber, erase it, perfect it, then have to cut it else ill go insane for leaving it that long lol. The guitar just became a built in priority for me now - if i see an opertunity to work on it, or get something (doc j's pickups) id do what i could to get it..

TBH, if your putting it off yourself, you should put 50 aside, and find a lump of timber - ill put money down a week later you will be looking at getting your next part lol ;D

Cheers for the feedback (this is my second update on the boards with the progress of my guitar), again, if anyone has any ideas, tips, doubts on anything on the guitar by all means post it, i want to have a broad variety of styles mixed up into one style, but i dont want overkill!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Don't try to amalgamate a half a dozen concepts in the one guitar. Use it to make one point in one style. Gives you an excuse to make more. ;)

hehe, im already planning out my next one ;D

Solid body replica of the ovation GP (not the super one, or the ultra or what ever its called, thats too stretchy :s)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭0utshined

red_ice wrote:

TBH, if your putting it off yourself, you should put 50 aside, and find a lump of timber - ill put money down a week later you will be looking at getting your next part lol ;D

Cheers for the feedback (this is my second update on the boards with the progress of my guitar), again, if anyone has any ideas, tips, doubts on anything on the guitar by all means post it, i want to have a broad variety of styles mixed up into one style, but i dont want overkill!

I have been putting it off actually, I really should make time to get started on it. I don't know of any timber yards around my way though, where did you go to get yours?

Cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭mc nuggets

Well done man, that is really sweet. Can't wait to see it finished