Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

north stand closed for NZ game

• 11-11-2005 10:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭

what the hell is going on????? the north terrace is closed for tomorrows games because of a fire and anyone holding a north terrace ticket is asked not to turn up, i have got tickets for the north terrace and i am really really pissed off.
    tell me how can a lump of concret go on fire?

and also can someone please give me more info on what happened, and if there is any chance they will re-open it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Just saw that on Aertel.

That's awful.

I presume you'll get a full refund, but not the same at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,066 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

not much info available at the moment. Sorry about your ticket.
    Got mine for the east stand but I wouldnt rule out them cancelling the whole thing or even playing a closed game?

I don't think it's the kind of match that they'd have a closed game for. It's unfortunate, but I suppose they're taking the "better safe than sorry" approach and for safety reasons are closing the North Terrace.

More here.

Probably won't be too much news tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Surprisingly hard to find info online actually....thats ****e though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Fcuk thats terrible, as well as for the individual fans, it will also really take from the atmosphere...

Here's the story from IRFU
    Owing to the outbreak of a small fire, the Irish Rugby Football Union regrets that the North Terrace at Lansdowne Road will be closed for Saturday's permanent tsb international between Ireland and New Zealand.

The North Terrace has had to be temporarily closed to allow time for a full safety inspection due to the fire which occured in a confined area.

Accordingly, ticket holders for that area will NOT be able to gain access to Saturdays permanent tsb international between Ireland and New Zealand.

The decision to close the North Terrace was taken in the interest of safety following consultation between the IRFU, the Gardai and other relevant authorities and North Terrace ticket holders are advised it will NOT be possible to gain access to any other area of the stadium.

In the interest of safety and crowd control, North Terrace ticket holders are earnestly asked not to come in the vicinity of the ground.

The fire arose in a void space beneath the North Terrace and in the best interests of the safety of our patrons, the decision was taken to close the Terrace to allow a full safety inspection to be carried out.

It is not possible within the time frame to complete that inspection and provide adequate notice to patrons.

The IRFU regrets the North Terrace closure and the disappointment and inconvenience caused and assures patrons holding tickets for that area that notices will be issued as soon as possible regarding procedures for a full ticket price refund.

The North Goal Line area is not affected and ticket holders for those seats will gain access by the stated routes as indicated on tickets.

RTE and the other news sites are all carrying the same text.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Funkstard

Heard about this in my taxi home tonight.....absolute stinger for people with tickets in the North Terrace, although you can't expect the IRFU to do anything but refund the tickets when it happened so close to the game.

I'm not overly sad, more a feeling of comeuppance because for the French match last Feb/March, I stupidly brought the wrong ticket to the stadium and got refused entry! So there!

*Holds south terrace ticket in a vice grip*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭PJG

can't believe it, just up and go the news . S**t S**T,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Peter B

That is well bad for people with north terrace tickets.

Interested will the IRFU refund the both tickets (NZL ROM) or just the NZL ticket. Surely they'll refund both matches and let people go to the Romania match for free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

Funkstard wrote:
    *Holds south terrace ticket in a vice grip*

Doing the same right now! What a massive disappointment!
    I'm really gutted for the people with North Terrace tickets... I actually know as a few New Zealanders that came all the way (from New Zealand) to see that game and some have North Terrace tickets... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Umanga did it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

I'm in the auxiliary fire service and was in the north stand before and during the match. There's no way people would be allowed there, to much ash and smoke, it still smelled bad. Apparently there was foam sprayed under to protect against wind as that stand is notorious for wind, not sure exactly. Anyway whoever was spraying the foam got the chemicals wrong and it ended up going on fire. I couldn’t see much damage under the N stand, though I was using a bad torch, mainly smoke covered concrete but there are electric pipes and stuff under there aswell which could have damaged.

Image023.jpg

Better safe than sorry I guess

BTW, I was also in the S stand at the start of the match and my god, if there was a panic... we'd have a crush. I couldn’t believe how packed and dangerous it was

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭rugbug86

daveirl wrote:

like the north terrace last year against england. that was jammers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

i've put an arrow on where I was at the start of the match. I couldnt move at all, lucky enough I'm pretty tall so i could see what was going on but I could see some people were stressed out

tight.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭Downtime

Scumbag touts were still offloading North Terrace tickets to unsuspecting fans before the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

RTE.ie wrote:
    The IRFU have again apologised for the incident which led to the north terrace being closed at Lansdowne Road for Saturday's game with New Zealand, as they announced details for ticket refunds.

In a statement the IRFU say that the New Zealand and Romania games were sold as a linked package but that the full value of the package for both games will be refunded to North Terrace ticket holders.

Ticket holders who claim a refund will still be able to use their tickets for the Ireland and Romania encounter.

The IRFU also confirmed that the north terrace will be open for next Saturday's international test against Australia.

Fair play to the IRFU for refunding both games and still allowing supporters to attend the Romania match free of charge. A nice gesture given the massive inconvenience for some people on Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Borzoi

Downtime wrote:
    Lansdowne Road North Terrace Ticket Refunds

Following the closure of the Lansdowne Road North Terrace for the Ireland v New Zealand game on November 12th, the Irish Rugby Football Union has announced the details for ticket refunds to North Terrace ticket holders.

The New Zealand and Romania games were sold as a linked package and the full value of the package 35euro for both games will be refunded to North Terrace ticket holders, who may still use their Ireland v Romania tickets.

The IRFU apologises for the inconvenience caused to North Terrace ticket holders by the closure of the terrace due to safety reasons.

They're doing the decent thing at least, especially as the situation was unavoidable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Geg124

Good to see them doing the right thing. At least some people care

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭Downtime

North Terrace closed for Australia and Romania games too - http://www.breakingnews.ie/story.asp?j=162764064&p=y6z76477x&n=162764824
    Bummer

That's terrible news.

They'd been so sure that it would be open on Saturday.

Thankfully I stuck with my old reliable South Terrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Amz wrote:
    That's terrible news.

They'd been so sure that it would be open on Saturday.

Thankfully I stuck with my old reliable South Terrace.

I'm so jealous....:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Borzoi

Downtime wrote:
    North Terrace closed for Australia and Romania games too

Bummer

Absolutely - I've managed to find a replacement pair of stand tickets for this Saturday, but I'm a terrace fan.

heh, and everyone who had nz romania tickets were probably thinking "deadly, free set of tickets" up until this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭PowerHouseDan

There is a good chance i will have 2 spare tickets going up but wont know till the day, would help ya out if i could...

RuggieBear wrote:
    I'm so jealous....:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭llcoolj14

IF any1 has a spare ticket to this game going Id much appreacite it....my north terrace ticket will be no good again this week...luckily last week I managed to get an alternative at the venue for little over face value....please pm me details if any1 has one to spare for a genuine fan!

There is a good chance i will have 2 spare tickets going up but wont know till the day, would help ya out if i could...

well i might be stewarding at it now but it's still up in the air. I might be in touch....;)

Well i def have 2 South terr tickets...And am ment to be getting 2 Stand tickets, If i do get the stand and thats a big IF you can have the terr tickets...

Cheers Dan.....but i've got the stewarding gig \o/ :)

Ah no prob so......

*winks luridly at PowerHouseDan*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

User "Bob" was looking to head to the game, PM'd me about stewarding. If he's a rugby regular he'll see this :)

So, who do i have to shag for a ticket? *puts on the hooker boots* :)

Right People before i get anymore Pm's i am not selling the tickets... I was only offering them to Ruggie Because himself and myself were looking for tickets for a few weeks now....I have a few buddys who would of taken the tickets but was giving Ruggie first refusal so sorry them is not for sale....

and we are lovers.....:D

:eek:,,,, How Could you...
    RuggieBear wrote:
    and we are lovers.....:D

RuggieBear wrote:
    Cheers Dan.....but i've got the stewarding gig \o/ :)
    Yay!

See you on Saturday!

Amz wrote:
    Yay!

See you on Saturday!

Yep....fancy a pint after the game?

Paedar i thought you were mine! you dont remember much of saturday night do you? :D

crash_000 wrote:
    Paedar i thought you were mine! you dont remember much of saturday night do you? :D

ah! so it was you whispering "hey big boy" down in the jacks....

Pint afterwards sounds good to me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

I got a match Sat morning (which is why I can't make the stewarding gig) but I'll be around for a pint before/during/after.

Still not sure if I've time to make the international after my own match, but you might spot me around Irishtown looking for a ticket :)

I reckon I'll be in town from about 1 so hope to be out around Lansdowne before 1:30ish, depends on what time my partner in crime gets out at. You all have my number ... *ahem*

Amz wrote:
    I reckon I'll be in town from about 1 so hope to be out around Lansdowne before 1:30ish, depends on what time my partner in crime gets out at. You all have my number ... *ahem*

what a reputation you have to uphold.....

I'm sure I don't know what you mean ...

a wink's as good as a nod....

So I'm damned if I do and I'm damned if I don't?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 bignialler

Hi there

I have a good seat in the Guinness stand lower looking to swap for two south terrace tickets, very unlikely I know but would anybody have two south terrace tickets??