Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

door work

• 10-11-2005 10:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭

folks

who does the door, where do ye do it, is it your job, hobby, or a few pound for ye, and is it worth it ??

paddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭pma-ire

paddyc wrote:
    folks

who does the door, where do ye do it, is it your job, hobby, or a few pound for ye, and is it worth it ??

paddy
    I used to do it.

On Off-Licence doors, pubs and hotels.

It was easy(ish) money at the time, along with my two other jobs.

When we got the funds into a better state the Mrs ask me to give it up so that I could be at home more. But also incase I got hurt and could'int go to work the next day!! :D

Are you looking to do it Paddy??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Paddy - I used to work in a nightclub. The bouncers generally went out together from what I gathered because at least one person would give them **** on their night off. Something to think about. Not sure how it is up there..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭EPO_MAN

Paddy - I've worked as a doorman for 7 years in dublin (mostly city center)

I do it cos my missus stays at home with our son.
    I hate it and it's a pox. i cannot wait to retire.

In fact i would have left in may to do pizza delivery but "the juice" is too dear.

**Note that the juice was the reason for the 3rd world war in the Mad Max films**

Anyway I will contend that between ages 21 - 25 I was seduced by the door.
    I was in a cool place working with some great guys (still mates with them now).
    There were loadsa parties ,women etc... and the door was like clubbing without spending money. n fact i had such a good time I might have done it for free.

But i'm 28 now married and i would kill (really i would) for a saturday watching match of the day with a chinese and a beer.

though it could be worse at least i'm in a quiet bar and the guy I'm working with it's pretty sound.

Most doormen (in dublin anyway) are not sound and are assholes.

Also a lot of doormen these days are foreign and their english isn't good (good language skills are needed to defuse situ's).

Finally it is a good way to get extra cash - it did get me my deposit on my house .

I could tell you loads more but perhaps you should try it and see if you like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

did it in door knacker joint Olympic Ballroom and work for conerts.

did not like it.

working with a load of ROID heads....(which I did...so not a sterotype) was so F'ing mundane. a crowd of yellow hures...who were only brave when 3 other roid heads in tow.

being a Pre Emptive type....did not suit me..

and to be honest ...I always felt like a bit of a spoil sport , say at concerts telling people to stop shoulder backing in the crowds at a gig.

a good heart is hard to find.

why did I do it...someone asked me....did it for a few months on and off. and then figured I had better things to do on me nights off.

I remember giving Paddy C a load of drunk semi in good fun bad manners in howl at the moon a few years back!!! LOL!!!!! he denys this but I am fairly certain! LOL!

EPO...did you ever come across cannings on doors... buds of mine. sort of know them for that work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭EPO_MAN

EPO...did you ever come across cannings on doors... buds of mine. sort of know them for that work.

not that I remember - but I been working with a ton of guys on a once off basis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Musashi

Done a little casual work for mates needed a break.
    I'd say on a full time basis it's wreck the head lads?
    But saying that if they keep cutting the hours at work I'll work it again no bother.

Anyone know what the current legislation or training for a doorman is? I'm current with Fire Warden and First Aider, hoping to nail First Responder soonish!

If my work peters out at weekends and OT during the week I'll go back to the boredom of door work, not happily, but it's an earner even when jobs are scarce.

I think the farce that the Government came out with about Bouncers being trained and registered (which was really just a way to try and get tax out of them) has fallen on it's face. They just did'int want to spend the money on it!!

I know there are loads of Bouncer courses being run around the country. But this is only a racket as there is no real benifit to having one of these courses. Having the First Aid and Fire Warden certs are good though!!

Door work is about your personality and how well you can talk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭paddyc

No i done them for years in belfast and dublin, so i know all about wanting a sat night off and watch the telly with the woman instead of freezing me nuts off for a few extra quid..

But if you get a handy spot, on the nights you want it can be sweet to the beat, maybe maybe not sweet but better. Was just wondering if anyone in MA was doing them thats all. I might go back to them soon though to get a few quid for christmas..

Oh and Gerry if you had given me ****... you'd had known about it :mad: :mad: :mad:

paddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭mark.leonard

I have been donig doorwork fro the last 8 years and I run the security for the Front Door bar in Galway presently. For those of you that don't know the Front Door its in the City Center (Galway) and gets a regular 23+ proffessional crowd. Rarely ever any trouble, touching wood as I say that! Its basically handy money, but as soon as I am making enough during the day to give it up that's exactly what I'll do. * years is way too long to be at it, it makes you dislike the general public!

* years is way too long to be at it, it makes you dislike the general public!
    I know what you mean man!!

I was 16 when I started in the "Hospitality Industry" as a glass collector and went to barman, hotel porter, night porter, night manager and doorman.

The p!ssed and not so p!ssed general public can get on your rag alright :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

How does a guy like myself with no experience, and a short period of MA training get into doing security/doorman???

Being a third level student, it'd be a nice handy number for the weekends.... Plus it'd keep me off the booze!!! (As if!!!) LOL

Do ya need to under go all these training courses ye speak of, and have some registered training thingy bob or what??

Am not saying I'd LOVE to do it, doormen get alot of Sh!t, I know that.... But like I say it'd be a bit of extra cash.

memphis wrote:
    How does a guy like myself with no experience, and a short period of MA training get into doing security/doorman???

Being a third level student, it'd be a nice handy number for the weekends.... Plus it'd keep me off the booze!!! (As if!!!) LOL

Do ya need to under go all these training courses ye speak of, and have some registered training thingy bob or what??

Am not saying I'd LOVE to do it, doormen get alot of Sh!t, I know that.... But like I say it'd be a bit of extra cash.
    Doorwork is always got through word of mouth! So try and suss out someone that guys a guy that knows a guy.

Try and find a place that you won't be on your own if your starting out. It's mainly all talking so you might learn a few things from working with someone thats been doing it for a while. Courses are mainly not needed.

If you have a level head and mind yourself you'll be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭Nema

Iv been doing the Door for over 5 year now, All over Dublin north and south,

It can be fun somethings but mainly boaring as Fark!

The door is what you make of it,

Pros

Money
    Food
    P!ussy
    Drink

Cons

Knifes
    Guns
    Glass's
    fights
    etc etc

There is more cons then pros but its down to what you are or what you make of it.

Personal i love it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭paddyc

whats the chance of getting nights from sunday - thursday or is it all weekend work??

memphis, best get in via a mate, or brass neck it and ask a door amn some night and he'll give you the number of the head of the security company and away you go for a quick fone call...

best to get a start via a mate

paddy

paddyc wrote:
    whats the chance of getting nights from sunday - thursday or is it all weekend work??
    the only time i ever done door on those nights was at hotel xmas party nights!!

hotels can be sweet work if you can get it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I know a few people through TKD who work in the security industry and some have said to me that there is always a shortage of female bounders etc, and that there would be a job for me if I was interested.

What's it like as a job for a woman? I'm somewhat reluctant to consider it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭Liam_B

Work in a NightClub in Cork. Only do one night a week some times 2 , as mentioned , easy money that comes in handy.Boss there is good guy and flexible for nights off , a lot of security with you so not much trouble and most guys are good guys to work with.

dudara wrote:
    I know a few people through TKD who work in the security industry and some have said to me that there is always a shortage of female bounders etc, and that there would be a job for me if I was interested.

What's it like as a job for a woman? I'm somewhat reluctant to consider it.
    You'd need a strong stomach to handle the mess some girls get into in nite-club toilets!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

pma-ire wrote:
    You'd need a strong stomach to handle the mess some girls get into in nite-club toilets!!
    That'd be enough to turn me off ok, heard a few horror stories from female pals of mine about incidents starting in the ladies loo's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,514 ✭✭✭BrianD3

I reckon I'd have the right temperament for diffusing "situations" Had to do this in a previous job and found I had a knack for calming irate people down.

Might sound like a silly question but do you have to be a huge guy to work on a door. Most of the doormen I see are like 6'3" plus and/or 16 stone plus. Sometimes I think that the bigger the doorman is, the more likely someone is to get aggressive with him. This is possibly due to jealousy, perceived aggression by the bouncer due to his size etc.

BrianD3 wrote:
    I reckon I'd have the right temperament for diffusing "situations" Had to do this in a previous job and found I had a knack for calming irate people down.

Might sound like a silly question but do you have to be a huge guy to work on a door. Most of the doormen I see are like 6'3" plus and/or 16 stone plus. Sometimes I think that the bigger the doorman is, the more likely someone is to get aggressive with him. This is possibly due to jealousy, perceived aggression by the bouncer due to his size etc.
    I'm only 5' 7". I think that a mixture of body types and attributes on a bouncer/Security team is very important.

There is gonna be a time that you will need to release Igor from the cage to lay it down when your in the Sh!t!!

But I do think that having all the door staff look like Shrek can be a turn off for passing punters and attracts some langers looking for a pop off the big guy!!

Though there are also langers that will look to have a go anyway!! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭kenpo_dave

I work as a security guard in a retail park and some of the older guys who work in some of the stores say that they consider doormen/bouncers to be "thugs" and the "scum" of the security industry as they r more likely to assault someone than another type of security officer. I think this is a generalisation, but I have come across some really thick and agressive doormen/bouncers and seen a few dragging guys out the back door of a club. Wot r ur thoughts about this.
    Also, wot r ur thoughts about the lisences that all security guards, whether retail, patrol or doorman, have to carry as of next year?

kenpo_dave wrote:
    I work as a security guard in a retail park and some of the older guys who work in some of the stores say that they consider doormen/bouncers to be "thugs" and the "scum" of the security industry as they r more likely to assault someone than another type of security officer. I think this is a generalisation, but I have come across some really thick and agressive doormen/bouncers and seen a few dragging guys out the back door of a club. Wot r ur thoughts about this.
    Also, wot r ur thoughts about the lisences that all security guards, whether retail, patrol or doorman, have to carry as of next year?
    You can get some guys doing the door that love to spark it off.

But these guys are mad! And should not be allowed face the public.

On the license thing! I posted earlier, it's only a way that the gov can get some money out of the industry that they turned a blind eye to of years. But there is some good things that can come out of training and courses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Bres

i believe all sucurity gaurds should have atleast done a basic gaurding course before starting on any site and am glad that that now is the case, the course is only two days long and is pretty damn simple...
    as for the lisence issue that seems to be the only way forward, itmight seem like the only way for the government to get money out of the security industry, but it's actually stopping alot of small companys from stealing sites with cheaper figures eg.secuitec, square security who drag people into"area 51 to beat the **** out of them", plus you now have to obtain specific lisences for everything...
    theres a different lisence for building sites, doormen, retail and anything else you can think of, each security officer will be trainned in a specific field...
    definatley the way forward!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Did door work for a few years in Limerick. Sometimes it was fantastic, the crack was great and if you can get a nice group of lads your sorted. I was taken under the wing of a good man as i had no experience on doors but had been doing retail at the time, was relatively handy when needed and a bit of a charmer with the old aggressive types!!

One thing i did learn is that one style on a door is never enough, you really need to be all things to all people, as som respond to the softly softly approach, some respond to humour, some respond to just ebing ignored etc.

It's a tough job, and it can be rough sometimes. There is good and bad, and all it takes is one loony while your not looking for you to end up with scars.

Be careful and be safe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Clare gunner

Did it awhile in my youth in the US and Ireland.Two different scenarios.The US was a three week course in everything from restraining ,to use of mace,and liscensing thereof to equality and drug recognition and first aid.Not to mind a two hour written test.Back home,could you grunt,would you fit in a monkey suit?You are hired.****e pay [45punts per nite,and as much gargle you could get into you by 3AM for a ten hour shift doing the bar re stock,and general dogsbody as well]Did it three months in the US.Two weeks in Limerick.
    Work nowadays in executive protection and private investigation,so the new law does affect me and will affect door personal.Yes at the moment it is up in a heap as the PSA admit themselves,BUT they are following the UK very closely[as their security law seems a mirror image of ours.]Dont fool yourselves that at the moment the thing seems to be a money making racket,which it is usually in this little country.BUT it will come to a head and then you will be dealing with EU law as well and they will set high standards.You might have about two years easy time of it still.Also the trouble is with these courses,none ASFIK are recognised by the PSA,so you might be throwing good dough after bad.Check with the private security authorithy in Tipp town.[www.psa.ie]for status on things.
    As for the job.Easier and more pleasenter ways of making a few part time quids.