Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unlucky to win 73k

• 08-11-2005 4:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭

The second event in the master classics of poker was a 800 nl hold em with re-buys (1 only in first 90 minutes). 270 runners with 16 alternates. Event was sold out and produced a pool of over 450k.
    I'm on the button and raise with j 8 off, very tight scandinavian calls (first hand he played in a hour) on the small blind, Pascal calls on the big (plays at least every second hand).
    Flop is Ah 8c 6s.
    Scandinavian checks, Pascal checks I hold my breath and bet the pot.
    Scandinavian calls, Pascal calls. I'm trying to represent a A but this young lad next to me obviously has it. Pascal has rags I think, maybe 5 7 and is drawing.
    Turn is 8. Hello, this is interesting. Small B checks, big B checks, no freebes here lads, i bet just under the pot size about 25% of my stack.
    Scandinavian is in pain, he does nt like that 8. After a moment or two of pure torture he calls. Now Pascal raises by 3. Bingo, I think I'm ahead and I'm not messing around , I'm taking this pot down right now, I pause for 20 seconds and push. All in. Young Scandinavian cant get rid of his cards quick enough. Pascal to my surprise calls very quickly, you snake I think you slowed played them did nt you. No. He turns over 8,9, whowww, I'm buzzing, could nt be better, I ve him out kicked, worse case scenario is a split if he gets lucky. Nice hand he says.
    River is, a 9.
    Pascal went on to finish 4th and earned over 20k.
    Alan Betson ended up in a head to head with a Lebonese guy who I thought was a very weak player. Alan was pushing him all over the place and was 3 to 1 in chips at one stage. Alan has kj and raises, guy goes all in, Alan calls showdown is kj Vs k8, guy spikes a 8. Soon after Alan has kk, guy puts him all in with AJ. A turns up and Alan is unlucky to win 73k for second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

(a) Unlucky Fintan
    (b) Did you finish in the money
    (c) Business must be bloody great... $800 re-buy tourney !! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Pokerevents

Culchie wrote:
    (a) Unlucky Fintan
    I think so.
    (b) Did you finish in the money
    No, I went out early.
    (c) Business must be bloody great... $800 re-buy tourney !! :)
    I'm with my wife for a short break, and she was kind enough to let me play. I'm allowed 3 tourney s per year, up to a max of a grand (unless i qualify)
    It's a right pain running events and not being able to play them. That 1000 euro 3 day in jan will be particularly fustrating, having to watch, and not partake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

b) Did u finish in the money!

No, I did'nt finish in the money.
    The Omaha event last night had Dave O Neill (22nd)and Mick McClosky(18th) I.T.M
    It was a 500 with re-buys(I think). Simon Aces was looking good when I left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Marq

According to the Hendon Mob website, the tourney you're referring to here was actually the €220 NL Hold'em with unlimited rebuys. Have they got it wrong? Which was it?

EDITED TO INCLUDE LINK
    http://pokerdb.thehendonmob.com/event.php?a=r&n=14857

That must be a mistake. The 220 was the first event on saturday. I think some Sweedish guy won it. The event Alan came 2nd in for 73k was the second event which was a 800 with 1 re-buy. The final table was last night and I'm sure about this as I went on the tear with the man afterwards.
    800 with 1 re-buy started sunday,finished last night.
    1st Abdul Aziz Khodr (Lebonon) 143k
    2nd Alan Betson (Ireland) 73k
    3rd Dan Glimne (Sweden) 35k
    4th Pascal Perrault (France) 24k
    200th Fintan Gavin (Ireland) 0k
    Total prize was over 350 not 450(which i posted earlier)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

thats some poke