Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Online tourney tonight on Stars! Win a year of Cardplayer magazine!

• 08-11-2005 2:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭

Hi guys,
    Poker.ie online tourney tonight at 9pm.

As of from tonight and as requested, the buy in for our weekly games has increased to $20, so there will be that bit more to play for :)

And, great news! Culchie and Magazines365.com is sponsoring a year subscription to Card Player US (26 issues) or Card Player Europe (12 issues). The prize will go to the person holding the most points after week 4. Prizes will be rewarded going by payouts, so, if you win $160, you get 160 points and so on. And after 4 weeks, whoever has accumulated the most points wins the prize. Thanks Culchie!

To play, load up Pokerstars, go to Tourneys/Private. Game starts at 9, table name is "Poker dot ie weekly", and table no. is #14820304. Password is the usual "crapshoot". Register early to ensure you get a seat!

See you there, best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

sweet, see yiz there.

nice one culchie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Yeh, no worries, you should get the first edition around next May:p

About 4-6 weeks later actually, to link in with their printing schedules, but should be OK from then on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

sorry Cian Lad - boss prize but footie takes over on Tuesdays...enjoy!
    Funky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Cianos wrote:
    a year subscription to Card Player US (26 issues) or Card Player Europe (12 issues)

that would be the one we get for free in the fitz then.........:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

roryc wrote:

I have Viz reserved for you Rory....if you win that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

roryc wrote:

There are those that do not live close to the Fitz ;)

Imposter gone

Karl 1st
    Me 2nd
    Culchie 3rd

so far.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

roryc wrote:
    Imposter gone

Karl 1st
    Me 2nd
    Culchie 3rd

so far.......
    Give it a rest :rolleyes: ;)
    I'm still tilting after my TT ran into 88 in the all-in game!

Just threw away a sizeable chip lead when I ACCIDENTALLY called an all in holding 22.... D'OH !!!

Thats what happens when multi-tabling...

Down to final table now. In 6th.....

UPDATE!

down to 8..

Just got AA...... minraise... fold, fold, fold ....ALL IN! yes......

he turns over AA :)

damn you stars....

up to 3rd.... just

(MONSTER) chip leader!

4 left

bubblety, bubblety, BUBBLE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

The current standings for the leaderboard are;

Valor - 140
    rory c - 84
    karl h - 56

Well done lads! Sorry I could'nt make it, the girlfriend handed in her notice today so drinks and dinner were called for!

1st Valorian - $140
    2nd roryc - $84
    3rd karlh2001 - $56

washout 4th
    rounders 5th

As usual it was a bad beat that finished it for me........ what more would you expect! My first game in over a week... had my confidence back up again and then....

another thing that was weird was that I kept running into the same hands!
    AA vs AA
    A9 vs A9 on a A9J flop ( damn u karl!)
    A6 vs A6 (karl again!)

good game though, only second time ive played it. Will play it again! Almost avoided my horrible luck but I got hit at the end... Nice one Stars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

it was a good game.

i was the one with AA when rory min raised and i went all in. I went YES! he called...and it took about 5 seconds to realise he also had em too.

finished 4th but knew id bubble. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

roryc wrote:
    As usual it was a bad beat that finished it for me........ what more would you expect! My first game in over a week... had my confidence back up again and then....

Hows it a bad beat?

Your behind pre-flop

ahead on the flop/ behind on the turn...........

dats poker baby!

don't we have a sticky for this dribble?? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

I rarely get annoyed playing poker but there was this twat raising irregular amounts like 'raise 153' or '237', very annoying. Asked him to quit it, he hept it up, even more annoying.

hehe, he's the one that runs the tourny as far as i know

annoys the bejaysus out of me aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

I'm seeing more and more people do this all the time.... I thought for a while there was a reason to it... some psychological reason... but if they have one, I don't think it works too well other than to annoy people - wait... ah... so thats it ;)

ntlbell wrote:
    Hows it a bad beat?

I was ahead when I pushed and he hit one of his 5 outs. You do know what a 'bad beat' is don't you?
    ntlbell wrote:
    don't we have a sticky for this dribble?? ;)

Yes I put it in there too, so I will EDIT out the HH here ok....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

UPDATE!

down to 8..

Just got AA...... minraise... fold, fold, fold ....ALL IN! yes......

he turns over AA

damn you stars....

up to 3rd.... just

I was watching this last night for a while and nearly fell off the chair when you both turned over A's
    Anybody know the exact odds against this, somebody did ask last night and the reply was about 50,000/1.
    Those odds right?

At least you could both be thankful
    you survived with a pair of A's on Pokerstars!

Yeh I think karlh said it was 50,000 to 1.

Still I think its the 6th or 7th time its happened to me! Happened to me in the fitz twice in the same week!

I also cracked AA with AA before :) flush baby!

roryc wrote:
    I was ahead when I pushed and he hit one of his 5 outs. You do know what a 'bad beat' is don't you?

Sure I do, it's something I moan about 24/7 on boards so that people think I'm a good player and I just have terrible luck ;)

just making sure you knew what it meant.....