Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poker in Cork?

• 08-11-2005 1:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭

Hi lads, I joined the dark side and moved from the big smoke to Langerland;) . Anyone know of poker events down here? I know of only one is Bishopstown.
    Any help appreciated
    Slan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Try the Macau Sporting Club. Pretty sure they run nightly tournaments. Their schedule will be up on Antes Up when the cardroom manager gets back from blowing his dosh in The Amsterdam Masterclassics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

i found a website once for this palce but now i cant find it anymore.

anyone know what the link is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭azzeretti

Yeah the Macau on the quay. I have played in the Monday night €100 FO a few times, and as far as I know there are games everynight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

Thxs Shortstack - just found out I work literally 20 seconds from them....very dangerous indeed....:)
    Thxs again

Thxs azzeretti much appreciated.

Slan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

Thxs Jimbling..

Anyone been? Standard ?
    Might go to the free-role to see what the craic is...such a cheapskate...:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Funkyzeit wrote:
    Hi lads, I joined the dark side and moved from the big smoke to Langerland;) .

Oh God why...........................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭azzeretti

Funkyzeit wrote:
    Anyone been?
    Yep
    Funkyzeit wrote:
    Standard ?
    Good. Don't expect too many fish. The few times I was there, there were many decent players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

Funkyzeit wrote:
    Thxs Jimbling..

no problem
    Funkyzeit wrote:
    Anyone been?

I've been meaning to go in for about 3 months now... and still haven't managed it :mad:

crazy.. but every time I decide to go in, I end up just playing a MTT online instead. But I have very little live experience and think ill make a start. The 50+5 double freezout sounds like a good comp. If im up for it I might head in tomorrow night.
    Funkyzeit wrote:
    Standard?
    No idea... I would have thought there would be plenty fish.. but seemingly not.
    Funkyzeit wrote:
    Might go to the free-role to see what the craic is...such a cheapskate...:o

I would have def thought it would be pretty much all fish in these ... have you been to a freeroll azzeretti??

oh ya... wtf is going on with all the dissing of cork.... jeez ye dubs are very high and mighty aint ye...

just cause we got no good pubs... no good clubs... no good shops .... no good...... jesus, wtf am I doing still living here :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 uccpokersoc

there are a lot of games going on in cork. the macau has a tourney every night. freeroll thursday and saturday, €100+10 monday, €50+5 friday and wednesday, €20+2 on tuesday and €15 on sunday.
    other games on in cork are
    Cypress Avenue Monday 8:00 €10 buy - in
    L.V. Wednesday 8:00 €10 buy - in
    U.C.C.(new bar) Monday 8:00 10euro freeze-out
    Brunos Monday 8:00 €10
    Western Star Monday 7:30
    Shangri La Casino Wednesday 9:00 (€30+3 buy-in, re-buys)
    Highfield Sunday 7:30 €25 + 1 re-buy
    Coal Quay Tuesday 9:00 (€20 buy-in)
    Temple Inn Every 2nd Wed 8:30 (€20 buy-in. 1Rebuy/Top up)
    Blackrock Inn Every 2nd Sunday 8:30 (€20 Buy-in. 1Rebuy/Top up)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

there are a lot of games going on in cork. the macau has a tourney every night. freeroll thursday and saturday, €100+10 monday, €50+5 friday and wednesday, €20+2 on tuesday and €15 on sunday.
    other games on in cork are
    Cypress Avenue Monday 8:00 €10 buy - in
    L.V. Wednesday 8:00 €10 buy - in
    U.C.C.(new bar) Monday 8:00 10euro freeze-out
    Brunos Monday 8:00 €10
    Western Star Monday 7:30
    Shangri La Casino Wednesday 9:00 (€30+3 buy-in, re-buys)
    Highfield Sunday 7:30 €25 + 1 re-buy
    Coal Quay Tuesday 9:00 (€20 buy-in)
    Temple Inn Every 2nd Wed 8:30 (€20 buy-in. 1Rebuy/Top up)
    Blackrock Inn Every 2nd Sunday 8:30 (€20 Buy-in. 1Rebuy/Top up)

Hey, you're a student, it's nearly 8pm on a Wednesday, shouldn't you be drunk by now?

BTW, next time you are in The Western Star, tell the owner (who used to be my landlord) that he still owes me one months deposit £67.77 from 1992 !:(
    And also tell him, it wasn't me on the neighbours roof at the going away party:)