Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

European Riots?

• 08-11-2005 11:17am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭

Read today the riots in France have spread to germanyand belgium!:eek:
    What in the blue hell is giong on over there?
    Any chance of it coming here?
    From what i understand from it, the poorer of frances population lost the rag after two lads were electricuted after being chased by cops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

The_Goose wrote:
    With the state of our health system, there should be!!
    Didnt hear of an incidences in Germany or Belgium (you got linky?), but it's likely to affect some regions there.
    There's always going to be disturbances... now is a fun time for the media to start linking it all.
    It's more about a release of built up of anger and tension sparked by one particular incident.
    I'd advise you to read more about it and see yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

The_Goose wrote:
    lets hope so - "..Panic on the streets Of Dublin.."

we need a good ****ing riot. modern western deMOCKracies are reactionary bodies who are controlled not by public opinion but by private business interests. this is the only language they understand. they have forgotten they are there to serve the people and now they will reap the whirlwind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Careful now, getting close to inciting civil unrest with that post, which is illegal.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

The Kaiser Chiefs predicted it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

the smiths foretold it long before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭keevita

all quiet here in barcelona,maybe ill start a few whispered rumours... will post later with my findings...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

keevita wrote:
    all quiet here in barcelona,maybe ill start a few whispered rumours... will post later with my findings...

Mongo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭Adblock

Hagar wrote:
    Careful now, getting close to inciting civil unrest with that post, which is illegal.

Are you sure it is illegal. That sounds like a very strange law. Would you have a link to the legalisation where this is stated? I would argue this is an impediment of free speech.

Yes the riots are crazy but then again I don’t blame the poorest in society (who try to better themselves) for being upset. Certain laws like taxing the poor and not the super rich is an example of extreme bias.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

The_Goose wrote:
    From what i understand from it, the poorer of frances population lost the rag after two lads were electricuted after being chased by cops.

It's 28 days later come to life!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

It's 28 days later come to life!!!!!

Someones been watching the Panel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭zinc

Muslim youths on the rampage, French are calling it akin to Cival War. Looks ol' old Europe is facing its face case of multiculturalism isnt always rosy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

joejoem wrote:
    Someones been watching the Panel

The what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

zinc wrote:
    Muslim youths on the rampage, French are calling it akin to Cival War. Looks ol' old Europe is facing its face case of multiculturalism isnt always rosy.

Have a look at my Not very PC - but overall has a good message! thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭adonis

The_Goose wrote:

any chance of it coming here?
    its not like the bird flu, or good weather.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭The_Goose

Yes but if it can spread from city to city and now Country to country whats to stop it from coming here adonis?
    Nothing. They are apparently communicating over the net and if one grooup sees what another group can do then whats to stop them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭eefs

Adblock wrote:
    Are you sure it is illegal. That sounds like a very strange law. Would you have a link to the legalisation where this is stated? I would argue this is an impediment of free speech.

From The Constitution, Article 40:
    6. 1° The State guarantees liberty for the exercise of the following rights, subject to public order and morality:

i. The right of the citizens to express freely their convictions and opinions. The education of public opinion being, however, a matter of such grave import to the common good, the State shall endeavour to ensure that organs of public opinion, such as the radio, the press, the cinema, while preserving their rightful liberty of expression, including criticism of Government policy, shall not be used to undermine public order or morality or the authority of the State.

I think calling for riots in the streets of Dublin would undermine both public order and the authority of the state. So, yeah, it's illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

The whole situation makes me feel really uneasy...imagine if it started in Ireland....i mean how the fucuk would the gov/guards/army etc handle it!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭fischerspooner

how the hell could it start here? We don't have many blacks or muslims here, and very few 2nd generation ones who seem to be the ones rioting in France.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

With this man: http://www.indymedia.ie/attachments/nov2004/4047_1.jpg

take it, crusty ****ers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭zinc

how the hell could it start here? We don't have many blacks or muslims here, and very few 2nd generation ones who seem to be the ones rioting in France.

It will likely happen in the future, unless of course we are sensible and heed the warnings that other countries of Europe are unwillingly giving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

You dont need blacks or muslim for such a scenario.
    All you need is a discriminated class that feel disillusioned with the current policial and socio/economic situation and are angered at the unequal division of wealth and services.
    I'm surprised there havent been riots here already....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭Adblock

eefs wrote:
    From The Constitution, Article 40:

I think calling for riots in the streets of Dublin would undermine both public order and the authority of the state. So, yeah, it's illegal.

Fair play ~It seems I learn something new everyday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,598 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

There is no excuse for rioting and burning innocent peoples property, beating up old people etc...

If some knackers from the 'mun or somewhere try this on for size hope the Gardi beat the living shiite out of them tbh (probably what would happen).

I reckon most knackers with half a brain know this and thus are unlikely to do it, also as already said these really isnt much second generation populations of minority groups of the type that are rioting in France etc here.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭Aurther Hugh

There seems to be a somewhat just cause for the demonstrations in France; lack of jobs, any facilities and general discrimination against the inhabintents of these banlieue. Where in the world would the justifacation for the lower classes in this country to do similar be when they literally have everything handed to them on a plate??!! There is no comparison.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

There seems to be a somewhat just cause for the demonstrations in France; lack of jobs, any facilities and general discrimination against the inhabintents of these banlieue. Where in the world would the justifacation for the lower classes in this country to do similar be when they literally have everything handed to them on a plate??!! There is no comparison.

In what ways do you think the occupants of e.g. Fatima Mansions are treated like royalty when compared to people of a similar social standing in France?
    Who, outside of the families of politicians, is given a job on a plate? Where are the facilities for disadvantaged youths in Ireland?
    Actually, scratch that, there are no facilities worth mentioning for any youths in Ireland, so I suppose at least there's no jealousy factor in that respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭eefs

Adblock wrote:
    Fair play ~It seems I learn something new everyday.
    Ah I literally just learnt it in my Media Law class a few weeks ago so it was fresh in my mind (for once). I wouldn't be able to put you right on any other part of the Constitution though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,598 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

pickarooney , what does the (e) mean in your sig pic ?, is this a gay signiture thing? , no offence just been iggling me for a while and can't figure it out.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Longfield wrote:
    There is no excuse for rioting and burning innocent peoples property, beating up old people etc...

If some knackers from the 'mun or somewhere try this on for size hope the Gardi beat the living shiite out of them tbh (probably what would happen).

I reckon most knackers with half a brain know this and thus are unlikely to do it, also as already said these really isnt much second generation populations of minority groups of the type that are rioting in France etc here.

I wont even bother wasting my time reporting this post to the mods, if you have the neck to repeat that comment to someone from "the muns" face, just PM me and i'll make it happen.

after hours = stormfront for the chattering classes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

Longfield wrote:
    pickarooney , what does the (e) mean in your sig pic ?, is this a gay signiture thing? , no offence just been iggling me for a while and can't figure it out.
    It turns "man" into "mane" - as in mane of hair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Bambi wrote:

after hours = stormfront for the chattering classes

Quote of the month ^^

OP, no it will not spread here. It's not quite the international uprising of the workers or anything. But see politics & humanities boards for more serious discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

The_Goose wrote:
    Yes but if it can spread from city to city and now Country to country whats to stop it from coming here adonis?
    Nothing. They are apparently communicating over the net and if one grooup sees what another group can do then whats to stop them.
    There's lots of them there. Here, the scumbags would just fight back. And the Gardai would sit and do nothing.
    There seems to be a somewhat just cause for the demonstrations in France; lack of jobs, any facilities and general discrimination against the inhabintents of these banlieue.
    They are 2nd generation unemployed people. The French got lots of cheap labour in the 60's & 70's, and when the jobs evaporated, the people didn't. They've since multiplied, tho.
    Where in the world would the justifacation for the lower classes in this country to do similar be when they literally have everything handed to them on a plate??!! There is no comparison.
    /me looks at most of the f*ckers on the dole in Ireland. Aye. They're too lazy.

=-=

If the riots did come here, we'd just think its another "leftie" protest, and ignore it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Considering our unemployment rate is only 4.3% -- lowest in the EU -- there isn't a whole lot of them left.