Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MMA Comp Results..

• 20-11-2004 6:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭

Excellent comp, first time ever being to one ;)

Well done Colm, I seen you there(Was up on the balcony) your lads performed well. Unfortunately i had to go at 4, so dunno how the rest went
    :( I've way more to say, but will let you get your valued piece in first..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭columok

Mark and Colm and the lads organised a great competition. It went very well with a noticeably higher standard of fights than at previous events.

A lot of first timers stepped up without much experience and jumped in. They learnt a lot. It took a lot of guts and deserves a round of applause *Claps*

I got Judo thrown by Judo Mick from SBG Harolds Cross. It seems there is a reason they call him Judo Mick :D !

Great day all in all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

What were u wearing/look like?

I was there from start til bout 4 so did u fight between then??
    Judo Mick - That the guy wearing the Judogi? kinda beard on him..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

Just want to say a couple of thank yous.

Firstly, and most importantly, to all the competitors, without you Deadly Buzz and the whole MMA League 2004 would not have been the sucess it was.

Also thanks to everyone from Two Kings MMA/UCD BJJ who helped the event run smoothly.

Guys if there are any criticisms of the day or things you'd like to see in further League events please let me know!

Mear, got your PM, thanks man!

Peace and Love Y'All,
    Colm

i've a few questions..

1) What did that guy train in who was D/Q ed for punching to the jaw?

2) When they announce the names why dont they say what they train in?? sorta like UFC type thing?

3) How many events do they try have a year?? How does it work, if people wanted more than say 3 events a year could there be?

Brian

1) What did that guy train in who was D/Q ed for punching to the jaw?

That guy trains in The Chum Sut Fighting Academy up North.
    2) When they announce the names why dont they say what they train in?? sorta like UFC type thing?

4 hours - 60 matches to get through. Don't want to waste time announcing fighters.

More importantly, the MMA League's founding principle is to allow beginners to enter these events and not feel overwhelmed/intimidated. I believe announcing people's gym, record and ma history wouldn't contribute to that. That's more suited to an MMA show imo.
    3) How many events do they try have a year?? How does it work, if people wanted more than say 3 events a year could there be?

This was the first year, and we had three events (Genesis - Galway; Ground Zero - Cork; Deadly Buzz - Dublin)

For 2005 the plan is to have 4 events, hopefully North, East, South and West. People who compete in the League, get pretty good at it, and want to go further in MMA would start to fight at shows such as Ring of Truth, UFN, or Cage Wars. They might start at Amateur Rules (headshots standing) and move on up to Semi Pro (headshots standing and on the ground).

Colm

Mear,

I was wearing a blue Ripcurl rashguard!

I was fighting U90kg against one of our guys Judo Mick (Who was wearing a pair of fight shorts) and I also fought Andrew a really sound thai boxer from Base in Cork!

The guy in the Gi was Clive- one of our SBG massive! Clive is known for a very slick jitz game and has animal standup (trains with the Bridgestone boys)!

Hmm, rashguard = ? the shin guards was it?? where do u buy your equipment + the gloves..

Cant remember seeing you man :( you fight before 4 o clock? Clive got out of the arm bar, very impressive..

anyway college beckons talk inbit..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

Mear wrote:
    Hmm, rashguard = ? the shin guards was it?? where do u buy your equipment + the gloves..

Cant remember seeing you man :( you fight before 4 o clock? Clive got out of the arm bar, very impressive..

anyway college beckons talk inbit..

A rashguard is one of those spandex skintight tops. Colum was wearing a blue one with blue gloves and has a big blondie head on him! That armbar wasn't really "on" but the referee (Tom) said that he'd have to stop it (as per the rules) since my joint was extended, so I had to bust out a tricksy escape.

Big props to Mark, Tom, Liam Mc Cork, Sifu Zen, Mick Mc Spikey hair, Jimbo and Dave Mc Laptop.

ahh cool stuff

i know who colum was now.
    Yup, mate and I were discussing ur escape. Only logical thing we could come up was tha ur arms must not of been fully extended, that right? Anyway, looked f**king impressive man, one of the few things that me me shout "S**T!!!" heh.
    You wore a white belt, that for a psycological advantage or what?

Clive, in spite of his kerazee zhoo zhitsu (jiu jitsu) skills, is a BJJ white belt and also a very nice guy.

Well my arm was extended, in that it was straight, but it wasn't extended past the normal range of motion, so I was still able to escape.

Colum is dead right I am a lean (well not so lean anymore), mean (well I'm quite nice actually), no stripe white belt!

rofl.. belt is just for holding your trousers up anyway, something I'm only getting my head around to be honest.. ;)

pray tell, where did ye get the MMA gear? Shop wise or was you buy it from your gym?

There is a thread on this very forum entitled VT gear where I give some suggestions for where to get MMA gear.

Mear: Are you going for Ring of Truth? I'd talk to John Kavanagh sharpish if you are!

Ring of Truth 2 - "The Truth Hurts" has been sold out since yesterday!

I imagine black market tickets are still available...

rofl ;)

heading to Spain in Jan for 6 months, so wont be doing any comps nor attending them ;( when i get back will try, love that new rookie option, great idea.

oh, and colm didnt mean call out fighters history etc, just the gym they trained with.
    but ur right, no point in wasting time you havent got to waste;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Kevin_rc_ie

Colm

just remarking to some guy that knows you from ur club that it was a bit weird u entering the ucd competition. i was saying it was a beginners type comp where people new to fighting could come have a go and get a resonable fight with out getting the head bet of them by some psycho. but how is it a beginners comp if some bjj or whatever instructor is fighting in it. cos i pity the sucker that had to fight you. or do i have my wires crossed and this didnt happen?

Kevin,

There's me (Colm) who coaches in Two Kings/UCD and then there's Colum, who I coach.

I didn't compete in Deadly Buzz as I was running it. I was meant to have a superfight for Ground Zero in Cork but my opponent pulled out a few days beforehand (it happens) so Mark - the promoter - said I could run in and compete. So I did.

As for the psycho comment I very rarely strike. My strengths lie in grappling.

Peace Out,
    Colm "Not to be confused with Colum" O'Reilly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭StephenInsane

Somebody got DQ'ed for punching to the jaw?? What kind of MMA event was this??

If i knew about it i would have certainly entered. although my key strength lies in my striking. I have been compared to BJ Penn by MMA experts.

Somebody got DQ'ed for punching to the jaw?? What kind of MMA event was this??

Amateur MMA, with no head strikes. See www.mmaleague.com for a full set of rules.

StephenInsane,

Who are you? Who have you trained with/where are you training?

Peace Out,
    Colm

I am a mostly self-trained BJJ enthusiast. I have had friendly sparring matches with experts in many of the arts and have an impressive record. I have tapped several judo and jiu-jitsu black belts in friendly freestyle sparring bouts. once sparred against a weight-lifting grecco-roman wrestler with had a large weight advantage on me who was visiting from America. he obviously secured the take-down, but I tapped him via triangle armbar from guard in less than 30 seconds. Altough I find it slightly unfair fighting judoists and wrestlers as they haven't any wide knowledge of subs.

I am yet to fight in any proper MMA. The BJ Penn comment was a joke!

I had a look over the rules and admit I'm quiet impressed. I've always been into the grappling aspect of MMA, but never been interested in the part that puts me at risk of getting punched, elbowed and kicked in the face! Most of the rules are very good, taking a lot of the risk outta it. A few I don't like though...

-No heel-hooking or any other technique that places a twisting motion on the ankle or knee joint.

yeah i know heel-hooking is very dangerous, but there goes one of my fav subs! Altough I know heel hooking is very rare anyway.

-No standing submission attempts

why? this I just plain don't understand.

No neck cranking attacks such as Can-opener, Crucifix etc

-Yeah these holds are dangerous as well, nothing worse than injuring ones spine. But there goes my guillotines!

Striking not permitted for fighters at different levels.

-I know this makes sense. But i hate the way the BBJ experts among us can just lie on their back and wait for their opponent to attempt to mount, and then just stick them in their guard, and tap them out.

I got that you weren't a young BJ Penn. :)
    -No standing submission attempts

This isn't phrased too precisely. You can go for a standing guillotine or jump on your opp's back and get a RNC. The rules forbidden any lock that attacks the shoulder/elbow as there is no way of controlling these, hence the increased probability of injury to the competitors. Make Sense?

Hey, are you in Dublin? Have you visited any of the SBG's? You're more than welcome to pop down and train with us if you'd like.

Colm

StephenInsane I am a mostly self-trained BJJ enthusiast.

---sounds like a bull sh@t enthusiast.
    You're more than welcome to pop down and train with us if you'd like. - colm

---sounds like a challenge.

LoL. I'm sure i'd probably tap that guy in sub grappling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

---sounds like a challenge.

Bambi wrote:

Colmoreily vs Stepheninsane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Also known as the Squishing Of StephenInsane(tm)

Kevin_rc_ie

It's not a challenge, just an invitation. If StephenInsane is interested in BJJ/Sub Wrestling and wants to train it, why would he view it as a challenge?

Just a note, John Kavanagh is self trained in BJJ, does anybody doubt his ability?

Peace and Love Y'All,
    Colm

Colm_OReily

same thing.

someone tell me who wins and how if they do rumble. rumble in the bjj jungle.

What does it matter who wins? We'll roll, enchange ideas, learn, and most importantly, have fun.

Peace Out,
    Colm

the most important thing is that there's lots of action and somebody loses a few teeth. also been televised is also an important thing. so can we get it on pay per view?

Hey here's an idea, why don't you pop down and train with me sometime? :)

Hi StephenInsane!
    Most of the rules are very good, taking a lot of the risk outta it. A few I don't like though...

No neck cranking attacks such as Can-opener, Crucifix etc

-Yeah these holds are dangerous as well, nothing worse than injuring ones spine. But there goes my guillotines!

Colm has already mentioned the standing submission part, but I'll just say that there are no problems with guillotines in the MMA league. They are allowed and are often used.
    Striking not permitted for fighters at different levels.

-I know this makes sense. But i hate the way the BBJ experts among us can just lie on their back and wait for their opponent to attempt to mount, and then just stick them in their guard, and tap them out.

Mark Leonard, Tom Haddock and Liam McCork ref the matches very well, and anyone who tries to "butt scoot" around just gets stood back up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭dabhal

Hey here's an idea, why don't you pop down and train with me sometime? :)

Now that is a challenge.
    Com'on Kevin what the reply? put up or shut up :p

Here's an open invitation to everyone on Boards.ie

You are all more than welcome to come to Two Kings, and we can discuss, spar and test any ideas that we want to put forth in an errorless, relaxed and fun environment. Afterwards I'll even buy you some chocolate!

Peace and Love Y'All,
    Colm "It's just martial arts after all" O'Reilly :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭dabhal

choclate!!! :eek:
    I'll have a Guinness :D and some peanuts :D

How could we fight with such a nice bloke :p

The man does love his chocolate.

StephenInsane:
    About standing submissions-

Look at Kazushi Sakuraba Vs. Renzo Gracie to see a very good reason not to allow standing joint locks!

well you have to pay by the month or something dont you. so unless you can make it down 2/3 times a weeks its a rip off. also it's too far away. thirdly, i'd get my arms ripped off and my head screwed off. but it sounds like fun thou.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭TwoKingMick

Dont let colm trick you into thinking hes a nice guys, hes abrasive, vulgar and difficult. But i'll be there as well, and i'm very nice, and i like hurting people a lot more than colm.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Here's an open invitation to everyone on Boards.ie

You are all more than welcome to come to Two Kings, and we can discuss, spar and test any ideas that we want to put forth in an errorless, relaxed and fun environment. Afterwards I'll even buy you some chocolate!

I go to Harold's Cross, we don't get chocolate..........

JK: Excellent for slick jiu-jitsu wizardry (Copyright Mark Leonard) poor for spontaneous chocolate buying! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

So i missed out on sweet jitz and even more sweet sweet chocolate?? ( mmmm chocolate *drrrooooool* ) bleh i curse employment :mad:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

columok wrote:
    JK: Excellent for slick jiu-jitsu wizardry (Copyright Mark Leonard) poor for spontaneous chocolate buying! :D

Hmm, there are many factors to be considered here indeed. It depends greatly on the type of chocolate, etc - its too risky. I'll stick with the slick jiu-jitsu wizardry.