Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Maynooth IV

• 16-11-2004 11:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭

I'll have the full details up by friday at the latest, but for now can each club send me rough numbers on how many people they want to bring, beginner and advanced

Also how did DCU get in contact with GMIT, they didn't give me contact details at the last IV, did Paul's work?

Also can i get the contact number of whoever transported the targets for ye?
    A email address for someone at DIT awell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭span

we"ll have 1 advanced and somewhere between 4 and 8 beginners I'll have a better idea after training tomorrow night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭trig

DIT email address: dit_archery AT campus DOT ie (You know what to do to make it useable.)
    And can everyone use that please cos Sinéad's been getting emails for the last two years even though she hasn't been running the club since 2001.

We should have 10 people going (fingers crossed). I expect only two of those will be beginner, the rest advanced. There's a possibility I might be able to get more beginners to go, but a few advanced always pull out so leave the numbers at 10.

I sorted out the transport of the butts to DCU. Its a friend of mine with a big ass van. PM me with when you want to move the butts (date + time, must be evening), from where (Lexlip club I presume but if you have the address it'd be great), and when they have to go back (date and time again). It'll cost a few quid I'd say so give me a max price and I'll get back to you asap with a quote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Reble_archer

one from cork only...ill b all alone again :(

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭halenger

Aryzel wrote:
    Also how did DCU get in contact with GMIT, they didn't give me contact details at the last IV, did ... work?

I would guess that's it alright. That's the only address I remember giving them for GMIT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Flux

Yes that email address did work.

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,840 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

Can I suggest munging email addresses? Apart from the ethics of posting a third party's email address here, leaving them intact for spambots is just bad form.

oscarBravo wrote:
    Can I suggest munging email addresses? Apart from the ethics of posting a third party's email address here, leaving them intact for spambots is just bad form.

Good point. I'll edit all the posts now. Gonna leave DIT's in tact but in a less spamtastic style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭toxof

trig wrote:
    PM me with when you want to move the butts (date + time, must be evening), from where (Lexlip club I presume but if you have the address it'd be great)

The butts are stored in Celbridge about 5min drive from Maynooth college. There are 10 superbuts there and there are 10 stands stored in leixlip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭Aryzel

Hey all,

Maynooth Intervarsity - Saturday 4th December - At Sports Center, NUIM.
    We're going to do the two groups system, we don't have enough room for all of ye at once.

Group 1: Maynooth, UCD, DCU, DIT (be in maynooth for 10am)
    Group 2: Carlow, GMIT, NUIG, UL, Athlone, Cork (be in maynooth for 12am)

Shooting will go:
    Group 1: 30 arrows
    Group 2: 30 arrows
    Group 1: 30 arrows
    Group 2: 30 arrows

Group 1, will need to be at maynooth around 10am. That shouldn't be a problem, 66 and 67A buses go from Westmoreland St. and Train will be going from Connolly station.

Group 2, will need to be at maynooth around 12am. For people from Galway, i know that the 9:30 bus is the first one that goes into maynooth which is much too late, but there is a 7.45 train that should get into heuston around 10:15. And ye can get the 66 or 67A buses from around the corner beside heuston station, i'll send ye a map showing where they stop when i get a chance. Athlone can get a bus to dublin and then train or bus to maynooth. Limerick, probably train to heuston and bus from there might work best.

Medals: Usual Team medals. Best Barebow. 1st, 2nd, 3rd in Advance. 1st, 2nd, 3rd in Beginner

Entry fee will be €7 per person. Also there will be €10 charge for each club (excluding athlone and cork), as contribution for the prizes for the new Awards system.

A person will recieve an award they first time they shoot scores of:
    400 on 60cm target (or 300 on 40cm target, if they skip the 60's)
    400 on the 40cm targets
    and 450 on the 40cm targets

Awards for people who have achieved these requirements in previous intervarsities will be given out at maynooth, after the main awards. Archers must claim past awards in person, or directly request a member of the club to recieve it for them.

I want each college to get me rough numbers of advanced and beginners they will be bringing by the end of next week, email/txt them to me: 087 645 2077
    Also i will be ringing the contact for each club the day or two before the competition for names and details of all archers that you will be bringing, in order to get the shooting list done beforehand, so make sure you have the details!!!

Conal, your email address doen't work, pm another one when you get a chance

Don't think he's checking this that regularly. I'll just PM your his mobile number.

hmm, made a miscalculation when i worked out how much i'm owed for the Award pins, its €16 for each club, but remember that covers the previous 3 years, this year and probably another 2 years after this one. €16 for 6 years is pretty good :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Turin

dermot, Just me again from athlone. Will def be there for 12 but if i make it for 10 could i shoot then?? will have to get back to athlone that night??

Conal.

ya, no problem i'll put you down for 10am then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭MicS

Aryzel, how long does it usually take to go from Dublin city centre to Maynooth by bus? Basically, I'm asking when do we have to go so that we come to NUIM at 10am :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭toxof

If you get the 8:30 bus from pearse street you will be in maynooth village at 9:10. Its then a 15min walk to the university.

Get off the bus in the village. Walk straight on. When you get to a junction turn right and follow the road around the building site. The sports hall is at the far left corner of the campus.

The next buss, 9:15 will be too late. There should be a couple from DIT on the 8:30 bus.

there is also a train from pearse at 9:15 that gets into maynooth at 9:57, that is sufficient, but don't waste time around the town when you get here.

The earlier people come the better though, peferential treatment will be given to early people......

Enjoy yourselves and good luck to all! ;)

Full results up in Results section on UCD website. www.ucd.ie/archery
    I'll update the Advanced archers section another day. For the Male and Female league tables, because your worst score won't count this year, i've changed the rankings to take this into account. it now goes on maximum remaining possible score for the year. this is what is used in professional bowling and works quite well there. it does make beginners who broke 400 seem better than they actually are, but that will dissipate as more results come in, this is the best system without using 3d time analysis plots or something.

Also i made a mistake in handing out the trophies, 3rd place Beginner was in fact Juet Ming from UL, i'll have another trophy made and will present it at the next intervarsity, sorry.

Congrats to all the clubs and DIT, some great scores were shot on the day, two new league records were shot, Noel Farrell (DIT) got 522 on the 40s and Niamh Bhreathnach (NUIG) now holds the Bare Bow record, shooting 473 Bare Bow!!

Also Mikhail equaled Paul Burkes record of 519 on the 40s, however you need to beat a record not equal it, so unfortunately Mikhail doesn't get onto the records, next time though.

Next shoot is in Carlow 5th Feburary, see ye then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Blind man

Heh i i's now a BB's muffin.

I'm just here ta say congrats ta dermot an vivky for holdin a good bash there on sat. it all went well an fair play to yis.

Also i have ta say that i was very impressed with the aul Trophies there, top notch stuff.

Oh and talkin of trophies cheers for smackin me one in the Keeshter there vicky. I don't know whether to use it as an insentive ta go for another trophy so i can lob ya one back or wheter or not i should be scared....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭trig

I think you should be scared to be honest. Vicky would kick your ass any day :D

I have to agree with Blind man though. Well done on the IV, everything went smoothly and it was a good auld day. Nice one to Dermot and Vicky, and everyone else in Maynooth for that matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭baggins

Yeah, nice one folks. All went swimmingly. Must nearly be a record time too. Sandwiches not as good as last year though (tut tut). I reckon Vicky should kick Muffin's ass.... Could be used as a fundraiser, I know I would pay to see that. Take it easy folks

-Baggins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 NUI Vixen

Hey guys
    Thanks for the confidence in me.Hey those sandwichs didn't take too long to make and anyway if they were that bad why did you continue to eat them?????????Tut tut..Sorry about that Muffin. a mere slip,i might have been jealous of the santa hat i don't know....on a internal level.Next time i might grab you ass :D

Oh yeah i could kick Muffins ass all right with very little effort.I'm just that good :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭baggins

Dont grab his ass!!! you'll never be able to get rid of him then!!

i'm thinkin i should be takin some sort of offense at that remark..... i ain't some sort of ass grabbin groupie.

an vicky already grabbed my ass at trainin one day on the line. i'm tellin ya we where this close ta havin a domino efect on our hands. she certainly grabs a hold of the meat i'l give her that. a good country woman ass grab.

and for the archery related topic. baggins did i just miss trainin or have we finished for the christmas already. heh you guy's might be in the pub.....

(simulated muffin leaving quickly noise here....)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Renegade_Archer

I heard of a tale of woe from Dublin Archers where an unfortunate shooter wore shorts to training - Maire yanked the poor guys leg hair when he was at full draw!!

she was probably just trying to get his attention. what was she meant ta do if he had no trouser leg to pull on. i mean she's got ta let people know she's down there some how.

he's lucky sineaid wasn't trying to get his attention she would have had the hot wax out in a flash.

i'm just itchin ta wear hot pants the next time i'm up there just ta taunt them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭mhairesa

Blind man wrote:
    she was probably just trying to get his attention. what was she meant ta do if he had no trouser leg to pull on. i mean she's got ta let people know she's down there some how.
    hahaha very funnyrolleyes.gif
    Blind man wrote:
    i'm just itchin ta wear hot pants the next time i'm up there just ta taunt them.
    please dont ever ever do that.. eek.gif i value my eyesight thanks very much!!(even if it isnt perfect)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭mhairesa

I heard of a tale of woe from Dublin Archers where an unfortunate shooter wore shorts to training - Maire yanked the poor guys leg hair when he was at full draw!!
    he was annoying me, what can i say... my methods worked tho, he stopped pretty quickly!!!:D im not all about the violence... there's also some sexual assault(if you're lucky!!);) muhahahahah:p