Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cinema Talkers

• 08-11-2004 12:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭

Warning Warning Rant ahead

bit of a rant but getting sick if it at the mo

The last 2 times I have been to the cinema i have had the delight of sitting beside/near a group of people who seem to think the cinema is a place where you go to talk about what you have been upto all week and not in a low voice i may add.

The way I see if the pub is the place to go if you want to have a chat the cinema is where you go to have some peace and enjoy a film.

Last week when i stood up to ask the group behind me to keep it down or leave the cinema the had a little moan and then left to which i gave a little chip and go the finger from one of them over it (how nice of him)

Last night I had a group of girls who had giggle fits whenever they got a fright in the film and with the film being "The Grudge" was for most of the film.

I know there is not much that can be done about these type of people but if you are going the cinema go to watch the film not have a chat

End of rant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

These people as known as social retards. Unfortunatly, they seems to be growing in numbers the country over...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

i totally agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,284 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

I wish people would learn to eat popcorn with their mouths closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭babyhack

just wish there was something we could do about these type of people its all well and good asking them to keep it down but most of the time they just get louder to piss you off more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭tck

i agree, nothing worse than people ruining your cinema experience..

you won't want to go to a cinema in the states then

THEY NEVER SHUT UP ;

hip dudes think it's their right to make everyone laugh during the film, now i know why guns are legal over there :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Renegade_Archer

Ive seen people who not only dont silence / turn off their mobile, but when it rings(cue fumbling and loud cursing trying to find the thing) they actually answer and PROCEED TO HAVE A FREAKIN CONVERSATION in the middle of the film.

Some people are indeed social retards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

I've taken to shusshing people. If they don't shush, i engage them in a "why the fúck won't you shut up" conversation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Well, at least soon we can claim victory over the phones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Complain to the management and explain why you won't be giving them any more business until they employ ushers/bouncers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Turn around, glare. If they don't stop, turn around, go "sshh!". If they don't stop, turn around say "do you mind? I'm trying to watch the film". If they don't stop then, tell the cinema-employees. Tell them if they don't kick them out or make them shut up you're going to scream bloody murder until you get a refund.

But yes, shush everyone. Shush them till they shut up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,958 ✭✭✭Chad ghostal

I propose the banning of (other) humans going to the cinema. .

Basicly ban anyone (who isnt me Or accompanied by me) from going the cinema, im
    sick of people irritating me!!

people have proved time and time again that they arent fit to be in my company.
    How dare they natter/eat/live in the same space as me ..

seriously, people should have to pass a self conciousness test, to make sure they are completly aware of the noise and irritance they are emitting, and anybody who then passes the test, but chooses to make trouble anyway, will be "Dealt with" ..

P.s. i make no apologies for my abuse of the english language

yep i knew about the mobile thing its about time
    now all we need is a rool of duck tape abd some old socks to stuff in the mouths of the talking cinema retards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

lol thats actually a good idea and for the people who put up a struggle a smelly sock!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Hmmm... I can't give out, too much, as I sometimes giggle (giggle for me = evil laugh to everyone else) sometimes during the film (big alien jumps out, and either guts the human, decapate it, or something gruesome).

Aside from that, I'd just stand up, and tell them to "shut the f*ck up". Only ever did that once. Cos I'm tall, they usually shut up.

Another annonying thing, that happens every so often, are scumbags lighting up in the cinema. First you see a bright spark, and then you smell the smoke. Luckily, the bouncer comes along, and reefs him/her out of the cinema.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Don't go to see films that are likely to attract morons the first few weeks they are out.

Go to the cinema at off peak times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Renegade_Archer

the_syco wrote:
    Another annonying thing, that happens every so often, are scumbags lighting up in the cinema. First you see a bright spark, and then you smell the smoke. Luckily, the bouncer comes along, and reefs him/her out of the cinema.

Was in the cinema in drogheda a few years back(the omniplex) and there was a bunch of scumbags up the back smoking.. there was around ten of them, the pimply faced teen employee kinda half-heartedly said "err, no smoking here" and ran off before they could slash-hook him.

In short, cinemas need bigger, meaner ushers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

Was in the cinema in drogheda a few years back(the omniplex) and there was a bunch of scumbags up the back smoking.. there was around ten of them, the pimply faced teen employee kinda half-heartedly said "err, no smoking here" and ran off before they could slash-hook him.

In short, cinemas need bigger, meaner ushers.
    The Ushernator!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Spalk0

If they dont shut up i just end up throwing popcorn or skittles at them(whatever i have with me at the time)

they annoy me and i'll bloody well make sure i annoy them more!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭frantic_mel

I dont mind when the people behind you have there feet up on your chair, but do they have to move it and kick in the seats every minute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

simu wrote:
    Go to the cinema at off peak times.
    good advice, off peak cinema is a much nicer experience

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

I'd post a gather card, but the humour value is considerably lowered if you have to click on a link to see it.

the thing about going the cinema at off peck times is a good idea but am in the office 9-5 so that rules that out

may just bring a big stick with me next time and poke them with it and if that does not work beat them over the head with it

i remember going to the cinema with my boyfriend, we saw Harry Potter, the 2 women behind us were the most talkative people we ever heard.
    One was gone to the bathroom, and when she came back she loudly said did i miss anything, the other lady said "nothing much" but yet continued to tell everything that had happened while she was away.

Then she roars out oh thats a warewolf,

ugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

Last night I had a group of girls who had giggle fits whenever they got a fright in the film and with the film being "The Grudge" was for most of the film.

Exactly the same, but on Friday. Grrr to groups of stupid teenage girls. My (scary, butch, female) friend threatened them though, and they shut up (for a while)..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Well I don't like ppl who talk and answer mobiles during a movie.... I mean why go to the cinema. In saying that I have a mate who is one of those ppl who get caught up in the "magic" and sometimes gives a running commentary on what she thinks will happen next. It doesn't bother me cos I'm her mate but I do appreciate she is prolly annoying the **** outta ppl near us so I tell her to be quiet which she does for 5 minutes and then off again.... She also speaks loudly when she does this :) But like in a horror or comedy I don't mind other ppl doing that or giggling etc cos it brings atmosphere to the place.. What I don't stand for is just plain loud conversation. Thats the height of ignorance IMO.

Has anyone been to the cinema and then start hearing lots of scummy kids in the back whistling loudly for minutes on end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Kids. In general. They piss me off.

Someone always brings their 2 year old (or baby) to a film that really isn't appropriate, the kid gets bored and wanders around and starts moaning.
    Or stupid little scumbags. They are there to cause trouble and make jokes and throw stuff at people. If I could, I'd smack them all in the heads and kick them out of the cinema (but I'd fear for my life if I did that).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭ven0m

My solution has ALWAYS been a warning & then a final one - after that, whatever I have to hand; popcorn or coke gets thrown over them whch will force them to leave the cinema.... I'm big enough & scary looking enough that NO ONE has ever retaliated cos when I stand up they damn near **** themselves..... actually - people very rarely retaliate if I kick off - bouncers too, they usually ask me to leave as they don't want things to get nasty - & I will oblige - but I point blank will not start **** for no reason - no way!

I have been applauded for it a few times, while others look shocked & one bloke gave me **** about how I over reacted until I turned around to him & asked him if he wanted to wear a popcorn box hat & go home with a soaking wet coke-filled crotch & a smack in the gob for his troubles. Needless to say several friends now refuse to go with me to the cinema as a result - but I could care less.... I pay good money like everyone else who goes to watch a movie, not to listen to some group of jackasses jaw-jacking ruining it for everyone else!

Ushers are supposed to take care of this & in the states when this happens, in most cinemas I've been in you get told once, & after a second telling - they eject you from the cinema........... typical bloody Ireland

Too many people in this country are frightened of telling people to knock something off cos usually it's some scrote who thinks cos he/she has an accent & a bunch of mates around them, he/she can intimidate others or do what he/she likes & spoil whatever it is for others - not when I'm around they won't..... if no-one else will do or say a damn thing, you bet your bollocks to a barndance I will...........

//END_RANT

::: ven0mous :::

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭cajun_tiger

i hate chatters! but more so the people who go shhhhhhh during the adds when your asking your mates to make sure their phones are off!!!!!!!

or the ppl who constantly need to pee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,945 ✭✭✭BEAT

ya know even though this thread has been done before I am glad because I just went to see the Grudge and on openingnight the whole theatre was talking, I imagine it was becuae of the neighborhood I was in and the stereotypical people in the theatre but man, I was angry through most of the film.

I actually got in a fight 2 years ago in a movie theatre, a guy hit me! mind you I am a girl and was with another girl , this great big guy (looked like mr.t) actually hit me in the head! We had a screaming match, the whole theater sat and watched us.
    If I had a gun with me I would have shot his hand off, I have never been so angry in my life. This ofcourse is why people should not have guns...well me anyway.
    The thing about it was I couldnt do anything, this guy was obviously a weight lifter and would have killed me if I tried to hit him back. I imagine he beats his girlfriend because she just sat there and didnt say or do anything.

I called the security guard but the guy got out of there before the guard got there, typical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭Cactus Col

Big time pain in the ass alright, I've pretty much given up on going to the cinema during the evenings, if there's something on I try and get to see it saturday / sunday mornings as early as possible ... (usually 10 - 10.30 screenings) ... because once 12 rolls around most screen fill up with shouty, phone talking, crap throwing monkeys.

Pisses me off no end.

Also .. if you can go week day afternoons ... beware wednesday afternoon .... half day for too many schools

ven0m wrote:
    My solution has ALWAYS been a warning & then a final one - after that, whatever I have to hand; popcorn or coke gets thrown over them whch will force them to leave the cinema.... I'm big enough & scary looking enough that NO ONE has ever retaliated cos when I stand up they damn near **** themselves..... actually - people very rarely retaliate if I kick off - bouncers too, they usually ask me to leave as they don't want things to get nasty - & I will oblige - but I point blank will not start **** for no reason - no way!

I have been applauded for it a few times, while others look shocked & one bloke gave me **** about how I over reacted until I turned around to him & asked him if he wanted to wear a popcorn box hat & go home with a soaking wet coke-filled crotch & a smack in the gob for his troubles. Needless to say several friends now refuse to go with me to the cinema as a result - but I could care less.... I pay good money like everyone else who goes to watch a movie, not to listen to some group of jackasses jaw-jacking ruining it for everyone else!

Ushers are supposed to take care of this & in the states when this happens, in most cinemas I've been in you get told once, & after a second telling - they eject you from the cinema........... typical bloody Ireland

Too many people in this country are frightened of telling people to knock something off cos usually it's some scrote who thinks cos he/she has an accent & a bunch of mates around them, he/she can intimidate others or do what he/she likes & spoil whatever it is for others - not when I'm around they won't..... if no-one else will do or say a damn thing, you bet your bollocks to a barndance I will...........

//END_RANT

Hey Venomous,

We need someone like you down in limerick lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭axer

"the grudge" is a **** movie anyways so you wouldnt miss anything if ppl talk during it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭damien

Went to see "A Home at the End of the World". 3 norries started talking all the way through it in the row behind me. I held my patience long enough and let rip. Turned around and told him shut his fcking gob or I'd shut it for him. He was ringing people and having chats.

He refused so I got up, made everyone in my row stand to let me out and went up to him. He still refused to shut up so I told him to leave. Himself and his friends wouldn't. I got security. The security guy was hesitant to remove them so I showed him my disapproval. Told him he had no choice.

I went back and he followed and kicked them out. I sat down and the guy behind me said "thank you".

This is the 2nd time I've told people shut up. It's my cinema going experience they're ruining and I sure as hell won't allow that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭Cactus Col

Hope you got a refund too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭neoB

Sometimes its funny sometimes it isn't. A couple of kids were making noise during a movie Willard. I couldn't focus on what was going on, and no one was around after I looked for an usher. I went up and said to them please be quiet or else :D lol. that was the last I heard of it. But the "passing wind" and burping and pointing lasers and such.. is just dumb. Whatever the reason they do it is stupid, really I didnt' go to hear them but the movie. Tards tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

ven0m wrote:

//END_RANT

dya wanna come to the cinema with me. in a purely plutonical way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

went to see coffee and cigarettes this afternoon.... a guy in the row in front of me had the nerve to take out his phone to light up the cinema timetable to see what else was on.. this was during the bloody film!!!!

talk about having a bloody brass neck... i was blinded and could hardly see the movie... i asked him to stop and he was like 'oh sorry' and ****... shouldnt have been doing it in the first place...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I propose the banning of (other) humans going to the cinema. .
    I agree with your views and wish to subscribe to your newslettter.
    BAN THEM ALL.
    The cinema is enough of a rip off without having it ruined by a bunch of muppets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Nasty_Girl

The most annoying thing is stupid ignorant kids... but I suppose that's my fault for goin to see kiddie flicks! No seriously took my lil sis to finding Nemo last year, there were a bunch 10-11 year old girls behind us messin with phones, reading out texts from "boyfriends" throwing popcorn on the floor, then a few went out, pushing past the others and diggin us in the back of the heads! They came back in then with more popcorn... which they threw all off on the ground. Stupid kids with too much money!
    Then at another flick this stupid little cow was kicking my sister's seat so I turned around and gave her mother a filthy dirty look! Jesus when I was a kid if I was up to no good I'd be removed from the cinema!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Lisapeep

If you go to kids films then you have to expect a certain level of noise! Let the kids have fun to a certain extent without giving out to them - they cant concentrate and stay quiet for as long as adults can and they're also more prone to laugh and shout things out loud during the film. Obviously it's not good if kids are over-the-top noisy but nobody likes fun-ruining scolder!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭Aava

On a distantly related note, has anyone seen the movie Bad Santa?

Parents seem to think this is a kids' movie and when I went to see it there were alot of young kids there even toddlers. It's rated 15PG!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Lisapeep

It was on the main news this evening. They were warning parents not to bring their kids to it because it's not suitable at all! I mean what do parents think will be in a 15s film?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭stagolee

went to see "the ring" when it came out a while back i think it was 18's , fairly gruesome movie in parts. id say at least 85% of the people in the cinema were less than 15 a lot of them couldnt have been much over 10 and they were seriously wound up shouting running around etc. normaly im the type to tell folk to "shut the f*ck up or ill batter ye" if they annoy me enough but this was an entire cinema full of kids. about 20 mins into the film i realized that myself and my friend might as well be sitting in a playground for the money we paid so i just dozed off and caught an hours kip which i can do at will most of the time anyway