Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

looking for a lennon

• 04-11-2004 11:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 37

i'm a dublin fella (19), based on the northside and studying in trinity looking for someone to form songwriting partnership with a view to evetually forming some sort of band.
    i' play the guitar to a basic degree but really want to start getting serious(not the most enticing advertisement , i know)
    i would be willing to work hard with whoever intends to do the same but basically i believe you can only have a good song writing partnership if you like and respect the person-basically be mates-its hard to find someone who you actually have much in common with who plays an instrument and ive had enough of the self important prick who reckons because he has a trendy haircut and wears deckshoes that he is a rock and roll star(too many of those in trinity)
    it would be an advantage if you could play an instrument(obviously )but not essential, as long as we basically get on and have basically the same taste.
    i'm into every type of music and hate music snobbery, but would be interested in forming a pop/rock, indie,raw,alt o;d style rock and roll band-influences from beach boys stones,velvet underground beatles kinks damien rice ed harcourt frames strokes killers coldplay brendan benson thrills
    idlewild embrace-i

im no amazing guitar player but basically if we 're on the right road it wnt matter much, so if u've been playing for yrs and just want some fella to add another guitar to your guitar/piano sound or if u want me to take the driving seat and jus mess about to see if we got anything reply-i'll be willing to work hard and give it a go (if i like you!)

well thats me trying to sell myself-not too good ,i know, but hey--

oh at the moment i write kinda acoustic based folksy/pop/damo rice type songs but thats propbably to withme being only one person-its hard to write a rock song by yourself!
    every1 welcome, honestly,fellas ,girls, teenagers older ppl and if you could play the piano or anything that would be great-cheers hope to hear frm you and y not give it a go,even if u think u cant sing or play anything,u probably can and your never goiing to play slane unless u start somewhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

You sound pretty sure of yourself, I'm impressed...

I'm a singer, been in two bands (but never gigged wit either of them) and I'm lookin for another shot. Can't play an instrument unfortunately, but I'd be into writin some songs. My musical interest is pretty much across the board, so I wouldn't have any particular preference really on that side of things.
    I'm also 19, north side (actually just across the river from templebar) and I study in UCD, so meetin up wouldn't be a problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭I am MAN

Im well interested too, I've sent you a pm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Waltons

I take it that you won't be practising with us any more then Seb. Nice of you to let us know about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭I am MAN

Jerry !!!

Jerry!!!

Jerry!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,998 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Ooh Details Please!

Well, we'd have an inkling that it wasn't totally working out until a certain member just didn't turn up for practise one night, without mention. Texts and pms later, no reply. Another practise passed.
    And then we find him here looking for a band.
    I wouldn't have cared if we'd been told, even through a text :rolleyes:

Some people are just assholes.

I wouldn't go that far now...
    Maybe later ¬_¬

That's just B*LL*CKS Waltons...

I saw, on this very website, yourself and Nidge advertising for another lead singer, and you never even had the guts to f*cking tell me to my face that I was out.

Oh, and that's rubbish about "..texts and pm's later" - you never, repeat, NEVER, sent me any. And I texted Nidge that I wouldn't be at practice on that thursday, so that was his problem, not mine.

Just BIZARRE twisting of the truth on your part.

F*cking Bizarre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Nidge

That was the exact problem, i sent a text message on the wednesday and i never did receive this text message.

After a week or so of zero contact i had presumed that you infact were the one who no longer wanted to be in the band. We also thought that you were the one who wished to part ways without saying anything, so really it has been a great misunderstanding, cos i didn't receive this text message. I had been wondering what was going on.

About the no guts thing before we auditioned you we met up with our previous singer to say it to his face, that he was no longer in the band.

SebtheBum wrote:
    That's just B*LL*CKS Waltons...

I saw, on this very website, yourself and Nidge advertising for another lead singer, and you never even had the guts to f*cking tell me to my face that I was out.

Oh, and that's rubbish about "..texts and pm's later" - you never, repeat, NEVER, sent me any. And I texted Nidge that I wouldn't be at practice on that thursday, so that was his problem, not mine.

Just BIZARRE twisting of the truth on your part.

F*cking Bizarre.
    Whether or not the texts were received or sent about thursday, you still didn't show up on sunday when you KNEW we had practise, and you failed to tell us before OR after sunday.
    It was never our express wish to have you out, but after a week of total non communication, and no mention of not being able to talk to us, we just assumed you weren't interested any more.

If you did send a message about thursday, then I'm sorry for any misunderstanding about that, but surely you can see why I'm pissed off?

Ah cr*p, if only I had a bill-phone and didn't run out of feckin credit all the time... Still, I didn't look at any ads for singers until I saw yours. (And boy, when I saw that ad it was some shock)

Although it was a good one to tell my mates when I was drinkin wit them later on:

Me: Got kicked out of my band
    Mate #1: What? Why?
    Me: Dunno.
    Mate#2: Well, what reason did they give when they told you?
    Me: Eh... they didn't tell me. I saw an ad for singer... Their ad.
    Mate#1: Ah.
    Mate#2: Yeah, that's pretty conclusive.
    Me: Cheers.

:rolleyes: ;)

Ok lads, calm down, calm down!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 RogueVox

Well, I'm looking for that kind of thing [although I'm looking for an Edge/Bono thing more than a john/paul thing].

I'm looking at a few bands at the minute, but I kinda reckon that everyone will feel it when it's right.

PM me if you're still interested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 biblo

I play guitar, drums, bass and violin. I'm also incredibly good looking so i would make an excellent lead singer. To rival Lennon himself. I have a really big penis so I could work in a stage trick where I whip it out at every gig or something. PM me!

SebtheBum wrote:
    Ah cr*p, if only I had a bill-phone and didn't run out of feckin credit all the time... Still, I didn't look at any ads for singers until I saw yours. (And boy, when I saw that ad it was some shock)

Although it was a good one to tell my mates when I was drinkin wit them later on:

Me: Got kicked out of my band
    Mate #1: What? Why?
    Me: Dunno.
    Mate#2: Well, what reason did they give when they told you?
    Me: Eh... they didn't tell me. I saw an ad for singer... Their ad.
    Mate#1: Ah.
    Mate#2: Yeah, that's pretty conclusive.
    Me: Cheers.

:rolleyes: ;)
    It really sucks that it was all just misunderstanding, but it looks like it wasn't meant to be if everyone's getting pissed off over something this small.
    We should really stop hijacking this poor lad's thread too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 biblo

Schmaltons wrote:
    We should really stop hijacking this poor lad's thread too.

I don't care what you say, I still have a big penis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Phil_321

biblo wrote:
    I don't care what you say, I still have a big penis.

Pity it's attached to your head.