Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice on Edinburgh

• 03-11-2004 10:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭

Hey myself and a mate are heading over to Edinburgh for two days next week, go wednesday back friday night.

Anyone any pointers on a) things to do, and b) decent places to go out too. -studenty places/clubs/anything fun.

Any general advice appreciated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭Jivin Turkey

How old are yous? If you are under 21 (and possibly under 25 and still like a fresh faced student) you will have a ball.

I was there with my girlfriend a year ago. We had a ball, places we went were "The Tron", big student bar, decent food, buy a yellow card (essentially a loyalty card that will by far outweigh in benefits the £1 you pay for it with loads of promos with it).

There is a Frankenstein bar or something which is horror themed, and was a laugh.

The Vodka Bar, I think it was called, it has over 50 types of vodka to drink, including all the usuals, turkish delight flavour and red herring flavour :eek: :eek: It was close to the Frankenstein bar I think.

We went to some cheesey club called Gaia (again I think), was a grand place with cheap drink all night. If you are going with your mate you would probably enjoy it more ;)

During the week is better for going out because all the students are on the lash.

All in all its a great place. Go see the Castle too, its a great tour. Its really small too so anywhere is accessible by a short walk or taxi ride if your not sure where you are going! We went to loads of other great bars too that I cant remember, you will be spoiled for choice! And wont spend too much even if you try!