Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who's for scuba?

• 02-11-2004 8:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,468 ✭✭✭

We haven't been out for a while folks lets go diving.

Where: Scuba Dive West - I think SDW is best as daveg might be able to come up for a couple of dives seeing as he's local. Dave has a young child and can't always get away for a weekend. Norwegian Lunatic Jan also lives in Galway.

When: Before Christmas (exact date to be decided)

Why: Cause we can. We've a few new members too so it would be nice to meet them. We've even one old member who re-registered with a new nick (As if we wouldn't notice ;) ).

Discuss ...

Who's for scuba?! 9 votes

Yes, love to
    0% 0 votes
    No, I'm a boring git
    88% 8 votes
    Atari Jaguar
    0% 0 votes
    I'm not sure I could risk seeing Phil nekid in the shower again?
    11% 1 vote
    I'm Scandinavian
    0% 0 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭bigfeller

I'll be there anyway for the first weekend in December so if ye are meeting up I'll pop along for a pint...or 3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Scubachick

Oooooh, can I come too?? :D

(I'm qualified, recently dived and have all my own gear) I work in Galway, so SDW wouldn't be all that far. I haven't dive it yet either. You thinking of heading out on a weekend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭donny

assuming I'm around... count me in too but no idea of availability until closer to the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,468 ✭✭✭Evil Phil

Yeah Scubachick, it will be a weekend. And of course you can come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

Atari Jaguar for me sir!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Borzoi

Depending on when, I could well be in

might finish of my advanced open water too

4th and 5th of December?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

will there be more of this lark happening next year?
    i haven't qualified with my club yet, and i dont want to burden yis with my inexperience, but i'd love to go out sometime when ive finished training and gotten some gear of my own sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭Miss Polaris

Evil Phil wrote:
    Why: Cause we can. We've a few new members too so it would be nice to meet them. We've even one old member who re-registered with a new nick (As if we wouldn't notice ;) )...

Disgraceful behaviour that, couldnt condone it myself.

As for diving that s a different matter....

Seraphina wrote:
    will there be more of this lark happening next year?
    i haven't qualified with my club yet, and i dont want to burden yis with my inexperience, but i'd love to go out sometime when ive finished training and gotten some gear of my own sorted.

Your with UCD diving club if memory serves. You could always ring SDW and see what options are available to you; at worst you could do Discover Scuba and get a couple of dives. I'll probably do the Navigation speciality course. But if you can't make it this time then we will be going again next year.
    As for diving that s a different matter....

Cool, we'll see you in Galway then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

ive already done discover scuba, did it on holidays :)
    prob a bit cold for me anyway, ive only dived in malta and done training in the pool so far, december doesn't sound like a nice month for diving :)

So how does this work then Evil Phil? Do we just arrange our own dives/ accommodation with SDW ourselves, or will you do it for all of us?

Scubachick wrote:
    So how does this work then Evil Phil? Do we just arrange our own dives/ accommodation with SDW ourselves, or will you do it for all of us?

We better check out that they are diving in decmeber. Last year they had boats out of the water.

Accomodation is reasonable at the Bard's Den.. its a pub with a B&B attached. Handy for getting lashed out of it. The pub also does up a good dinner if you let them know before hand.

Evil_Phil mainly takes care of the female dressing room inspection.

Well lads, sounds like it will be a great weekend - diving, drinking, lots of men clad in rubber AND female dressing rooms! Oh what luxery. Next you'll be telling me there will be hot showers. So, who is going to carry my gear to/ from the boat???!!! :p

The showers in Scuba Dive West are always hot when I'm there. Generally we organise our own accomadation etc. its just easier that way. I suppose December isn't the best time of year to go diving but we can only try our best and hope the weather doesn't cráp out on us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

Evil Phil wrote:
    Dave has a young child and can't always get away for a weekend.

Thanks Phil (If you were being sincere)
    Fúck you Phil (If you were being sarcastic).

I've a few stuff on in December (Company Xmas party and a wedding) but I'll do my best to attend. Even if it's only for a days diving.

I'll choose option A: Being sincere. Your welcome :D

I've loads on in December as well so the 5th and 6th are the only dates I can make it.

*bump*

Well it seems myself and Borzoi are up for it. Anyone else? Scubachick/Peace/MickL/donny I'm looking at you ...

beginning to think that weekend won't actually suit me :(
    I've a couple of things going on so doubt I'll be able to make it....

I'll wait and see closer to the time though.

I'm a 'go'..

Right, me, Kev and Don. I'm phoning SDW on Saturday, who else is coming?

Am I Don or is that someone else? Don't think I can make it that weekend after all :(

Sorry, Don is Borzoi.

Are you booking for all of us or are we all rining seperately?

<edit>Why do we have 8 votes for yes i'd love to and then only 3 people actually going!</edit>

Err, well I voted yes but I'll be there with the club, diving in SDW. So no doubt I'll see ye on the dive taxi.

I'll book for the three of us, better ask Borzoi if thats okay with him first. I'll let you know tomorrow. Bigfeller, we'll see you there.

Why did 8 vote for yes and only 3 go (besides bigfeller)? Thats the way it works. Try to organise a group of more than 3 people to do anything you'll realise this. Anyway, I reckon they're really scared cos its in December ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Borzoi

Evil Phil wrote:
    Sorry, Don is Borzoi.

And vice versa I suppose :D

Yep all good.

Got Madsl's old computer yesterday, and new BCD and fins arrived today

All very good :D:D

bigfeller wrote:
    So no doubt I'll see ye on the dive taxi.

The dive taxi in December.... oh dear god.

Phil, only morning dives for me. Afternoons i'll be lazing by the pool-side.*

*The existance of a pool is unconfirmed so it could simply be lazing

Was there last weekend and all was fairly quiet.

For pool quality lazing try from outside SDW (pool may not be heated)

I'll probably just do a refresh of the dry suit course. Its been 8 or 9 months since I dived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

Guy's I'm in Dublin Friday/Sat. I'm gonna end up having to do a refresher next time I dive as it'll be a year. I'll catch you all on the next one..

I'm actually in Belfast that weekend :( I'll have to make the next one too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭NordicDiver

Damn, just when it sems like I will be in Ireland that weekend you guys pull out :eek:

Peace, you up for something else..Donegal wrecks?

A serious bagful here lads.
    Peace, you up for something else..Donegal wrecks?

Indeed i am up for a bit of that action buddy. Laurentic i should say.

Hmmm could possibly be tempted along to this myself assuming I can plug all the holes in my drysuit this week. Will have to see if my mates will ever talk to me again if I go diving that weekend...

Its just a matter of find a calm weekend. Soon as one comes along i'll be all over that wreck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭Miss Polaris

Peace wrote:
    Its just a matter of find a calm weekend. Soon as one comes along i'll be all over that wreck.

Keep watching Theyr www.theyr.net it is excellent for forecasting, it has been extreemly accurate for wind speed/direction

I have a funeral in the midlands this weekend, so I will miss ye at SDW.

Happiness and wetness!

Scubachick