Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drug use/abuse.

• 27-10-2004 11:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hello, i'm a 17 year old from a broken family with fairly fecked up emotions.

Well, I had alot of good friends that I really liked, but due to family problems I drifted back to more local friends who abuse drugs regularly. I don't like alot of these people, I actually can't stand alot of em.

I started smoking cannabis fairly heavily about half way trough 5th year with one of my best mates at the time, it was good craic but slowly got worse and started having negative effects on my life/mental health. We smoked alot of it on a daily basis.

A while after all that I started doing ecstacy quite a bit, I really enjoyed this at first and liked the music quite a bit. Then I started doing cocaine and speed etc. More recently magic mushrooms.

By this stage I have a drug problem and i'm doing just about anything that you can get a buzz off, most of my long term friends have started doing different things that don't feck you up. I'm caught in trap, I want to stop taking drugs, but it really isn't as easy it sounds. When I say "right, that's it, i'm not taking drugs anymore" something will really piss me off or i'll get really bored because i've nothing else to do and i'll say "right, feck it, lets get some coke"

I've really no life anymore and I don't know what to do. I have quite a few other problems that don't help my drug use. Is this only a phase most poeple go trough or is it a real problem? I would never touch heroin but cocaine is just as bad as it, so this could be the start of an addiction. This really isn't as easy as it seems to just stop, so I would really appreciate any advice/feedback. Thank you in advance.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

druggy wrote:
    I've really no life anymore and I don't know what to do. I have quite a few other problems that don't help my drug use. Is this only a phase most poeple go trough or is it a real problem?

it's a phase if you can stop
    it's a problem if you can't..

I would never touch heroin but cocaine is just as bad as it, so this could be the start of an addiction

first off
    decide to never take coke again, that's the road to no where and you sound likeyou are well and truly on it if you keep this up.
    second step is to get in touch with a professional to help you sort out the rest of your life.
    I would suggest you cut all ties with the people who do drugs, while you stay in that circle you will never quit.
    Do you still see your other friends who are moving on with their lives? get in touch with them, go out with them if you can, see that there is another way to live besides just the drugs. You are young and smart enough to sort yourself out if you wish, it's all about how much you want to. But please, see your doctor and get him to refer you to some professional help asap.
    good luck
    a

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

There's a few contributing factors to the problem. Obviously your family environment is poor and can offer you little in the way of support. You need to get out of the environment that you are currently in (physical and emotional environment). As beruthiel said, re-establish bonds with your other friends, as they might be able to offer you support, and if nothing else alleviate your boredom, so that might take that scenrio away. Set yourself some goals, not just in regards to stopping the drug taking, but other positive life steps. Without knowing your personal circumstances, these goals could range from getting a job, taking a course, travelling etc etc. If your life starts to take a better overall shape, getting out of the habit should be easier.
    You sound lucid and intelligent, mostly it will be down to your desire to stop, you have to beleive you can do it, firstly, then you have to want to do it, then all you can do is try to make it as easy for yourself as possible.
    Good luck,
    RE*AC*TOR

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭I am MAN

Was in the same position myself but I ended up with a shrink and medication so ya should start thinking about stopping now..if not stopping limit touching stuff to festivals instead of pointless weekend or the likes, If you're on the "I cant go out to a club and have a good time drinking without them" mood that will pass. Start looking for a girlfriend I find having a girlfriend really calms me down and gets me back on the straight and narrow.

I know lots of people that do the same I wouldnt say you're becoming an addict but you will end up with heavy depression and some sort of anxiety disorder if you dont stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

The hardest part os solving any problem is admitting you have one. You've made that first step so well done. Cocain is not physically addictive {it is mentally addictive} so coming off it is not as harrowing as coming off something like Heroine. You have realised that you need to stop before the problem spirals out of control.

Financing a coke habit is a very daunting prospect as some users tend to need to take more and more to get the same buzz and a lot of users end up dealing to finance their habit. You do not want to go down that road and end up with all the obvious problems that can bring.

Break away from the crowd you are mixing with, you say you do not like them anyway so that should be easy enough. Try get professional help for you other problems but most of all stay away from the drugs. Short term you may think they help but in the long term they will only add further problems on top of the ones you already have. Unfortunatly there is no quick fix for problems like this but you are not alone ,plenty of people care and will help so there is light at the end of the tunnel.

Good Luck

Tom

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

taking pills and coke and speed?
    they aren't phsiclly addictie
    sure coke is a fashion statment these over days, coke here is pants(and I've gotten my hands on some good stuff)
    its over priced & overrated.
    speed, what you waising your money on that lol, go sniff some sugar
    pills, they aren't good these days, but yea can still get a kick out of them
    mushies, now were talkin fun, but if you want to get an

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

I'm glad you stopped there Lenny.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

haha, someone came into work
    But I'll try finished a little bit more
    You ahve been giving millions of braincells, only a fraction of them are used,
    your only 17, and you think youhave a drug problem? most people around that age are just tampering, sure i did my first pill when i was 14 and I think that was a bit young but you're just starting a bit late and have more sense and are relising what you're taking because you're more mature than when other people start

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

Cold turkey doesn't sound like fun, maybe check out some of the shamanastic websites, www.iamshaman.com and check out some of the legal high's they have on offer there? Some relaxing (non addictive) herbs, to be smoked or taken in teas.. etc etc, they might take the edge off your other drug habits until such time as you have your life sorted out.

Maybe try a few new hobbies, start playing some sports.. don't let yourself be idle long enough to consider doing any of the drugs. If you don't like the people you're hanging around with, don't hang around with them..that sure as sod ain't helping things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

If you're close to either your mother or father or any other adult you trust, try telling them what you've just told us in this thread. They'll be able to help you through it and whatever you think, any parent when told "look, Ma, I've been taking drugs for a while now. I know it was stupid but I want to get them out of my life and I need your help" will help you out.

I'm no parent myself but I'd have enough faith in any I do know not to freak out in a situation like this. I'm sure Beruthiel and any of the other parents on here would back me up here. They're your parents, they'll want to help you and if you approach them in this manner I can't for the life of me imagine them doing anything but helping...

Sleepy wrote:
    I'm sure Beruthiel and any of the other parents on here would back me up here. They're your parents, they'll want to help you ...

couldn't agree more
    I'd much rather being in the 'know' and helping out then to not be trusted by my own kid enough to be told what's going on in their lives.
    However
    I'd have to wonder how they haven't noticed that something is going on....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭D!ve^Bomb!

Lenny wrote:
    haha, someone came into work
    But I'll try finished a little bit more
    You ahve been giving millions of braincells, only a fraction of them are used,
    your only 17, and you think youhave a drug problem? most people around that age are just tampering, sure i did my first pill when i was 14 and I think that was a bit young but you're just starting a bit late and have more sense and are relising what you're taking because you're more mature than when other people start

you really are a scumbag.. :rolleyes:

do ya wanna know why Tallaght is a ''**** hole of an area''.... its because of, oh yes, let me see...........................SCUMBAGS

newband
    read the charter
    consider this a warning...
    B

my opinion stands, and its damn right aswell!!

lenny's post wasn't exactly on topic either ya know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

newband wrote:

You sure know how to dig. Lenny's post WAS on the topic, the topic being drug use. I understand you don't agree with his point of view, but try keep it civil.

*edit* back on topic, I think the parent issue is more or less non-existant, judging from the "broken home" comment. Perhaps we could get clarification if the orignal poster could reply?

i was civil, i called him what he calls himself, he shouldn't take offence if its true.. it was on the topic of drugs but is wasn't exactly helpfull in anyway... the impression i got from his post is that he doesn't believe he has a drug problem because he's ''only 17''....

ffs :rolleyes:

consider this your last warning newband
    if you have any more problems, take it to PM

now
    back on topic please
    B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭Optikus

Maybe you should try and get away from your current friends and back to your old ones, or get some that are more forgiving if you decide not to do drugs. It will certainly make life alot easier if your hanging araound with decent people. If your having alot of problems at home which is having the knock on effect with the drugs, then try and get away for awhile. Maybe get your own place or stay with another less troubled family member or a Decent friend. Try and work on your own personality and not one that invovles drugs, you are at a crucial time in your life and the wrong choice now could determine a long time going down the wrong path and all things that are associetiated with that path. If it helps go and see a counseller but the main thing for you if you want to stop is to keep away from those that influence you most into taking drugs. I know it is hard as my early days of drug abuse was among other mainly down to peer pressure, but its up to you to make the descision. Its obvious by your post that you want to stop and help your self, but as the old saying gose actions speak louders than words.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭the Guru

newband wrote:

I think TS was trying to say that the guy knows exactly what hes doing which is true at 17 so its up to himself to get off coke "E" what ever ,take up sports get a girlfriend ..... but most important is stay away from the people taking gear.

also how the fook does a 17 year old afford coke ?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

RE*AC*TOR wrote:
    You sure know how to dig. Lenny's post WAS on the topic, the topic being drug use. I understand you don't agree with his point of view, but try keep it civil.

*edit* back on topic, I think the parent issue is more or less non-existant, judging from the "broken home" comment. Perhaps we could get clarification if the orignal poster could reply?
    To be fair, these days who doesn't come from a broken home?

I know I do, but I still have a good relationship with my mother.

Ok, I can see why newband is calling me a scumbag or what.. because I love taking drugs and having a great weekend?
    A scumbag could be perhaps someone who is in pats atm for robbing a grannys handback and battering a senior citizen.
    I think my post was trying to say what my opnion on the drugs are, and that I think it is just a phase he is going through,
    sure I'm 20 and I still do every drug under the earth.
    i always say "its my last time" but I know its not, I just say that as a way to make myself feel good or that I am actualy getting somewere or geting something done.
    Sure i've seen my mates little 13 year old mates that do come in when we're in his gaff scabbing a few lines of line, its kind of like our alchol culture here.
    The best advice I can give is just snap out of bad habbits, such as going to bed early. getting to know new mates(going out with mates from work/school for a change) it will slowly bring you away from your current mates and after time you will find yourself less intrested in drugs because of new intrest
    just my 2cents,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭JB123

Yeah id say cut the hard stuff 4 at least 6 months works wonders.Every body makes a pig of themselves when they first disover pills powders etc.The best way with them is once of twice a year as a treat.Dont worry about the smoke until u off the hard stuff 4 a month or 2.Then stop smoking and turn into a piss head 4 a while.U need to stay away from your powder/pill mates 4 a while. Dont worry 2 much about it all u still young.Im 30 now and back in the day i was into all the stuff yeah it wrecked my head lol i had my own set of probs i was trying to get away from.Dont realy bother with the hard stuff now i use VTEC 4 stress relief.Still love to smoke mostly when gaming on the web lol.
    PS I smoke and do the very odd pill and have GF nice house nice car etc call me a scum bag go on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭manufan

Having had a drug problem in my late teens/early 20's i know how easy it is to get sucked into the scene especially when u come from a broken home.

If u don't stop taking coke etc. you may develop severe mental problems like paranioa/psychosis. I'm now 27 and have had all sorts of mental problems due to heavy amphetamine use. I went from being a relatively happy outgoing person to a virtual hermit due to drug abuse.

If u get in deep, it could be a long road back to normality. Knock it on the head NOW. No matter what difficulties u are having at home or with friends etc. its nothing compared to the misery you'll feel if u develop a bad drug habit.

Its hard to go without taking any drugs especially when u are feeling down in the dumps and have so much stuff going on in your head but i've had friends who continued to abuse drugs and unfortunately 1 of my former friends died of a drug overdose last year. Other former friends are a shadow of what they used to be.

If u feel that your drug abuse could become a major problem contact narcotics anonymous. You'll get the support u need to quit drugs and move forward in a more positive frame of mind. You'll most probably make good friends unlike the people u are hanging around with at the moment.

Lenny, Personally, i don't think your a scumbag. Just naieve and unfortunately when you are 19, 20, 21 etc. you don't see the bigger picture. If we all had the head of a 30 year old when we were 20 there would be very few drug addicts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Thanks for all the advice people, yes, I do come from a 'severely' broken home. I just need other people to verify what I taught myself, I need to set goals for myself. Mainly getting someone who actually cares about me so I can have a reason not to do stupid things. I'm going to take this one step at a time, no hard stuff for 2 months and then i'm not gonna smoke any more hash, that seems like a realistic approach.

I have already messed my head up, I had a panick/anxiety attack tonight. I'm really looking forward to getting a job and new friends and my life back on track.

Once again, thanks for the advice!

Druggy wrote:
    I'm going to take this one step at a time, no hard stuff for 2 months and then i'm not gonna smoke any more hash, that seems like a realistic approach

yes it does

I have already messed my head up, I had a panick/anxiety attack tonight. I'm really looking forward to getting a job and new friends and my life back on track

good lad
    you sound like you have started to straighten your head out, best of luck with it
    any more problems, you know where we are
    a