Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ultrasound Downtown

• 26-10-2004 10:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭

This is a long shot question as boards.ie is full of lovely young health people.

I have found something that shouldnt be there on one of my testicles and I have to go for an ultrasound to see if I may have the big C (hopefully not!) I know there was a post somewhere on boards about this but I cant seem to find it at the mo.

Anyway the scan is on Thursday and I am just wondering if anybody else has had one and what to expect (a long shot I know)

I am maintaining a positive attitude about it and hoping that it is just something less serious, second question: considering the scan is on Thursday I dont plan on telling herself until after the scan as not to worry the crap out of her, good idea or bad?

Any input appreciated.
    Cheers Nuttzz (the irony eh?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Had a couple of ultrasounds over the years (obviously not in the same area as yourself :D) and they're nothing to be too concerned about. They're painless and pretty much the only discomfort you may feel is the coldness from the gel stuff they put on before they do the test.

Hope all goes well for you Nuttzz and it's nothing too serious. Glad to see you're going to get it checked out though, a lot of guys could do with taking a leaf out of your book!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭Optikus

I have something similar i've been worried about for a while but havent gotten round to going to the doctor, kinda embarrased... can i just ask a few questions.. is it stuck to one of your balls or is it on the scrotem.. and roughly how big is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,336 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

Ye don't tell her unless she needs to; you don't want her worrying for no reason :confused: Is it painful when handled - is it an obvious pain or do you notice it only when you check up on it and like Optikus already asked where exactly is it. I ask because of the same reasons Optikus stated: I don't want to have to go to the Doc for no reason and I have no growth but I would still be interested in experiences as to the tell-tale signs in case I ever get something like this. Do you know the cause because I can't see how it can be smoke? ( you smoke your ciggies using your ass? ) Well best of luck Thurs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Healio

I am also in the same boat as you guys, but i havent got around to the doctor because if it is the big C, then i dont want to know. Mine is a little sort of lump, looks kinda like an enlarged vain, its on the front of the left testicle. When i move my whole ball, the lump/growth moves with the ball, doing a bit of research i read it could be a vain which doesnt drain blood properly. I discovered this in may, and have given it a few months to see if it grows, i know thats probaly stupid as it could spread if it is cancerous. Ive had stomach pains, well a more nauscious feeling the odd time. And on two occassions the ball kinda swelled. I got a really bad pain in it, and when i checked it out, there seemed to be a ball growing out of my ball, i dont kno wot happened that time, the second time it happened the pain was so bad i actually threw up, both times i had been drinking, and both times i was on holiday in spain. The only thing that made the pain go away was having an orgasm, i dont mean to be rude but after being tossed off after this severe pain my ball was fine, no swelling, just a sort of feeling that something bad had happened but it was over if you know wot i mean.

[URL=http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=183317&highlight=tumour
    ]here is the link to the other thread[/URL]

Mine is about 2 or 3 millimeters big, its round and is in the skin on my scrotem, its kinda whitish and i can't move it, it stays in the same place.. i don't think its cancer cos its not actually on the balls but i have had it for over two years it was really small at first as has kinda grown and stayed at this size.. i don't think it is genital warts cos they spread, i think.. im quite worried when i think about it thats why i don't think to much about it.. so if anyone has any in sight on this it will be much apprieciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭smiaras

An example of epidermal cysts from google:

here it is:
    Epidermal%20Cyst.jpg

Healio wrote:
    An example of epidermal cysts from google:

here it is:
    Epidermal%20Cyst.jpg

Jesus thats minging... i have only the one alot smaller than them things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Well I have had the ultrasound and have to get rechecked ever 2 years because I have a higher chance of developing Testicular Cancer than most due to a medical condition I have.

If you have any doubts just go get it tested. There is no point worrying yourself to death and checking stuff on the internet. Just go get it checked out and give yourself some peace of mind.

BTW the gel they use for that Ultrasound is bloody cold !!!!!!!

Optikus wrote:
    Jesus thats minging... i have only the one alot smaller than them things.

i think the worst thing that mite happen is a removal under general anaesthetic, which isnt too bad. Go to the doctor asap anyway.

Healio wrote:
    i think the worst thing that mite happen is a removal under general anaesthetic, which isnt too bad. Go to the doctor asap anyway.

So you think it could be a cyst i have ... are you sure they single, that guy seemed to have a good few and they were massive.

Optikus wrote:
    So you think it could be a cyst i have ... are you sure they single, that guy seemed to have a good few and they were massive.

id say he left it too long. To be perfectly honest i couldnt diagnose a sandwich your better of in the hands of a professional. I sort of know what your going through, hoping that you have/havent the same thing as someone on the net does, but get down to the doctor as soon as you can.

Healio wrote:
    id say he left it too long. To be perfectly honest i couldnt diagnose a sandwich your better of in the hands of a professional. I sort of know what your going through, hoping that you have/havent the same thing as someone on the net does, but get down to the doctor as soon as you can.

I've been meaning to for ages, but jus keep kinda putting it off... i have a medical to go on next week for a new job, but i don't think it will be a good idea to mention it then, so i'll wait a couple of weeks... cheers for the advice anyway Healio. :D

No problem, though im one to be talking, ive been puttin off going for 5 months, but as soon as i get my next wage packet im off to the GP.

Well i think as long as i keep seeing this thread up every day it gonna give me more motivation to go, but i definitly won't be able to do it in the next few weeks as passing the medical is essential to getting the job, weather this would make any difference to it, i don't know but im not taking the risk of mentioning it ... i'll just wait a while after all its been over two years since i noticed it so another few weeks ain't gonna make much difference ...i hope :confused:

I hope you touched a bit of wood after that post.

Healio wrote:
    I hope you touched a bit of wood after that post.

lol... well my desk is made of wood so i'd say my hand touched it. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

bloody hell
    if you guys are anything to go by its no wonder there are far too many men being diagnosed with stuff like that far too late.
    GO TO THE FREAKING DOCTOR

ALLL OF YOU!

Seraphina wrote:
    bloody hell
    if you guys are anything to go by its no wonder there are far too many men being diagnosed with stuff like that far too late.
    GO TO THE FREAKING DOCTOR

ALLL OF YOU!

with all due respect, its up to the person, i dont want to go because i fear the worst, and id rather know nothing than know i have cancer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭adjodlo

I went to the doc recently with a lump on my cock. I fear for my cocks safety and got it checked out and he said it was a benign tumour or some **** like that and that it wasnt anything bad.

Don't hold off going to the doctor, despite how embarressing it is, because it's your health we're talking about and who wants to die young and be told "if only you had come in a few months earlier...".

Your all right.. i know deep down that i should go but i think subconciously my brain is telling me not to ... i just keep putting it off. i will try and make an effort in the next few weeks though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

Well have had a ache for the last 2-3 weeks & I found a lump on my testicle on Friday, went to the doctor yesterday and getting an ultrasound tomorrow, I think you are mad waiting a few weeks, if its is the Big C then its not going to sit dormant while you make up your mind. Speed is the key so thats why you have to act so quickly, its probably nothing serious but better safe than sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Santa Claus

Healio wrote:
    with all due respect, its up to the person, i dont want to go because i fear the worst, and id rather know nothing than know i have cancer.

Healio,
    Ignorance is most certainly not bliss in this case. I've lost a cousin and nearly lost a brother to testicular cancer and in both cases the Doctors said if only it had been caught earlier my cousin would have survived and my brother wouldn't have had to have a "ballectomy" (I made that word up as I don't know the exact medical term). It a frightening thing to realise at 30 after just getting married that you can't have kids !

This form of cancer is highly treatable in most cases provided it's caught early enough.

I can't stress it enough lads, if you find something down there...get it checked out straight away. I'm sure the Sex Pistols weren't talking about testicular cancer when they said "never mind the boll*cks"

Santa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭meepmeep

yeah i agree completely santa claus, you have to go to the doctor asap. Its not like its anything they haven't seen before and its worth the embarassment to either get peace of mind from the all clear, or to get it caught and treated early if it is cancer.

I lost 2 grandparents (opposite sides) to cancer, 1 of them because he didn't want to be "too much trouble" by goin to the doctor early enough. I hate hospitals because of previous experiences but if i found a lump i would be in there like a shot.

Best of luck Nutzz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

Healio wrote:

JESUS FUSKING CHRIST LADS. If you find a lump go to the doc's ASAP. As already stated most cancers are treatable if caught early. The longer you leave it (if it is cancer) the more it will have spread and the more chance you'll have of not recovering.

A few weeks ago I found a lump on my chest. I was sick with worry. I went to the doctor ASAP and he told me it was nothing to worry about. The relief was immense. I would have been severly worried if it had been on a testicle. Go to the doc ASAP.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Healio wrote:
    I am also in the same boat as you guys, but i havent got around to the doctor because if it is the big C, then i dont want to know.[/URL]

you don't want to know?! :eek:
    are you aware of how much of the big C can be cured these days?
    this comment of yours beats anything I've read on boards for quite some time, :rolleyes:
    get yourself to the doc ASAP!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

Beruthiel wrote:
    this comment of yours beats anything I've read on boards for quite some time, :rolleyes:

Worst in the history of boards.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭D!ve^Bomb!

i was in the same boat as yourselves.. about two years ago and it FREAKED ME OUT!!!!

i waited for months before i got up the courage to go to the doc.. it wasn't nice but it wasn't anywhere near as bad as i thought it would be.. anyway, i have one on each 'ball' which freaked me out even more..

Anyway, i rang one of those cancer lines and they said only 1 in 10 cases are cancer(cant remember the exact figure but its something like that) most of the time its nothing... but go to the doctor, i know what its like worrying and its not worth it!!

that was two years ago and i still have them! and i still worry sometimes.. not so much tho.. the doc said it should be fine and in two years my health hasn't deteriorated so i guess i'm ok.. plus mine aren't there all the time.. only in times of ''excitement'' :D just thought i'd share that with ya's...

Moral of the story... go to the doctor - be happy;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

Go to the fraking doctor, and read the charter, THIS IS NOT A MEDICAL BOARD. You guys are messaging each other back and forth like crazed hares, trading opinions on what ye've found, when none of you has the slightest notiion what might be going on.

Look, get thgem checked out, there can be a million and one reasons for these kind of things, sometimes mucus collects and you get a painful little extra ball, point is you don't know what you have, get it checked out, I realise it's daunting, (personal experience), but believe me once you've had it checked and gotten the all clear you'll be sleeping so much sounder.

Will all these people slating me offer to pay the medical bills, cos i dont have the money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

Healio wrote:
    Will all these people slating me offer to pay the medical bills, cos i dont have the money.

Apologies, not intened as a slte, but surely you have some kind of medical cover, or just find the money, ****e EUR50 for a night out will pay for a G.P to check you out, then if they feel you need further testing they'll refer you

It's threads like this that make my little bear look lik that....

I'll check it out, but i dont think im covered anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭D!ve^Bomb!

thats such an excuse.. you might not need to go to the hospital for an ultrasound, the doc might give ya the all clear... 40e is not a lot,, get a loan ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭MicraBoy

I am actually totally staggered and flabergasted that there are two people discussing and encouraging each other for not going to see a doctor when they have concerns over the health of their gonads. In this day and age it's unreal.

Why don't you ask the person who would potentially have to pay out a couple of grand for your funeral, for a loan of 50 quid so you can see the GP.

Failing that I will pledge €10 to the cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Healio wrote:
    Allright. PM me. Christ it's only fifty fúcking quid to go to the GP and save yourself a world of worry. Or you know, death.

Nuttzz: The Ultrasound is grand really doesn't take too long and doesn't hurt in the least. Though I'd imagine it might if your balls are a bit sensitive from whatever is wrong with you.

As Gandalf said the goop is fúcking freezing.

I didn't avoid telling her indoors when I had to go for one. The bit of support was nice but she's not the fragile type and wouldn't be for worrying herself sick. So I guess if your instinct is not to tell your bird then don't.

It'll probably be a couple of days after the ultrasound when you get the all clear or not. The ultrasound guy told me I was probably clear but left it to the consultant to give me a definitive all clear. So you might or might not have an idea on the day rather than having to wait a bit longer.

Best wishes.

Come on guys stop breaking our balls!! ;)
    I too am in the same boat as Helio and the next time i will be visting a doctor will be for a medical in an attempt to get a job, so surley you can understand why i don't really want to mention it then.. but with all the advice for everyone (which is very much apprieciated) it has giving me more motivation to go and get it checked.. i just have to hope i get the job and in a few weeks i'll go to the doctors. I'll let you all know as soon as i have the appointment booked and if not to bad the results. thanks again.. Opti.

Again without trying to be too down on you lads it's not like you're worried about something innoucous.

You have indicators pointing towards a possible fúcking cancer.

It's the most time critical thing in the fúcking world. A few weeks could make the difference between coming out of it unscathed and losing a nut or death.

I'll say it once more with feeling. Waiting a few weeks could cost you your fúcking life.

DapperGent wrote:
    Again without trying to be too down on you lads it's not like you're worried about something innoucous.

You have indicators pointing towards a possible fúcking cancer.

It's the most time critical thing in the fúcking world. A few weeks could make the difference between coming out of it unscathed and losing a nut or death.

I'll say it once more with feeling. Waiting a few weeks could cost you your fúcking life.

I totaly agree but its the only option i have right now.

A GP visit is less than €50.

As soon as i get my first pay check,(if i get the job) it top of my list don't you worry. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

Well its over and done with now thankfully, however he was a bit cagey about the results but I think if it were cancer I would have been told nearly straight away (i hope) I have to see my own doc on Firday for the results but its a weight off my mind. lads honestly dont hang around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 flygirl

Well done, i'm sure it will all be ok from here on.
    The other procrastinating guys from this thread should take note!
    And if you haven't done already, do tell your girlfriend if you can at all now that you've got to a stage where you know you don't have to fear the worst.
    It will help you to have someone to share it with...
    My ex went through a similar experience last year and didn't tell me until he'd worked himself into a state over something which could have been easily sorted. We talked about it, I went with him for the check ups and it was all sortable in the end.
    I'd much rather know the truth than be worried about why my boyfriend wasn't himself and wouldn't tell me...

Anyway, good for you & hope it all works out ok.

flygirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Bessacadia

Best of luck, thinking of you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I had an ultrasound last week. Lets just hope its only a mild infection.

Nuttzz wrote:
    Well its over and done with now thankfully, however he was a bit cagey about the results but I think if it were cancer I would have been told nearly straight away (i hope) I have to see my own doc on Firday for the results but its a weight off my mind. lads honestly dont hang around.

Hope everything went well for you Nuttz. :D