Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone else think Sundays are boring?

• 24-10-2004 1:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 31

There is nothing on telly and there is work the following day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭tribble

I havent had a sunday (or weekend for that matter) off work in years (except when i'm on holiday).
    Toady, however i have no work and yes, your right, i wish i did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

Sundays are the big anticlimax of a good weekend. I have found that when I've had a fantastic weekend I am going around the house on a sunday with a big black cloud over me.

I suppose its because everything is closed on sunday and there is no work to be done or anything.

I hate sundays.

Well at least this being a bank holiday weekend you dont have to worry about being up early for work tomorrow.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

what the bejesus am I mentioned in your sig for?

and there's no work tomorrow, it's a bank holiday.

and there's sweet **** all on tv any day of the week, read a book or something ...
    god damn junkies

(edit)

It's personal issues btw....maybe reading isn't your strong point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 algorithim

seen as you propisitioned me in a pm ! Anyways

I hat Sundays I am off work tommorrow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

I'm at work. I may have to work tomorrow, too. On the other hand, I'm usually off for the rest of the week...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

o.0

going to have to take your word for that one.

still... six foot long and hairy..
    what you doing tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭CyberGhost

yea, dislike sundays!

I love Friday and Saturday! there is always something on the TV on Saturday! Sunday is a dead boring day! everyone is drunk and sleeping, I don't drink, so.... I'm bored!

it's great I can go to boards.ie and read something interesting :)

sniffle ... work tomorrow TRIPPLE PAY yay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

Hey, there's loads on the telly... WHat about the Antiques Roadshow??? ;)

But seriously, sit back and relax... that's what a day of rest is for. Don't feel you have to be doing something. Read a book, have a snooze, have a leisurely read of the papers etc etc... Wear sunscreen ... yada yada

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Far too many people in here working today.

Go home, dammit, I want to play the Gamecube!

Bastards.

I dont know for some reason I'm looking forward to work tomorrow. I am so bored.

Ban Sunday is what I say :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭ando

if your bored you can come over to my gaff and do some washing up ;) and if that doesnt tire you out, you can do some hovering

where are you

tries to think of excuse to get out of the washing and hoovering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

Sundays are especially boring towards the end of the month when you've no money to do anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Sundays are pretty bad, especially when you've no money.Least you had the international rules to watch earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,647 ✭✭✭✭Victor

algorithim wrote:
    There is nothing on telly and there is work the following day!
    Well seeing as this is a BHW, you get to look forward to BHW Monday daytime TV, the Mother of all Sunday TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

ando wrote:
    if your bored you can come over to my gaff and do some washing up ;) and if that doesnt tire you out, you can do some hovering

Levitation, eh?!?!?

He'll sleep tonight!!!

Slunk wrote:
    Sundays are pretty bad, especially when you've no money.Least you had the international rules to watch earlier.

twas a good result but I am bored again :D

actually there there uset to be nothing worse on a sunday when I was in college you had to get the train on sunday night.

have you ever gotten a train from limerick to carlow, I would not recommend it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 visualphotoarts

I think we should all feck off to the pub. Mr Hairy Guy, I think all of us hairy @*"^~!$ should wear boob tubes and mini skirts. It might be a cold wet Sunday, but it might make Sundays fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

twas a good result but I am bored again :D

actually there there uset to be nothing worse on a sunday when I was in college you had to get the train on sunday night.

have you ever gotten a train from limerick to carlow, I would not recommend it.
    Luxury. We used to have to get out of the lake at three o'clock in the morning, clean the lake, eat a handful of hot gravel, go to work at the mill every day for tuppence a month, come home, and Dad would beat us around the head and neck with a broken bottle, if we were LUCKY!

Ahem, what I mean is, try getting the bus from Waterford to Dublin on a Sunday - that's pain - the train is like a gentle massage from nubile virgins in comparison.

At least you only had to get one bus

2.30 leave limerick to limerick junction, wait in limerick junction for an hour in the pissing rain for the cork-dublin train. get off the cork-dublin train at kildare and wait another cold and wet hour there, for the dublin-waterford train.

you would be lucky to get into carlow by 9pm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

I think that U2 song 'Sunday Bloody Sunday' captures how boring sundays are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Winter Sundays are boring, but not summer ones. I've spent nearly every single Sunday afternoon since last May in Croke Park watching matches. The game between Ireland and Australia there today was the last of the year. I love summer Sundays. Roll on next May when it all starts again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭ciasto

Flukey wrote:
    Winter Sundays are boring, but not summer ones. I've spent nearly every single Sunday afternoon since last May in Croke Park watching matches. The game between Ireland and Australia there today was the last of the year. I love summer Sundays. Roll on next May when it all starts again.

This summer I spent every Sunday arguing with the coppers to let me drive to my garage which is beside Croke park. Now that I think about it, what a stupid place to have garage.

Hope you enjoyed the matches! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

I think that U2 song 'Sunday Bloody Sunday' captures how boring sundays are

Indeed! You wake up in the morning, you’ve got to read all the Sunday papers, the kids are running round, you’ve got to mow the lawn, wash the car, and you think “Sunday, bloody Sunday!”.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

Flatley my dear I don't Riverdance!

Pigman, it was indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I hate Sundays.
    I'm always working. 11.30 - 7 today, and then come home and hit the problem sheets for college, all I gotta say is :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭johntf008

People with eyebrows on their cheeks, badly tarmacked drives - in this country...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Sundays are great.
    I get to watch Barcelona play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭raster

you are NEVER bored when you have broadband.

If you really have NOTHING to do, the look up stuff that interests you, even on a whim, whatever that is... the history of michael jackson's face, why the US doesn't use A4 paper, does Canada, Gun control in Switzerland, or something similarly interesting, yet pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,958 ✭✭✭Chad ghostal

life is what you make it,
    this includes sundays..

DooO it/something..............

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

Sundays are just depressing, you cant appreciate it like a saturday. There is the whole thing with Work/College/Whatever tomorrow, overriding your ability to relax. Hard to relax when you know you've gotta do stuff the next day. At least for me anyway.

Thank Christ for Bank Holiday Mondays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭ando

ballooba wrote:
    Levitation, eh?!?!?

doh.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,647 ✭✭✭✭Victor

RE*AC*TOR wrote:
    Luxury. We used to have to get out of the lake at three o'clock in the morning, clean the lake, eat a handful of hot gravel, go to work at the mill every day for tuppence a month, come home, and Dad would beat us around the head and neck with a broken bottle, if we were LUCKY!
    Never seen the sketch, but saw this today, which led me to this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Nearly as bad ;) The last train from Dundalk to Dublin on a Sunday night is like 6:45 or something. How thick is that?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Sunday means a metric ****load of papers to read. Bank Holiday Mondays, however are like a poor imitation of a Sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭climaxer

I like Sundays - only thing I don't like about them is that the following day is Monday and back to work :( . Sundays in the winter are usually a chill out day and call to see my Grandad. Then usually go for a walk to the park with the kids. Back to my Mams for our dinner and then over to the local for a pint or two. During the summer I'd often head out to Tramore which involves the kids going on the amusements, some chips and chicken from the Beach Grill, a walk along the prom, kids make sandcastles, back up and play a few slots and maybe have a drink in the beergarden :)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

you would be lucky to get into carlow

This is the kind of paradox that causes our universe to vibrate thus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭Uthur

Go te mass ye heathen bastard!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭mang87

Next sunday's gonna be pretty bitchin' :cool: