Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New mobo problems

• 21-10-2004 10:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭

Hey all,

I recently bought a brand spanking new Abit IC7 G. Lovely board.

Problem -> I put the board in my machine, put my chip in and all that. Turned it on. It posts no problems, recognises everything properly. Gets to my boot loader no problems (LILO), I select Windows (XP) and it kinda goes to a blank screen for a few seconds, then flashes a blue screen (ye know the one. Dumping memory and all that...) only for a second mind, then restarts.

Tried swapping loads of stuff, IDE's etc. Tried booting into Linux (Mandrake 9, I think) and it doesnt boot.

Any Ideas?? I need to get this going. Have a LAN session organised for the end of the week.

Cheers,
    G.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,225 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Did you do a fresh install of your os? If you didn't, you're asking for trouble

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

Yeah this is a common problem if you change your mobo while still using the OS install from your last mobo... (can't speak for linux, but definitly 2k/xp) the problem arises from the IDE drivers windows was using before... it just shíts itself if it's a different IDE controller chipset.
    Sometimes you can get away with a mobo swap like that if they're both using roughly the same chipset... ie. the drivers are compatable across both boards.
    I remember looking for work-arounds before, but ended up re-installing windows :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,025 ✭✭✭mad m

@ Unkel and Santahoe

sorry for going off subject abit but going to replace motherboard pretty soon and i knew about having to do a fresh install on harddrive if changing new motherboard but i have an 80gig with lets say my old OS (Xp Pro) and have a new 200gig hhd to go into new system,can i keep old harddrive with all my stuff as it is without formatting and make it a slave to my new 200gig or would this be asking for trouble also?....

thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭Optikus

That should work fine.. if your installing windows in the new drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,025 ✭✭✭mad m

Optikus wrote:
    That should work fine.. if your installing windows in the new drive.

thanks Optikus.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭gobby

Dirt... Thought this might involve a reinstall. What a pain. Ive loads of games without disks and tonnes of music. Feck it. I HATE MICROSOFT!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭Jammer

gobby wrote:
    Dirt... Thought this might involve a reinstall. What a pain. Ive loads of games without disks and tonnes of music. Feck it. I HATE MICROSOFT!!!

tune in the channels on ur tv, buy a new tv and ur gonna have to tune them in again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,614 ✭✭✭BadCharlie

If you have another computer in the house. Put in the harddrive that has all the games into that computer. Make sure you put the harddrive as slave then copy and paste what you want from one drive to the other.
    Or you can reinstall the old MotherBoard.
    Or buy a new hard drive and put the os onto that.

Thats about all the options you have if you want to save whats on that harddirve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Don't panic. Just do a reinstall NOT a format, all your stuff will stay put.

Update:

First off, cheers to all that replied.

Right, so I realised that I would have to reinstall windows. Fair enough. I had a spare drive (maxtor 60gig) so I installed windows on that with the intention of setting my other drive (samsung 160gig) as a slave and backing up all my documents.

When I got everything going I tried to access my samsung (using explorer) and it asked me did I want to format the drive!? You can imagine the alarm bells going off in my head.

Basically, windows seems to think that the drive has nothing there. Ive tried a lot of different things to recover the data with mixed results (none of which actually end with me getting my data!).

'chkdsk' says that the drive is a raw format and wont do anything with it.

Disk manegment thinks that the samsung is a 31.5gig healthy partition with no os listed and being 100% empty.

Patition Magic being an excellent program sees everything as it is. At this point I thought I was getting somewhere. It sees all the partitions on the samsung. I had mandrake installed on this drive. It doesnt seem to be there anymore but the partition is still there (as is the boot loader). Partition magic would even let me browse the drive.

So straight away I tried to back up my important files (college work, photos, music, etc). Every time I tried this I would get an error message and nothing would be copied. The error was always the same and always vague. It just says that the files cannot be copied.

At this point I thought that it would be good to use partition magic to fix any errors that might be on the disk. So I used the error check facility on Partition Magic. Everytime I use this I recieve an error -> "Error 48: Sector not found".

The semantic website says:

"#48 Sector not found
    This error can be reported when a given sector cannot be read or written to. There are many possible causes.

If you are encountering this error, make sure that your BIOS supports the operating system and hard disk on the system. Also run a thorough ScanDisk on the drive to prevent data from being written to bad sectors."

They suggest running scan disk. I cant do this as windows thinks the disk isnt formatted. As for the bios, well the bord is new and I would imagine it supports 48 bit LBA.

I'm fairly out of ideas here and would love to get some feedback. Also it would be great if some of you could just even tell me that my data will be okay! *sniffle*

Cheers,
    Gob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭StRiKeR

thats the major problem with XP, whenever you change the Mobo, you look at a re-install half the times! some can get it to repair the install instead of having to wipe the drive, but some cant! thanks to M$ for this most annoyin creation......

you using lilo to boot, reinstall mandrake using the partition already created, it wont effect your windows drive then! and it should only replace your mandrake system files, other folders and files should stay the way they are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭Drazhar

You've got LILO boot loader, so does that mean that you have Unix installed somewhere. If so XP might not see the drive as its in the Unix filesystem, Just a thought, since UNIX would be the primary OS.

Installing on the 60gb should sort the thing out if you dont have unix installed on the drive. If you have Partition Magic doesnt it have an option for installing operating systems. Just make a small 2gb (or whatever) partition on the 160gb and install to that.

Your best bet for installing a new MoBo is to go for a clean installation. Your original one, if it boots up with the new board will still be trying to run software for the old MoBo. Clean installs are the way to go for new MoBo's in my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭StRiKeR

he has Linux installed, it can use any filesystem, depends what he choosed to use when he was installing it! but linux can see windows filesystem anyway so if he fix up mandrake, then he can backup stuff!

Cheers for all the support lads...

Got the system going. What I ended up doing was using Knoppix to transfer all my important data to the maxtor 60gig. Then a fresh install and transfer the data back (into its own partition this time).

There was a few complications but I'm not gonna go into them. (Partly cos I'd look stupid!)

So thanks to anyone that replied...