Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Choice of hard drive and memory

• 21-10-2004 03:50PM

Hey all,

Almost at the end of the PC building :D

Just have to get memory and a decent sata hard drive, and that should be it (the minimum; i intend on getting PCI cards to add on but for the moment, I just want the machine to start and have an up to date pc).

I was looking at:
    Seagate Barracuda (i need a good bit of space)
    http://www.komplett.ie/k/ki.asp?sku=302880&cks=PRL

Memory:
    Corsair:
    http://www.komplett.ie/k/ki.asp?sku=300699&cks=PRL

What are these respective brands like?
    Many horror stories or are many experiences favourable?

Any help would be great on this, thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 807 ✭✭✭ViperVenoM

ive heard seagates aint too great, if i was you id check out Western Digitals, or now i think the best is meant to be the samsungs as they perform practically as good as the WD's but are meant to be quieter (i cant hear the WD's in my server anyway so prob not that much of a diff between the 2)..either will be good, i dont know if seagates are better these days, but i heard they have been ..not so great ..same for maxtor i think

ram is good though :D , that stuff will perform great

thanks for the reply, I was thinking of going for a western digital alright, I heard a lot of good things, just wanted to make sure.

With regard to the corsair, I saw a twinmos deal on that page with 2GB ram for around 330 euro...would twinmos be a good ram buy, with an Abit motherboard?

http://www.komplett.ie/k/ki.asp?sku=301825&cks=PRL

Just wanting to make sure, the price looks good for the 2GB, but I don't want to sacrifice quality for the sake of money, if the corsair will do then i'm happy with that.

Thanks for help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

tbh ive never heard of , or had myself, problems with seagate. and i definitely wouldnt bunch them in with maxtor.

as an aside you might get better bang for your buck if your go for a 200gb drive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 807 ✭✭✭ViperVenoM

well i dont know where i read it or if it was even accurate..was a while back :confused:

but i know ive had 3 seagates fail on me ..and 0 maxtors :rolleyes:

but WD is the way forward for me now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

MoonHawk wrote:
    With regard to the corsair, I saw a twinmos deal on that page with 2GB ram for around 330 euro...would twinmos be a good ram buy, with an Abit motherboard?
    i'd been running 512mb of the cheap twinmos memory (cl2.5) on an abit nf7 for 6 months without a hiccup. stuck another 256mb of it in 3 months ago and its still running sweeticon14.gif

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Prior Of Taize

Komplett are selling a 200Gb Maxtor DiamondMax 10 S-ATA for the same price as that Seagate 160Gb S-ATA.........

Seagate make good stuff but i have never heard anything bad about Maxtor...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭Optikus

Komplett are selling a 200Gb Maxtor DiamondMax 10 S-ATA for the same price as that Seagate 160Gb S-ATA.........

Seagate make good stuff but i have never heard anything bad about Maxtor...

I never heard anything bad about Seagate or experienced anything. But i do recommend you you get the new Maxtors Diamondmax 10 with 16Mb cache.. they are the best performing 7200rpmm drive you can get atm.. and the performance is closly matched to WD Raptors.. surley ya can't go wrong at that price and amount of space.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭tribble

I've been running Seagate's exclusivly for some years now (since the IBM (now Hitachi) deathstar incident).

They are the quietest drives available due to the now common fluid bearings (samsung may have just edged them now but they are too new to trust)

of all the drives i've had (50ish at home, hundreds in work) i've have hade very few fail.
    2 ibm's (now hitach), 2 quantums, a maxtor, a connor (went on fire! but it was probably my fault - cooling).

If you want reliability then

1. Backup
    2. Direct a fan onto the drive (a quiet low rpm fan is enough) - temperature kills drives.

MY POST DOESN'T TAKE INTO ACCOUNT PREFORMANCE!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭snappieT

Lidl have an offer of a Western Digital 250GB drive on offer from next Thursday for €150

I'll be in 9AM to get 2!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,336 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

Lidl have an offer of a Western Digital 250GB drive on offer from next Thursday for €150

I'll be in 9AM to get 2!
    As will I. They won't help MoonHawk much though because he is looking for a SATA drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,299 ✭✭✭✭BloodBath

The Hitachi drives are excellent as well. They outperform the Western Digitals. The new Maxtor's seem to be great but i'd be worried about reliability. Still for the space/cost/performance you can't go wrong.

BloodBath

Well I got the Western digital 200GB sata hd, seems good value and space.

Just one more question now for you knowledgeable folks,

I heard that I would be better off buying two paired fans for the case (there's space at the back for two)...does this mean that I buy two fans and put them side by side or are there fans which connect up to each other, then to the motherboard? And where can I find such things?

This is the last thing I have to get, don't really want to start the machine without sufficient cooling.

So far (major parts):
    Motherboard: ABIT IS7 (with a built in fan it looks like)
    RAM: Corsair 1024MB
    CPU: Intel Pentium 4 3.0 Ghz, with big heatsink
    HD: Western Digital 200GB
    DVD: NEC DVD-R/RW

The above help was great lads, had a bit of a nervous breakdown yesterday when I slightly bent one of the processor pins but I pushed it back, and it fitted in fine so I'm a bit more relaxed about the thing now. :)

Just get 2 decent fans the same size as the space at the back. I presume they are 80mm. They will power off any molex connector. Is there a fan at the front of the case?

BloodBath

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭Optikus

MoonHawk wrote:
    Well I got the Western digital 200GB sata hd, seems good value and space.

Just one more question now for you knowledgeable folks,

I heard that I would be better off buying two paired fans for the case (there's space at the back for two)...does this mean that I buy two fans and put them side by side or are there fans which connect up to each other, then to the motherboard? And where can I find such things?

This is the last thing I have to get, don't really want to start the machine without sufficient cooling.

So far (major parts):
    Motherboard: ABIT IS7 (with a built in fan it looks like)
    RAM: Corsair 1024MB
    CPU: Intel Pentium 4 3.0 Ghz, with big heatsink
    HD: Western Digital 200GB
    DVD: NEC DVD-R/RW

The above help was great lads, had a bit of a nervous breakdown yesterday when I slightly bent one of the processor pins but I pushed it back, and it fitted in fine so I'm a bit more relaxed about the thing now. :)

You should of took snapscan1212ps advice and waited till thursday to get the same drive but 250GB for only 149e...but nevermind hope your system gose well and you post when you get the fans. :D

I will indeed :) thanks for all the help, all.

Bloodbath, no there's two 80mm mounting points at the back of the PC case for two fans, the heatsink, and the fan built on to the motherboard.

So I'll just get two 80mm fans and connect them up independently? that's grand then, shouldn't be a problem.

I'll let ye know how the thing comes together, probably next week or so

Yeah set the bottom one as an intake and the top one as exhaust although this isn't exactly ideal as the exhaust will suck the fresh air straight out again. Maybe set both to intake and rely on the psu as an exhaust.

Try it a few different ways to see what you get the best results with.

BloodBath