Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can't Stand it anymore

• 19-10-2004 11:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I can't take it anymore

my face is so ugly, all my hair is falling otu - I'm a 26 year old frigit virgin scum - everybody in work thinks i'm a wierdo. Everybody on the dart looks at my pigface. All I have is memories of being called pig from school...nobody would hang out with me at all

I'm so depressed - I have spent all my money on a round the world trip around the world and the only enlightment I have is the what I always have taught. All that matters in this life is cuteness or brains. without one or the other your a maggot dashboard scum, I go out by myself at night and I try to talk to girls and last night one said

im deadly serious
    _ I am sorry , I dont talk to ugly men

give me advice please - I think this is finally it - seriusly , this is my first time posting anonymosly but I have clearly lost my mind. I keep smacking my head against the wall, I jsut want to jump out my window

and all i do is cry all the time

help me please
    I love god and I know everything happens for a reason, butit takes a lot of faith to live this long with this disgusting evil ****ing weight on ur back
    ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭moridin

It sounds to me that you're not happy or at ease with your own appearance. If your face is "piggy", then go to the gym and or do something to lose weight, it doesn't just come off your stomach you know... a healthier and more active lifestyle may help towards helping you to reconcile your problems with yourself.

There are very very few people who are universally ugly. Someone that I'd never consider as attractive could be really fancyable by someone else.
    I go out by myself at night and I try to talk to girls
    Why not go out with some friends. If you go out with the express intention to find someone to date then chances are that you'll have more of an air of desperation about you, and nobody'll go near you with a bargepoll.
    I'm sorry, but nothing's gonna change if you're just feeling sorry for yourself. Take some positive steps. If you need someone to talk to, go see a councillor, or talk to friends. Decide on a number of steps that you can take to make yourself feel more comfortable with yourself, and start taking them instead of crying...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

if you take some positive steps as moridin has said above, your self confidence will grow. dont mind the person who said "I am sorry , I dont talk to ugly men". thats bollox tbh. again as moridin says "Someone that I'd never consider as attractive could be really fancyable by someone else."

with your round the world trip, you sound like your well capable, of doing things for yourself. if you consider yourself 'piggy', join a gym [make friends there] work out and eat healthy.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

dcvghsd wrote:
    my face is so ugly, all my hair is falling otu - I'm a 26 year old frigit virgin scum - everybody in work thinks i'm a wierdo.
    Well stop calling yourself "virgin scum" for starters. That's defeatist language. You're almost spitting that word out, as if being a virgin is something to be disgusted about. It's not usual, but you should still stop trying to use it as an almost curse word. As for you calling yourself "scum" - self loathing like that is incredibly unappealing.
    All I have is memories of being called pig from school...nobody would hang out with me at all
    Now clearly you're using past experiences at school to try and justify your self hatred. It's school - children are notorious for picking on someone and the rest, sheeplike, join in. You must know this, right? What do their opinions, uninformed have anything to do with who you are ten years on? Don't use little infantile twits as an excuse to hate yourself.

I try to talk to girls and last night one said

im deadly serious
    Well she's a complete bitch. Judgmental people like that deserve serious karmic retribution.
    give me advice please - I think this is finally it - seriusly , this is my first time posting anonymosly but I have clearly lost my mind. I keep smacking my head against the wall, I jsut want to jump out my window
    Well stop that at once. Now why not start by listing your positives to yourself? All we've had is a slew of negativity. Don't say there's nothing good about you because that's not going to be true. You can't not hate yourself if you can't find anything to like.

Don't base your future romantic aspirations on chatting up girls in a pub or club. That's often a dreadful sitution to get to know people. Everyone there is glamored up often, peacock like. It's not a real example of what people are like and want. You may not be the most attractive guy ever, so clubs are too intimidating for you now.

I suggest you stop trying so hard to make it when you go out. Loosen up, relax. Enjoy yourself by hanging with friends, having fun. Are there any you can talk to? Let them reassure you because I doubt they'd be hanging around with you if they consider you "scum". If you feel you can't confide in them, then please talk to somene whom you can, a counsellor perhaps. What you cannot do is continue with this self hatred. Well done in beginning to vent here. It's a start but it's not the end yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭climaxer

I have to agree with the others. I've actually read this thread a few times this morning and tried to reply but I'm not very good at putting words together.

First off - the girl who said that is an ignorant, stuck-up, insensitive b*tch.

You definiately need some counselling - it really does help to talk about things with a stranger. You are very depressed if you're crying all the time and I think this should be the first step you take. If you don't start taking small steps to try and build up your confidence it will get worse and worse. Maybe make a list of the things you'd like to achieve. Say no. 1 tackle the depression, no. 2 join a gym and get in shape, no. 3 meet some decent mates, no. 4 go out and enjoy yourself without even thinking of girls (tip: a lot of girls find it a challenge when guys ignore them and play it cool),....As the others said try going to the gym and maybe you could make some friends there. As for being ugly - its amazing how people have different tastes. Growing up my mates and I always disagreed on who we thought were good looking. I remember being mad into this fella and my mates said they thought he was ugly so there's gonna be someone for everyone. Told you I was crap with words...so I hope you understand what I'm trying to say.

Have to agree with you to a degree that if you're not cute or have brains that this world can be a nasty place at the best of times.

Please don't give up - keep posting here even if its just to moan or get some support. Everyone goes through a dark phase in their life for different reasons and really the only way to get back up is to be positive and focus on the positive in your life. There are a lot of people a lot worse off than you in this world. I know its hard to do but at least try.

Sorry meant to say if your hair is falling out - get it shaved. I think its really nice that way. I mean Grant who used to be in Eastenders - his hair was receeding and he got it shaved - personally I think he is soo sexy yet a lot of women would go "no way". There is a lot of nice people in this world. Unfortunately for you, you don't seem to have met many of them yet but you will meet them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭alienhead

good points there.

get fit, you'll look more attractive.

sounds like at this stage you need some sort of professional help to sort your head out, do it!!

think about it, not everyone is blessed with looks, confidence and a sence of humour goes a long way.

you can turn this around, snap yourself out of it!

moridin wrote:
    It sounds to me that you're not happy or at ease with your own appearance. If your face is "piggy", then go to the gym and or do something to lose weight, it doesn't just come off your stomach you know... a healthier and more active lifestyle may help towards helping you to reconcile your problems with yourself.

There are very very few people who are universally ugly. Someone that I'd never consider as attractive could be really fancyable by someone else.

Why not go out with some friends. If you go out with the express intention to find someone to date then chances are that you'll have more of an air of desperation about you, and nobody'll go near you with a bargepoll.

I'm sorry, but nothing's gonna change if you're just feeling sorry for yourself. Take some positive steps. If you need someone to talk to, go see a councillor, or talk to friends. Decide on a number of steps that you can take to make yourself feel more comfortable with yourself, and start taking them instead of crying...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

dcvghsd wrote:
    I can't take it anymore

my face is so ugly, all my hair is falling otu - I'm a 26 year old frigit virgin scum - everybody in work thinks i'm a wierdo. Everybody on the dart looks at my pigface. All I have is memories of being called pig from school...nobody would hang out with me at all

I'm so depressed - I have spent all my money on a round the world trip around the world and the only enlightment I have is the what I always have taught. All that matters in this life is cuteness or brains. without one or the other your a maggot dashboard scum, I go out by myself at night and I try to talk to girls and last night one said

im deadly serious

help me please
    I love god and I know everything happens for a reason, butit takes a lot of faith to live this long with this disgusting evil ****ing weight on ur back
    ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

First of all, someone who says "I don't talk to ugly men" is not someone you should want to talk to. The correct response to something like that is, "That's ok, I don't talk to ignorant women". On the appearances thing, beauty really is in the eye of the beholder. Don't be so don't on yourself, definetly don't bang your head against a wall, it won't achieve anything, except a sore head and a bump in the wall.
    You're 26, try not to be hung up on what happened in school, if its really still prominent in your thoughts, a little counselling could be very beneficial, people can be really cruel (i've been there).
    Being a virgin at 26 is only a problem when you're a virgin, because it becomes an issue onto itself, once you "lose it" you quickly wonder what all the fuss is about. It a completely unimportant issue, beyond macho bragging at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

"I don't talk to ugly men"

"Well, I've heard of sweet sixteen never been kissed, but surely you're too old for that now?"

She'll probably be too dumb to understand the implications of what you're saying...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

not even slightly helpful
    read the CHARTER
    B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

Jeez, you obviously graduated from the school of tough love. May you never have to battle with depression....

RE*AC*TOR wrote:
    Jeez, you obviously graduated from the school of tough love. May you never have to battle with depression....

Sympathy is the last thing you need when depressed,, although I have to say it looks a bit harsh now I look at it again, anyway!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

Take some drugs

C What I mean, plenty of people out there willing to help ;-0

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

meditraitor

another comment like the one above and I'm banning you,
    please read the charter with regards to unhelpful comments such as this.
    If you haven't anything helpful to say, please refrain from commenting at all

Antisocialiser
    the same goes for you

B

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Who decides what's good advice now?
    I was about to suggest some drugs too... can't hurt... much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭swiss

The first thing you have to recognise is that you're in a vicious circle. You're feeling depressed because you feel socially isolated and unaccepted, and the depression you are feeling and exhibiting to the world is most likely the single biggest contributory factor to this social exclusion.

As others have mentioned, there are lots of things you can do that will encourage a more positive outlook on life. Join a club, if you're short on friends. Take up a sport or social pastime. You could even pop along to the next boards event if you're stuck for ideas. The most important thing is that you can realise that there is something that you can do to sort out these issues. It's not terribly hard, and I guarantee you'll feel better about yourself.

Also, basing someones worth on their looks is incredibly shallow. Do not lower yourself to that bitch who said what she did. In any event, as Moridin mentioned it is very rare that someone is unattractive to everyone. Just today, I picked out a guy who I described as 'cute'. The person I was walking with described him as 'Tom Yorke (lead singer of Radiohead) with a shovel blow to the face'. Not terribly flattering.

Drugs? I can't say I've had very much first hand experience but from what I have seen I can safely say that trying them while in a depressed state of mind is a _very_ bad idea. I see drugs as a gateway to experiment with alternative states of mind (and a dangerous experiment at that) and doing so when not in the most stable states of mind to begin with is just asking for trouble. This is through first hand observation. No, there are far more positive and practical ways in which you can get your jollies.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Who decides what's good advice now?
    I was about to suggest some drugs too... can't hurt... much.

of course they can if the persons state of mind is not conducive, some drugs can put you on a downer, I do not think this is helpful to someone already feeling down, it may only increase the problem.
    Please think before recommending something like this, just because it may work for you doesn't necessarily mean it can work for a stranger on the internet when you don't even know their real problems.

Think before you post people
    B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

I've seen plenty of guys who loooked good overall but weren't exactly handsome in the conventional sense.

Get a plan. If you don't have a social life turn it to your advantage, spend the money on a new image for yourself. Lose weight. Get fit. Change the way you dress COMPLETELY. Change you hairstyle, if its falling out, go short, it's fashionable.

Make a new you that you like and others will like it too.
    When all this is done, Move. Sounds drastic I know but do it. Go to a new place where no one knew the old you. Start fresh. They will accept the new you as if you were always like that.

Don't be put off because you're not perfect. Nobody is perfect, not even me. :D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,945 ✭✭✭BEAT

to the original poster:

I am sorry that you are having a hard time of it.
    While this may sound cliche it is important to remember that: Beauty is only skin deep.
    It is also important to remember that what is inside is what really matters, beauty fades but personality is eternal.
    What you need to do is realise that being one of the "beautful people' isnt what matters, its getting through life being happy with who you are.

You will be surprised how many people will be drawn to you if you exude self confidence and a sense of humor.
    Speaking from experience now,
    I have never been one of the beautiful people and for years I was picked on in school as well, but as the years went on I started to care less and less about what other people thought of me and I started living my life to please me. When you can get around the bad things and realise that the past cant be changed and start living for the future your life will have meaning agian.

Everyone in this world does not think that you have to be beautiful or smart to get somewhere.
    There are also several people in the world who feel about themselves the way you feel about yourself. You are not alone.

People are right in telling you that you should talk to someone. If you only have one person you can go to , then do it. Even if its someone you may not think will care, they may surprise you. It is important to work through these angry feelings you have.
    I suggest meditation, surrounding yourself in a calming environment and concentrating on the 'big picture' what is really important in life.

Everyone has a key to happiness, finding it is not easy but that is what makes life worth while and when you have found it...well then, you have the rest of your life to enjoy it dont you.

Keep us posted, try to find the positive in every situation and soon everything will begin to look brighter. ;)
    It is all about frame of mind, remember that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Look around you, dcvghsd, some of the most beautiful women in the world are with some of the most unattractive guys. For the majority of women, physical attraction isn't top of their agenda when evaluating a potential partner.

Some of the advice you've been given here is bang on the money. Take up some sort of physical activity. Exercise produces endorphins (happy chemicals) in your brain which will give you an almost instant lift. From my experience taking up a martial art can really help with your self confidence and it's exercise so two birds in one stone there. It'll also improve your physique. Don't have unrealistic expectations though, you won't develop abs of steel overnight but you'll certainly start to feel better about your body.

Don't go on holidays with the intention of finding "enlightenment", don't go out on your own trying to pull, just try to have fun. You'll find that the first two things are byproducts of the third.

Finally, meditraitor may be the least tactful poster I think I've ever seen on PI but (s)he had a point, you're 26, I'm guessing school ended at least 8 years ago. It's time to move on from that time in your life. I was never Mr. Popularity myself in school but I certainly grew into myself in college. Sure, we all have our bad days, you just have to deal with them as best as you can and keep going.

Finally, as a few of the other posters have suggested, it could very well be a good idea to seek help from a professional. All of us here are just ordinary people like yourself (though try telling some of this lot that they're not actually psychologists/psychics/neurosurgeons and they might take your head off ;) ). We can give you what advice we have to give, can offer you a sympathetic place to blow off steam but if you can't deal with your lack of self esteem on your own, sometimes the best person to help is the person who's used to dealing with these situations on a daily basis. There's no harm in it, some of the sanest people I know have gone to counselling of some kind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

dcvghsd wrote:
    all my hair is falling otu
    Aye; that started to heppen to me. Heditary, it seems. I just shave the head every so often, and it looks cool.
    dcvghsd wrote:
    I'm a 26 year old frigit virgin
    Likewise. Ah well; sh|t happens. Just goto somewhere like Slapper Face Jacks, and get your hole easy off some young one. They crave "maturity", etc.
    dcvghsd wrote:
    everybody in work thinks i'm a wierdo
    Most people in general think I'm a bit of a nutter,
    dcvghsd wrote:
    Everybody on the dart looks at my pigface
    Don't worry, thats just paranoia. I find if you look at anyone long enough, they'll look at you back.
    dcvghsd wrote:
    All I have is memories of being called pig from school
    I was called a few names in school as well. Sh|t happens.
    dcvghsd wrote:
    I go out by myself at night and I try to talk to girls and last night one said

im deadly serious
    You mutherf*cker! I havn't got the guts to talk to women on the dancefloor yet, and you do, and your still moaning? Sheesh. There's no pleasing some people, it seems. Just ask another one, or go to another nightclub next time.
    dcvghsd wrote:
    I keep smacking my head against the wall
    That gotta hurt. Join a gym. Punching the punchbag, or doing weight-lifting will help to get rid of your rage.
    dcvghsd wrote:
    I love god and I know everything happens for a reason
    Does it? Never knew that. sh|t just happens. Sometimes there's no reason. Just ignore the sh|t, and keep on going.

======

Moral of what I'm saying; you havn't found something you enjoy yet. Everyone has dreams of doing something, etc. Join a club, or something. Hill walking, painting, rowing, etc.
    As for the "pig" thing; it seems you are youre own worst enemy. Once you snap out of it, you'll be grand. It seems the taunts of the past are still echoing around your head, but when you ignore them, and get on with life, you'll find that you were worring about nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭spooiirt!!

To the origional poster:

In relation to girls:

Im an ugly bollix too, so i go to the gym and bulk up. That helps a bit with girls (but im not half as built as id like to be). Balding wont seem so bad if you have a decent body. I rarely pull, but im quite depressed about life in general so i dont care .

In relation to friends:

Join a sports club. Get "into" something. Movies, music, sports. ANYTHING.
    Try to be funny and friendly, itl help. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

dcvghsd, dude I sent you a pm. Let me know if you got it.

[Edit] - let me just qualify that by saying I couldn't actually send you a pm because you're unregistered but please, send me a pm if you can. I'd like to talk to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

Some of the suggestions so far have been good, exercise is very important to making you feel good. I'm gona try help you out on your self talk, the way you talk to yourself

Your self talk is obviously very negative and automatic. It looks like you have taught yourself to automatically self destruct. You need to retrain yourself.

Negative self talk is usually so automatic and subtle that you don’t notice it or the effect it has on your moods and feelings. You react without noticing what you told yourself right before you reacted. Often it’s only when you relax, take a step back, and really examine what you've been telling yourself that you can see the connection between negative self talk and your feelings. What is important is that you can learn to slow down and take note of your negative internal monologue.

The most effective way to deal with the negative self talk is to counter it with positive, supportive statements. Countering involves writing down and rehearsing positive statements which directly challenge your negative self talk. Doing this will take time and practice. You've had years to practice your negative self talk and naturally you have developed some very strong habits

Try to catch yourself in the act, if you notice yourself saying "I can't", "I'll never be able" or "why bother", counter it with positive, supportive statements to yourself, you'll begin to turn your thinking around. With practice and consistent effort, you'll change both the way you think and feel on an ongoing basis.

I'm sure once your feeling good about yourself, things will come along nicely.

also, eat a banana a day.. Seriously I do and it makes me feel good:
    A banana contains tryptophan, a type of protein that the body converts into serotonin – known to make you relax, improve your mood and generally make you feel happier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

ando wrote:
    The most effective way to deal with the negative self talk is to counter it with positive, supportive statements. Countering involves writing down and rehearsing positive statements which directly challenge your negative self talk. Doing this will take time and practice. You've had years to practice your negative self talk and naturally you have developed some very strong habits

Yes you are right in what you say.Another good method is to write down what you don't like about yourself and to then set about fixing that.
    The key to happiness with a woman is realising that you don't need a woman to be happy.
    dcvghsd ought to do things for HIMSELF.Join a self-defense class,lift weights,learn how to play an instrument,etc.The key is to do things that give your life a purpose which will in turn give you confidence.

As for the ladies,the key is to take things easy.Set about breaking the ice and building a rapport.Most women are pleasant and don't mind having a conversation.As for those who behave like b*tches,laugh it off and consider yourself lucky that you are a far more pleasant individual than her.

BE A MAN!STOP TRYING TO IMPRESS OTHERS AND START IMPRESSING YOURSELF.DON'T SWEAT REJECTION.YOU CANNOT PLEASE EVERYBODY.

Good luck to you pal. :cool:

MojoMaker wrote:
    dcvghsd, dude I sent you a pm. Let me know if you got it.

[Edit] - let me just qualify that by saying I couldn't actually send you a pm because you're unregistered but please, send me a pm if you can. I'd like to talk to you.

hmmm nice to see someone taking a personal interest. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

moridin wrote:
    Mmmm, I totaly agree with this... I always thought Jade from BigBrother was quite sexy, yet everyone I've spoken to about it thinks shes (to use her own words) mingin'.
    Weird what you can see in someone that thousands can't... not sure I'd have believed this before I saw Jade :)
    Raarrr!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭MistressPandora

Ah, with all the advice going around here, I'm sure it's making the poor lad's head spin! I agree that coming along to more Boards events would help, anyone who's ever come along when I've been there will know that I'll try to talk to everyone :D I do try! And yeah, sure, going to the gym, swimming etc probably will help.

As for people staring at you on the DART, I'm sure it's not true. As a firm believer in karma, if someone was to stare at me on the DART, I'd usually give a quick smile and continue looking out the window. If they keep staring, stare back. You'll be amazed at how quickly they'll find something else to stare at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭MistressPandora

removed - due to content - Beruthiel

/me pokes optiplexgx270

Be nice, he's looking for advice, not to be brushed away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

You know, its amazing. Sometimes I just feel that the world sucks. Then I see a thread like this, and I see that there are genuinely good people who are trying to help some bloke they have never met.

props to you all.

Original poster. After an ex dumped me, it was the end of the world. i felt like the whole world was imploding on me. i fely ugly - I felt thick, i felt boring, i felt hundreds of bad feelings about myself. I moped and moped, pissing everyone off, my friends and family were sick of me.

Eventually i decided - fúck this, fúck it up the ass, life is for the living. There is plenty time to be dead. Positive Mental Attitude is whats needed.

I have turned everything around. if I can do it, anyone can.

As for that cow in the club - man, try and meet her again. Tell her that the light really bring out the wrinkles by her eyes. That'll soften the silly bint out.

not even slightly helpful
    read the CHARTER
    B

Okily dokely neighbour..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

gimmick wrote:
    I moped

I moped take thee Honda 50 to be my lawful wedded bike....

See, there is someone for all of us you just have to look. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭PullMyFinger!

That c*nt that made that comment is cementing my theory that more and more Dublin girls are going to be left on the shelf, their bitchy levels have known no bounds in the past 3 years or so.

Nope. There will always be more than enough dumb fools in Dublin who will put up with anything, literally anything, to go out with and marry a smashing looking girl in pursuit of some sort of ritualistic self-validation.

Welcome to Ireland in the 00's - a place where you absolutely have to succeed at something :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭PullMyFinger!

So you know where Im comimg from then Mojo? Some of their arrogance is breathtaking. Mind you, Im putting more then my fair share in their place in clubs lately ;) the whole mindgames/power buzz/"Ive a mini skirt on and I own you" bollixology is boring me to f*ck - its time for Dublin males to make a stand!

What happened making eye contact with a girl you like, keeping it going for a bit, making small talk and having a kiss that makes you feel all fuzzy?

So you know where Im comimg from then Mojo? Some of their arrogance is breathtaking. Mind you, Im putting more then my fair share in their place in clubs lately ;) the whole mindgames/power buzz/"Ive a mini skirt on and I own you" bollixology is boring me to f*ck - its time for Dublin males to make a stand!

----TBH HOW MANY GUYS GO TO THE GIRL IN A T-SHIRT AND JEANS OVER THE ONES WEARING MINI-SKIRTS? I think if guys were more realistic with what they need(level head, smart and funneh) instead of what they want (a nice ass and pretty face)then they would find the girls they are really after. If guys stopped thinking with thier dicks then maybe they wouldnt run into so many bitchy girls?

What happened making eye contact with a girl you like, keeping it going for a bit, making small talk and having a kiss that makes you feel all fuzzy?

---that made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside :) shame it doesnt happen anymore.

I agree with most of what you said especially the last bit. Clubs are crap for meeting the opposite sex imo.

As for girls wearing mini skirts - we're not all like that. I like to dress up and look sexy like a lot of girls. Thing is though its a catch 22 for girls sometimes. From my experience in clubs most guys will give the miniskirted girls the attention. I've seen stunning girls in "plain" clothes and an average looking girl in the miniskirt and guess who gets the attention. So girls, especially the younger ones love getting the boys attention and it kind've starts from there. What I'm trying to say really is a lot of guys are giving the girls the message wear sexy clothes and you'll get our attention and a lot of the girls let it go to their head. Sorry if this isn't clear but I'm rushing as I'm finished work at 2 until next tuesday :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭mycroft

dcvghsd wrote:
    I can't take it anymore

Oh firstly self loathing is a major turn off for both sexes. If you hate yourself it's unlikely anyone is going to like you? Thinking of yourself as "scum" and "pigface" isn't going to help matters. You've got to start being happy in yourself. Confidence, and Self belief are the two most attractive attributes for and in both sexes.

May I suggest some councilling, help you learn to love respect and value yourself.

Don't stress about the sex, it'll happen when it happens, don't trawl clubs (esp the kind it sounds like you're frequenting) find hobbies and opportunties to meet people who respect and like you for you, book clubs, societies etc.

Learn to like yourself thats the important thing, don't hate yourself because of your physical appearance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

however, heres something useful that i learnt a long time ago.
    theres someone for everybody in this world. if it means you have to go and find ugly unpopular women, they will probably not really be as picky as some of the better ones you are chatting up.

and the good thing is, *they try harder in bed too!* seriously. the fat unglies of the world are dynamo's in the sack!

check out the 'fat slags' film thats coming out, you may get some insperation!

so chin up mate! while you feel down on yourself now, have a positve outlook on life, because not everyone in life is eligable to be in a calvin klein ad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

chin up, mate.

thanks for yur advice everyone - i have had rhinoplasty and 3rd level Endoscopic face surgery since psoting on this topic last..its seemed to have made difference as I dont feel im being stared at anymore, and I was with a girl in whelans last night for the fisrt time!!!!!!!! (it was my fisrt time out since the wweks of recovery I had to have)

I feel the outlook is much betterfor my life - and I know its only one girl in 27 years - but now that I ahve gone from zero confidence to feeling like I do now I have great hopes I will make it happen agin anad again and again and again.. I deserve it.. I should have got plastic surgery 9 years ago!!!!

all ur support was amazing before - and I hope I never ahve to go to that point in my life again - god bless and have a great time 4 all ur remaing years

that's great to hear...

by the way where did you get the rhinoplasty done and how much?...my friend was thinking of getting it done...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

agreed. all the best, sir.

Excellent news. Happy for you man. Congrats for going and turning things around yourself - that alone may end up being more valuable than any amount of surgery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I like it when stories have a happy ending :o

Good luck for the future, lad :)