Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Places to meet new people

• 05-10-2004 8:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭

hi, basically wondering if there is anywhere besides pubs and nightclubs that is good to meet someone, someone decent!
    cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭Haket

Dating agencies, night classes (that'd have members of the sex you're interested in :-) ),
    latin dance clubs, (plenty in Limerick) etc etc. Basically any place that doesn't have drinking as the primary focus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭Grimlock

This has be asked may times before, only in the last month or 2 if memory serves. Check back through the threads and I’m sure you'll find it.

There is the usual advice; join a sports club, gym, go to evening classes etc.
    I've begun to wonder about this myself recently, I'm not a big fan of niteclubs and at the mo just don't have the cash to join gym's / evening classes cos I’ve just finished college and have bills to pay.

A good idea, I find, is through friends of friends or just friends if you are feeling very adventurous ;-p
    Friends of friends are a good idea cos chances are that they will have a lot of similar interests as you and have similar social circles.

Good luck hunting ;-p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭kopijack

Forums....

some answers just stare at ya in the face :p

Everywhere is a place to meet a person! - think about it that way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

Grimlock wrote:
    join a sports club, gym

ack, the gym aint exactly the best place either. Sure there are some fine specimens walking around but half of them are so far stuck up their own a$$

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Shad0r

imo it depends on who you want to meet.
    I've never had a relationship off of the back of a nightclub encounter, mainly cause I suppose that I wouldnt go out with a girl I slept with the first night I met her!

Seems to me the best place to meet someone is to find an activity you like doing and look for him/her there. In clubs or at competitions or events for that interest. If you share common interests with the person the relationship is much more likely to last.

i.e. - Drama groups, Dancing of one flavour or other, Night classes (esp in any of the creative fields), Martial arts/self defence. Just some, but you get the idea.

If your sole interest is fishing you may have a problem.... ;)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

People always suggest sports clubs as ways to meet people, but how do you go about it exactly?
    I've no friends in this country at the moment and am bored out of my skull. I'm a member of a squash club, but since my regular playing partner went home I've nobody to play with and my membership is wasting away. What am I supposed to do, go and hang out and ask people do they want to be my friend? Am I just playing the wrong sport?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

Shad0r wrote:
    Seems to me the best place to meet someone is to find an activity you like doing and look for him/her there. In clubs or at competitions or events for that interest. If you share common interests with the person the relationship is much more likely to last.

This chap has the right idea.. Don't make it obvious tho! Going there with obvious intent is just sad.. Go, you'll meet a lot of new people, if anything happens it happens. Don't be a sleaze, I've seen them at my sports club..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

The gym is not the way. I've been the member of various gyms for almost 10 years, in Galway, San Diego, Berkeley, San Francisco and Dublin, and have never met anyone through the gym. People are there to work out and get fit, everyone is covered in sweat and wearing lycra (or worse). Join a gym for other reasons.
    I don't have any positive advice here, as I have not been great at meeting anyone decent this year, though have had wonderful relationships with amazing people. Nightclubs and bars are just not the way to go for me. If you are not chatty to strangers, you are bang out of luck. Friends of friends always works well for me, but I've got to that age where ALL my friends are in relationships, as are all of there friends! I always heard that Dublin had more single women than men, if so how come all my age (late 20s) are already taken? :) Funny that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Maternity Ward. I've seen loads of new people in there :p

I take it you're not in college, otherwise you'd meet loads of new people there or at college clubs/societies. Do you work? What are the people you work with like? The crowd in my last workplace were the driest bunch of (stops himself) but I met loads of great people in the place before that.

Squash doesn't sound like the best sport to meet people, especially if you've just the one partner. Try a team sport, or an individual sport that has people coming together in it.

I'm not sure about this one, but since you're from a different country, are there groups where people from your home country meet together? Like I know we Irish have options like that available to us when we go abroad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭secret_squirrel

I'm a member of a squash club, but since my regular playing partner went home I've nobody to play with and my membership is wasting away.

Dont they have a challenge ladder?? If so ask the comitee if they would consider starting one. Offer to help organise it - wammo loads of new peeps met.

Third the advise about meeting people in the gym. They are useless for meeting people unless you get pally with the people in the class - and quite frankly I couldnt do step to save my life. If Gyms were such a good place to meet people mine wouldnt have started this. Can you guess who I am? :eek:

Stark wrote:
    are there groups where people from your home country meet together? Like I know we Irish have options like that available to us when we go abroad.
    yep like Oirish bars - every town must have one :D

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Yeah, sure, there are Irish bars, but I can't afford to drink in there, and i'd kind of prefer to make friends while sober :)
    I should see if they have a squash ladder, try and get in on it. I imagine I'll be spending half an hour a week trying deperately to make small talk with some dry-shíte while getting my arse handed to me on the court, but it's worth a shot I suppose, and I wouldn't waste my membership.
    The main problem is I live in a place with very few foreigners, and the locals are just minus craic :(

On the brighter side at least you dont have to worry about taxi drivers moaning about the fecking foreigners.

Oh and try a boards beers before coughing up any money to maybefriends.