Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Neverwinter Nights

• 16-09-2004 10:34am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭

Would anyone be interested in getting the Neverwinter Nights games going again ?

If theres interest I'll get the server restarted, maybe on a box of its own this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Furez

Sure would Just reinstalled it the other night and was wondering where the server went :)

Furez

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭Rev Hellfire

K, sure I'll start it up again, need to move things around box-wise so I'll post when its back.

Would people be on for restarting the wednesday night session again ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Would you guys be open to a new member joining? I've always wanted to try NWN online. Just never got around to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,950 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

hey lads what neverwinter like on a 56k modem

is it playable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

plays fine on 56k actually, i might pop in some time if i get a chance.. im recently married so have other eh duties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,950 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

is there alot of slow down with a 56k and what kind of game is it like online

56k Is fine if you are in the same country snoop.

Ill try to make Wed nights but Im a shift worker :( so will miss some.

furez

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭LoBo

Yeah i'd be on for it once I get BB in new house- probably in a few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭zekiel

I've been playing a little on the PW of AVLIS, but wouldnt mind getting going again.

The server has returned from its travels.
    Keep an eye out for 'Keep on the monaghan border'

I'm just about to start my own install now.

Tis a Damn hard Scenario.. Im doing ok up to lvl 4 bard using the sewers and caves of chaos. But the XP loss on death is severe and the 2 hour rest thingy is annoying for spellcasters.

If you bump into something big run, run like hell :).

Furzy

Yeah its a good one that, normally what we do is pick a module and play it through over the course of a few nights, saving the game between games. I'll have a look for a good shortish module which we can give a go on say wednesday night. If you're interested stick your name down and what expansion packs you have.
    Lets say Wednesday at 9:00, we can met up on #nwn.ie on quakenet.org, and for those of you with mic's we can use the teamspeak server (games3.iol.ie) and the neverwinter nights channel.

NWN + SoU + HotU, wed at 9:00 suits fine.
    Won't be available until broadband becomes activated, likely in 2+ weeks.

Nasty penalties for death in a group scenario are a good idea IMO, otherwise you just rush in, kamikaze, respawn + repeat. Better to have to plan or face the consequences :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,339 ✭✭✭✭LoLth

NWN + sou + hotu
    wed at 9 sounds grand.

not a huge amount of new multiplayer scenarios up that I can see....

whats the addy for the nwn server at the minute?

games2.iol.ie

same as before, see the guy who did dreamcatcher and shadowlords has a new one out out, but its a 'cardbased' one. I'll take a look at it later,

The cardbased thing is an 'interesting' concept for a mtg-like collectible card game in NWN. Not something you'd play as a group though, at all.

One thing I've never tried is a game with a DM - anyone want to try this? (and be the sadistic DM?)

I'd go for sadist dm person :) .

I'm not evil though. just morally misunderstood.

please be a scenario with trolls and undead......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭MarVeL

Assuming I can beat my PC into submission I'll drop in on Wednesday. Have ye got a module picked?

broadband is now 'on' - anyone interested in a game this wednesday?

Will have a look through some scenarios tonight. Would like to try out one for starting chars with DM and without instant-respawn.. any ideas?

Plenty to read on DM'd scenarios here.

The Vethboro Dragon looks like it might suit, for 1st level chars and for a beginner DM.

Ok, Last wednesday kind of fell through.

I've got us a nice new server which we can use, so we can set up the old setup we had before with keys available to lock and unlock the server.

We played Dragon before but since its new people we could give it a go, I'll not make it myself but I'll see that the server is running and sort out giving teh dm password out.

Alright well if you are going to play, post here- I reckon if we go for the Vethboro Dragon scenario (I've never played it, u others?) we'll need 1x DM + 3-6 players.

I'll play any class to fill out the party.
    It's this Wed 6th at 9.00pm.

I played it. I'll go DM if no-one else wants to. I like torturing people in the name of fun.

Ok,

Just to warn people ahead of time you will need the following file which should be extracted into your hak directory where you installed Neverwinter Nights.

JHR1-MultiplayPack-v119.zip

The modules installed, its a clean server so everyone is starting at the start. I suggest that it is used for campaign games only, thus allowing u to progress a character at the same rate as each other.

File's 656KB, so 56ker friendly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭MarVeL

Sounds good to me. Any thoughts as to party composition? I wouldn't mind going fighter or thief if appropriate

broadband was down last night .. :eek: anyone turn up?