Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Problem with neighbours

• 14-09-2004 9:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭

My current neighbours are the most ignorant people I've ever come accross. Luckily I work fulltime and don't see them often. They have only been living there around 2 months. TBH I don't know who exactly lives there as so many come and go its unreal. They are only renting the house. Problem is lately they have been parking their car outside their house but practically up next to the start of my wall and you have to walk out onto the road to get to my house as the gap is way too narrow. I usually have my son in his buggy and its quite a narrow lightweight buggy yet still I can't get through. My Mam minds my son whilst I work and has said it twice to them and the man (don't know his name) literally grunted at my Mam. I got really annoyed on Sunday because it was lashing raining and I had my son with me so I went in and knocked on the door and asked them again nicely and he was almost laughing at me for overreacting. So being really p*ssed off I said don't be surprised if your car gets scratched trying to squeeze the buggy through. Couldn't get through so again I had to walk out onto the road in the pouring rain. A few other neighbours have said it too to them yet they won't move their car. Same again yesterday evening. I was so tempted to scratch my keys against the car but my Mam was with me and said we'll ask nicely once more and if not we'll ring the guards. Anyone any idea if its illegal to park the majority of your car on the footpath - literally they only have around a quarter of their car on the road! Would the guards do anything? This morning it was parked so close to the wall my daughter caught her schoolbag in the mirror and you'd nearly have to turn sideways to pass - we are both petite people so you can imagine how narrow the gap is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

A footpath is for feet, not for cars (there's a hint in the name). Get the guards over as it looks like the only way you'll solve it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭ravenhead

climaxer wrote:
    My current neighbours are the most ignorant people I've ever come accross. Luckily I work fulltime and don't see them often. They have only been living there around 2 months. TBH I don't know who exactly lives there as so many come and go its unreal. They are only renting the house. Problem is lately they have been parking their car outside their house but practically up next to the start of my wall and you have to walk out onto the road to get to my house as the gap is way too narrow. I usually have my son in his buggy and its quite a narrow lightweight buggy yet still I can't get through. My Mam minds my son whilst I work and has said it twice to them and the man (don't know his name) literally grunted at my Mam. I got really annoyed on Sunday because it was lashing raining and I had my son with me so I went in and knocked on the door and asked them again nicely and he was almost laughing at me for overreacting. So being really p*ssed off I said don't be surprised if your car gets scratched trying to squeeze the buggy through. Couldn't get through so again I had to walk out onto the road in the pouring rain. A few other neighbours have said it too to them yet they won't move their car. Same again yesterday evening. I was so tempted to scratch my keys against the car but my Mam was with me and said we'll ask nicely once more and if not we'll ring the guards. Anyone any idea if its illegal to park the majority of your car on the footpath - literally they only have around a quarter of their car on the road! Would the guards do anything? This morning it was parked so close to the wall my daughter caught her schoolbag in the mirror and you'd nearly have to turn sideways to pass - we are both petite people so you can imagine how narrow the gap is.

Even if the car is parked out side of their house, it is illegal for them to park it on the footpath, I learnt this the hardway after getting tickets for parking outside my house.....
    You should just go to the garda's and say that the car is causing a dangerous obstruction, they are completely in the wrong, have you got a neighbourhood watch or anything like that? They might also be able to help?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭climaxer

Thanks Imposter - I was afraid the Guards would think I was overreacting too. If its the same this evening after work I'm gonna inform the Garda.

Ravenhead no we don't have neighbourhood watch. This might be a good time to start one up.

It might be an idea because if it happens again after you contact the gardas if you get together with neightbours about it you can contact their landlord & put in a complaint to have them moved .... Hang in there, there is help out there againist ignorant people like this!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

If that doesn't work - leave some cavity bricks, or your wheely bin outside in the way.
    Another one is to put slices of bread on the car some night when it's raining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭LizardKing

We had similar trouble with a neighbour across the road from us, He used to park his big Van with 4 wheels on the footpath , blocking it totally for pedestrians, buggys , wheelchairs etc. My Dad wrote to the local TD. The TD must have then went to the Guards, as 2 officers knocked into the house and gave the guy a warning , told him to park the car elsewhere or else. Problem solved , he never parked there again and we did not get any hassle as the police told him they had received a number of complaints.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

I'd call (in to) the guards. Explain the situation to them. Not only is it illegal, they can be quite sympathetic in cases like this, especially with you and the buggy having difficulty getting in and our your house. They'll call round and give them a warning, it should stop fairly sharpish. If not, call the guards again, and if one of your neighbours knows who owns the house, give the landlord a call.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Hello Kitty

Same kind of thing happened to me. This guy who lived two houses down kept parking outside our house, but when my mam told him to move it he did and he hasnt parked there since!!

The only thing you can do is inform the guards, but dont get mad and key the guys car itll only make it worse!
    You have pig headed nieghbours! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

The garda will sort them out quick enough, sad really that they won't just move for you and the young lad. If they are really annoying I have a fix that will get rid of them altogether. ;)

Thanks for all the replies - I really thought I was over-reacting about it but the more I think of it its making my blood boil. I can't understand why they would be so stubborn as I've done nothing to them before. I even tried being friendly when they moved in and would always say hello but they just don't have any manners. I think I'll say it once more in a nice manner and if that fails I'll inform the Garda. I live on my own with my two kids and really don't want to be getting hassle back from them. I mean if they are that rude and stubborn they might try get their own back or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

No, you're not overreacting at all, and I wouldn't let it go either. You've asked them nicely several times already, and they were still jerks about it.

climaxer wrote:
    Thanks for all the replies - I really thought I was over-reacting about it but the more I think of it its making my blood boil. I can't understand why they would be so stubborn as I've done nothing to them before. I even tried being friendly when they moved in and would always say hello but they just don't have any manners. I think I'll say it once more in a nice manner and if that fails I'll inform the Garda. I live on my own with my two kids and really don't want to be getting hassle back from them. I mean if they are that rude and stubborn they might try get their own back or something.

If they are really that bad & you're on your own in the house I think that maybe the sutile way might be the best, do something like suggested earlier like leaving your bin in the way of them parking their car there, that way you're not confronting them but still sorting out the problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,215 ✭✭✭FX Meister

If the Gardai don't help can't you ring the clampers directly? They're more than happy to make a buck out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

i had the same kind of problem with my neighbour. i live in a cul de sac and everyone on the road bar them has had their driveways made bigger so as not to clog up the road with cars so the kids can play there. there was 3 cars in my family but only two fit in the drive so i parked on the road but it didnt obstruct an traffic or stop the kids from playin there. the only thing was that i was blockin was the other cars in my drive from leaving but that wasnt a problem to my family.

but my neighbours who did park on the road didnt like the car being parked there so they started moving their car further and futher up the road so my car wouldnt be able to be parked there without blockin in other cars. they are stubborn and wont listen wen i ask them to move their car back so now i have to park my car b4 they come home or else block in other cars

Thanks again for all the replies. Yesterday evening the car was the same I couldn't get past with the buggy so I went in and really nicely asked him to move it. I kept really calm and was very reasonable and was so nice I think he got a fright! Anyway he moved the car. I told him it is illegal and totally unfair on people having to walk out onto the road. So hopefully its sorted. I also told him I have informed the garda and shown them some pictures (which I haven't) and this made him cop on too.

Orla I can't understand why people are so spiteful. I have a drive but not a car! The people accross the road have a car and no drive and I told them they could park their car in my drive if they wanted which they often do.