Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AVI to DVD

• 13-09-2004 8:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭

I think im being stupid but i cant seem to do this...

Tryn to burn some avi files to dvd so they'll play on a DVD player. How do i do this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭DingChavez

:cool: *Get* :cool: Cucusoft AVI to VCD DVD. Simple as pie to use. (www.filedonkey.com + emule can find it)

I reccomend you make VCD files and burn them onto DVDs. DivX quality and you can fit a few movies on one DVD. Or just convert to DVD, watever.

Also, use Nero to burn when you got your file converted. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,579 ✭✭✭Webmonkey

Well if you got burning software you should have got some basic dvd creation software. It should be able to handle avi files, unless of course they have a codec like divx, but raw avi should work no probs. It is converted to mpeg, and then to vob files for dvd creation. I found the DVD Creation program in Roxio Easy CD Creator good, i'm sure nero is good also. You'll find it hard to find other software to do it, i mean including the burning process. Correct me if im wrong with anything i've said

Edit: ah! Got there before me, go with his solution, its simple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭davmigil

Have a look at the Audio Video Editing Forum
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=404

www.doom9.org is a really good site on all matters DVD (forums are good too)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭unklerosco

DingChavez wrote:
    :cool: *Get* :cool: Cucusoft AVI to VCD DVD. Simple as pie to use. (www.filedonkey.com + emule can find it)

I reccomend you make VCD files and burn them onto DVDs. DivX quality and you can fit a few movies on one DVD. Or just convert to DVD, watever.

Also, use Nero to burn when you got your file converted. ;)

Had that but the demo is limited to a 1mb conversion!!!!!!! How is that a demo????

Ill see if i can 'get' it somewhere tho...

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,937 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

I use this
    http://www.dvdsanta.com/

Found it by fluke and it converts from avi,mpg etc to DVD on the fly.Will also burn automatically if you have Nero installed.
    The free version shows the words"demo--please purchase full version for $29.99" in the borders for about 2 mins of the movie you`ve burned but if you can put up with this its an excellent program.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭bambam

As mentioned before on boards, one of the simplest tools is nero vision express 2

My DVD player plays Divx files, I take it im just supposed to copy the Divx files to Dvd n they'll play... Ive tried it but it dont work(on my dvd player or Pc)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭DingChavez

unklerosco wrote:
    My DVD player plays Divx files, I take it im just supposed to copy the Divx files to Dvd n they'll play... Ive tried it but it dont work(on my dvd player or Pc)

You NEED to convert it. It has to fit the dementions of PAL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

lads, i need to convert a DIVX .avi file on to a video cd, but i've tried twice and it wont play in my sony dvd player. am i doing it right?

Make sure u sony plays Vcd's.... Our Sony wont play anything that isnt an original DVD/CD.

There's a database on the net that'll tell u what ur Sony will play, cant remeber where it is tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

unklerosco wrote:
    Make sure u sony plays Vcd's.... Our Sony wont play anything that isnt an original DVD/CD.

There's a database on the net that'll tell u what ur Sony will play, cant remeber where it is tho.

My Sony DVD player will play Vcd's but won't play CD-R's. So to play a VCD that you make yourself, you have to put it onto a CD-RW.

That one took me a long time to figure out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭StRiKeR

what is the compression used on that avi? where did you get it from?
    theres many different types of them and some dont work very well when converting, most can be done by using NeroVision Express, that comes with Nero6 Ulra Edition! if its Ksvcd files or rmvb you need some more tools, let me know if you know anymore info about the file! I've done all different types of format only one i haven't go near is Quick time which isnt very widely used!

the compression is avi. i use nero, it seems to burn grand but it wont play on my SonyDVP-NS300. are ye sayin that a cd-rw will work, buy my cd-r's wont??

ok how did you burn it? did you use nerovision to convert it to dvd or did you burn it as vcd?we have a ns330 and that plays everything i've burned using nero, some i have to re encode using TMPGEnc, also the brand od the discs is important, what brand are you using, some of them will burn fine but they wont play, if its dvd try using the + if you can, and try using memorex or something similar, they worked very well for me in alot of dvd players, even the ps2 i had plays them fine, but i dont know about the ns300 will play dvdr or cdr! you have to check that yourself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭K!LL!@N

I've just tried cucusoft avi to dvd.
    It worked brilliantly for a divx encoded avi file.
    I then tried to do the same again but with a ksvcd and the sound got way out of sync.
    I'm going to try it again with more divx avi's and see how it works.

I'll also try this santa dvd thing.

If cucusoft works again for divx with no problems then i'll put it down to the ksvcd.

Sony players seem to be some of the worst players when it comes to playing cd-r, and either dvd-r or dvd+r i can't remember which.
    My mate has a pretty expensive sony player and it can't play a lot of stuff.
    Where as my black diamond player, will play anything i throw at it and cost a fraction of the price.

Killian

if you want to convert ksvcd u need to use TMPGEnc, i can send u the profile for ksvcd, then you have to de-multiplex the sound to one file, then to re-encode the ksvcd souce to mpeg2(video only), after that multiplex the 2 files to a new mpeg2 file, finally use nero to make it into DVD, and you have a perfect convertion!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭K!LL!@N

i've only got the one ksvcd as far as i know and i just finished watching it on the comp but cheers for the info. :)

Killian

no problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭vishal

if you can get your hands on cce, scenarist and dvd2svcd, it will ensure the best quality conversion possible.

i have a 700mb movie NTSC DIVX format, i want to put it on a memorex 700mb 48X disc as a VCD and play it in a Sony DVP-NS300! is this possible?

scenarist is a very good programe actually

i'm looking for a prob that will convert ntsc to pal... does this really matter?? the standard format is already there does ntsc or pal really matter?

it does matter , if your tv can't play back ntsc, you only get black and white image! you can use EasyXVC to convert ntsc to pal or the other way round! very easy to use, just make sure you set the output to 25fps and the resolution for pal is 352x288! thats for vcd! as for rather your dvd player will play it or not, I dont know, check your dvd player manual!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

VinnyL wrote:
    are ye sayin that a cd-rw will work, buy my cd-r's wont??

What I am saying is that on my Sony DVD player, CD-R's won't work, CD-RW's will. It doesn't matter what is on the CD-R (audio, video), it just won't read them.

Try a normal audio CD - should work.

Now try an audio CD burned onto CD-R - does it work? If it does, you are fine, don't mind me. If it doesn't, onto the next step.

Try an audio CD burned onto CD-RW - see if it works.

At least now you will know if it is a CD-R problem or not.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,937 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Actually Sonys are crap for playing back VCD.I had a dvpns300 and ended up selling it and getting a 59 euro job that will play back anything you throw at it.

Sonys will only play back VCD burnt on CDRW or some decent brand CDRS but theyre not the best at playing back cdr.They wont even play back SVCD.

This website is excellent for checking the playback abilities of ALL dvd players.This one is for the dvpns300.
    http://www.videohelp.com/dvdplayers.php?DVDname=sony+dvpns300&Search=Search&country=&orderby=Name

the NS330 I have plays everything I burnt, sometimes u get the odd ones that wont play but not many!