Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

this is doing my head in!!

• 10-09-2004 10:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

ok...

this is kinda hard to bring across so ill try my best...

this mainly happened last year in college and i really want it to change this year..

ok...in our year there is this guy who is a magnet to everyone..a real people pleaser...he's the type that make anyone laugh...

he makes groups of people laugh and is quite the centre of attention...

the thing that annoys the hell out of me is that i am too very funny...but he seems to shroud my chances of having myself seen..

its like hes a step ahead of me all the time..

this isnt a compeeting thing at all as he is totally un-ware

im not cocky or anything like that..i just love to make people laugh but i feel he has given himself a a strong foundation in the college...and when i try to be funny...my standard of humour is almost sub-standard now because
    he has set the pole so high..(i hope people are understanding this..lol)

being funny for me clotheds my personality..without it i feel naked...

but i feel like he has filled my shoes and totally surpassed it....

i hope you guys have understood this..if not ask...

and what do you think i can do about it?..nothing?..something?

any help would be great!

thanks.. Dave

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Apparently I'm hilarious, I can't really see it. I think most of it is not giving a ****e and having that type of character. IF anythign having two witty people in a group should work to your advancage as you bounce off each other to the amusement of your other friends. So maybe you aint that funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,264 ✭✭✭RicardoSmith

I think you have to ask yourself why is your self esteem, and self worth based on being popular and funny. It shouldn't be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭kirn

people will always see you trying too hard.

just be yourself, be natural, and if thats funny then cool.

don't worry about him. there will always be someone nicer, funnier, better looking, and more intelligent, so don't try and be better than them and your own qualities will come through.

i sound like me ma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

sorry..i forgot to mention..i hate this bloke..we used to be mates but hes turned out to be a back stabbing pr!ck...

it gets my blood boiling when i see him trying to start off being mates with someone because i know he'll take advantage of them...

richardo....its not 'based' on being funny and popular at all...
    i just feel like i cant be who i want to be because he always beats me to the punch line.. and thats where my anger comes from..

but thanks for the replys guys

cheers.. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Hello Kitty

Dont let it annoy you, dont be like standing around waiting and thinking about saying something funny, theres no point... just be yourself and let it come naturally.
    And when this other guy says something funny just laugh and say something even funnier!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Boston wrote:
    So maybe you aint that funny.

Agreed! You don't sound like a barrel o laughs to me either.

I suggest you curry the classes favour by other means, perhaps by doing their assignments for the rest of the year or giving everyone in your class 50 euro in exchange for acknowledging your existence.

In short, cop on and get over it. Theres nothing worse than a person who CRAVES attention (as you clearly do) and I'll bet that's item #1 that's putting people off you ..... not Mr.Wonderful over in the corner there stealing your punchlines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

tbh I'm surprised that no one has posted the attention whore pics yet!

Try bounce off his jokes if you're that worried about it, but take a fairly long look at your system of judging self worth too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

A good stabbing never fails to draw a crowd.

i just feel like i cant be who i want to be because he always beats me to the punch line.. and thats where my anger comes from..

Sounds like David Brent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Boston wrote:
    Apparently I'm hilarious, I can't really see it. I think most of it is not giving a ****e and having that type of character. IF anythign having two witty people in a group should work to your advancage as you bounce off each other to the amusement of your other friends. So maybe you aint that funny.
    If you really wanna feel funny, cover him in curry sauce, pee on him, then run round screaming "i'm the jolly rodger, i'm the jolly rodger!!"

disclaimer: this will NOT work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Dear Chandler,

Remember that Joey only gets the one-night stands.

Monica

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭blobert

Sarky wrote:
    A good stabbing never fails to draw a crowd.

clearly the best idea yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Bungalow Bill

Wow, i mean really, this is a big problem for you???
    DO you actually expect people to sympathize with you??

You know some people can't walk, some people are orphans....but you....have somebody who is marginally funnier than you....you poor guy... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭Teddi

bungalow...

give hima break......

you dont know the guy

Teddi wrote:
    bungalow...

give hima break......

you dont know the guy

What do you need to know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭ven0m

Sounds like David Brent?

What's FUNNY is his name is 'Dave'.....hmmmmmm what the frig is goin in there I ask ye....

as for Dave - get over yourself.... smack him in the mouth, threaten everybody that if they laugh at his jokes you'll knee-cap them with a sledgehammer & see if anyone laughs..... if they don't, you were never funny..... hehehehe

::: ven0mous :::

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I'll sell you some quality jokes, only used once or twice...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭littleninja

To the original poster....

What should matter is being yourself, actually trying to be funny very rarely works and on the rare occasion that it DID work, you would be constantly trying to find more ways to top the last joke, meaning that you would be sucked into the vicious circle of trying to keep up with the Jones's so to speak.

Why not leave the other guy to what he does and just try chilling out a bit. It has been pointed out before that people could possibly think you're trying too hard to make people laugh and that is very off putting.

That way you don't have the stress of having to think up new material to "entertain" the people.
    it gets my blood boiling when i see him trying to start off being mates with someone because i know he'll take advantage of them...

People can make up their own minds about who they do (or don't) want to be associated with anyway and if this guy really is a pr!ck he will get his comeuppance soon enough, sure he is wowing the crowds now with his jokes, but you can be fairly sure that if he is trying to take advantage of them, they would more than likely find out for themselves. And in all honesty, if someone said to me "don't be friends with 'him' he's going to try take advantage of you" then I would more than likely not listen.

You sound as if this is effecting your self confidence.... Chill for a while, don't worry about how much better the joke he's just told may or may not be than yours, you don't know what makes people laugh, could be that they would find your sense of humour better than his. It can do no harm to try can it...

Good luck with it whatever course of action you decide to take. Although, life's too short to be worried about something like this in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭bombidol

Realistically there feck al you can do. but trying to compete or outdo this bloke you will make an Ejit out of yourself and alienate yourself further. start small and dont try to be funny, if you are a funny bloke then it will happen naturally in conversation and people respect that more than a bloke running wildly around and falling on the floor to get attention

• Closed Accounts Posts: 574 ✭✭✭Silent Grape

teddi, was that you replying to your own therad under a guest account? it was a bit indiscreet if it is you.

Anyway, this guy is in college with you, yeh? is it a small class? is it just around him you feel this way? if yes, just get away from him as much as you can, get your own friends, make an identity for yourself other than being the funny one. you'd be surprised how quckly people can change their opinions. i doubt very much he is as 'in there with the funny' as you think. maybe funy is all he is, maybe there's nothing else to him. anyway this isnt about him, its about how u see yourself.

maybe the whole thing here is confidence. its like you're blaming other circumstances, like this guy, because you arn't confident enough to accept that u arn't as funny, yet still be secure in yourself. people dont 'shroud' other people's abilities. your low self esteem is the only thing thats doing the shrouding here.

i know what its like to practically be addicted to comparing myself to other people. i got quite obsessive with this one girl, an ex of my (then) bf's. then i realised it wasnt her that was making me unhappy, it was me. so i got the hell away from her and now barely think about her in a self destructive way.

anyway, gud luck x

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

You must bludgeon your rival to death with bare hands in front of fe-males in dining area.

Only then will you get the _respect_ you deserve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

Do stand up.
    Or have a Walk off.

people probably like the guy because he doesn't try to make them laugh, but is just naturally humourus. People generally dont wanna hang around with someone who tries too hard. So just go and have fun. thats what college is there for.