Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What happens if a site under prices a component?

• 09-09-2004 12:38pm
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭

If a site for example quotes a really obvious incorrect price, lets say an x800xt for £50ST and I order it where do I stand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

if they bill you and take your money then they have to stand by the price.
    If you order it and then they send you a mail saying "that price was incorrect, sorry", don't bill you or take any money then they do not have to stand by the price.

Read their T&C's and see what it says about order confirmation etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

It's an order for invitation, they don't have to sell it to you at that price.
    If they charge you, you're set though.

Why, what did you find? ;)
    Feel free to enlighten me by pm! hehe

In my experience the companies usually find out and send out a mail "sorry, that price was wrong, want to order it at full price?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭-oRnein9-

I order this from jes yesterday and on the website the gfx card was quoted €55 cheaper than usual. In my email that i recieved from them the price was indeed €345 rather than €400 but in the total the price amounted to the card costing €400 see this JES Computer

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

I've read through all policy documents I could find and no reference to apricing policy. This is a genuine mistake I have spotted, an X800XT PCI-E listed as £46.98ST inc. VAT. I suppose I may as well order it and see what happens. I'm sure I can cancel it if they contact me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

ah give it a shot.

-oRnein9- , you might want to delete your personal info (address) there :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭Mutant_Fruit

Who's up for a daytrip to kildare! :p

As for the 50sterling graphics card, try and get two. I'll buy one off ya for 150euro if you get it for that price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

musician wrote:
    I've read through all policy documents I could find and no reference to apricing policy. This is a genuine mistake I have spotted, an X800XT PCI-E listed as £46.98ST inc. VAT. I suppose I may as well order it and see what happens. I'm sure I can cancel it if they contact me.

Can you PM or post here where this is and did you get it for the 46 sterling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Well Peats made a mistake with DVD players last xmas and lots of the prices were €50 notes cheeper than they should of been. The guy on Peats was way cool and sold me the player for the mistakenly listed price but did change the price on their website asap :)

For 50 notes it well worth chancing your arm for a uber cheep XT :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭-oRnein9-

Yeah all are welcome, come to leixkip i'll be waiting for ya's with me friend friend Mr. T. Wobyfour and his cousing Mr. B. Aseballbat, hands of the merchandise :cool:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

I've ordered it. The receipt does say that the amount will be deducted but I'll have to wait and see. The other problem is that they have 14 of the cards on order and they 'aint actually got in stock yet. Might not work but it was worth a try. I'm not sure about posting the link because a crowd of Irish lads ordering like mad may well alert them.

Ah sure well I'm not a lad and I'm not Irish so you can go ahead and PM me the link.

musician wrote:
    I'm not sure about posting the link because a crowd of Irish lads ordering like mad may well alert them.

Just send it to me.....feck the rest of them ;) can order to UK address so they dont know Im from the Free State! haha!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,683 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rew

Venom wrote:
    Well Peats made a mistake with DVD players last xmas and lots of the prices were €50 notes cheeper than they should of been. The guy on Peats was way cool and sold me the player for the mistakenly listed price but did change the price on their website asap :)

Peats is normally 50 quid more expensive then everyone else anyway so it all works out ;)

Venom wrote:

For 50 notes it well worth chancing your arm for a uber cheep XT :)

Currys in Blanch did the same....they put a load of IBM microdrives into a bargain basement bin and sold them for 50 or something cheaper than that!! know a few lads that bought them before they figured out wat was happening!! they have to sell for the price listed in a normal shop so I wud say it is the same on the web!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭Syth

The price that's listed on a website or a sticker on the item isn't legally binding. The price you get charged at the checkout is. If they charge you less in the checkout, then that's a contract, and there's nothing they can do, they have to sell it to you at that price. If they refuse, sue them. (No seriously, you can! You had a contract. Placing an order is a contract.)
    koneko wrote:
    send out a mail "sorry, that price was wrong, want to order it at full price?"
    LOL, have they ever done that?!
    "I'd love to give you more money! Here take it! Want some more?" [/sarcasm]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Musician, when your card's securely n the post, please post the URL here :)

Khannie wrote:
    Musician, when your card's securely n the post, please post the URL here :)

Yep good idea! any update?

No I'm pretty sure they aren't obliged to give it to you at the price from the checkout either.

Dell have done this a few times, marking things incorrectly. The Inquirer or Register looked into it as far as I can remember aswell, it's an invitation to sale, it's not legally binding.

But if they notice the mistake before posting anything or charging anyone, i've seen companies ring or mail the customers before and say "Actually the price is x, would you like to go ahead with the order anyway or cancel?".

If it's a small company they're more likely to notice, unless it's a big company and loads of people start ordering the mispriced item (like happens on Dell's site).

Forgot to mention, check the T&C. They usually cover themselves for this type of scenario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Dr Bolouswki

Dell have made a number of errors like this

Couple of weeks ago we offered a 9100 (decent enough gaming laptop) at 520 ex vat less than it should - we honoured it

we also offered a projector with screen and surround sound purchased with a system at 667 euro ex vat instead of its correct price of 1799 ex vat!! I think we honoured that one too!

But anyway, its usually from a reputation point of view that we honour them, rather than legal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 8080

Here's another dell error . It's in the wrong direction so i suppose they'd only be too happy to honour it

Killah_B wrote:
    Dell have made a number of errors like this

Couple of weeks ago we offered a 9100 (decent enough gaming laptop) at 520 ex vat less than it should - we honoured it

we also offered a projector with screen and surround sound purchased with a system at 667 euro ex vat instead of its correct price of 1799 ex vat!! I think we honoured that one too!

But anyway, its usually from a reputation point of view that we honour them, rather than legal.

Funny friend of mine ordered a mistakenly priced system form Dell and he got a mail saying the price was wrong and the proper price and would he still like to order. 9100 would have been very nice at that price, must keep a better eye on the site ;)

koneko wrote:
    No I'm pretty sure they aren't obliged to give it to you at the price from the checkout either.

Dell have done this a few times, marking things incorrectly. The Inquirer or Register looked into it as far as I can remember aswell, it's an invitation to sale, it's not legally binding.

But if they notice the mistake before posting anything or charging anyone, i've seen companies ring or mail the customers before and say "Actually the price is x, would you like to go ahead with the order anyway or cancel?".

If it's a small company they're more likely to notice, unless it's a big company and loads of people start ordering the mispriced item (like happens on Dell's site).

Dell sold off a load of desktops worth over a grand for like 200 at one time due to wrong pricing and honoured so dont know where you came up with this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Didn't they only honour 10 of those orders and everyone else got the above email?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Makaveli wrote:
    Didn't they only honour 10 of those orders and everyone else got the above email?
    They were selling them at pretty much zero cost. If you went in and removed the 3 year's warranty, the price was actually minus (i.e. Dell would owe you a machine and money :D).

Many people went and ordered loads of machines, others attempted to order machines with a negative price. Afaik, Dell honoured everyone who ordered just one machine at the positive price (€50 or summat), i.e "People who genuinely ordered the machine in good faith" and told everyone else who tried to abuse it, to **** off. One guy on boards got a machine.

A price is an invitation to buy. A retailer is never under obligation to sell any product. If delivery of a product has not taken place, the retailer has the right to retract the sale.

My friend ordered it at a positive price...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭Syth

seamus wrote:
    If delivery of a product has not taken place, the retailer has the right to retract the sale.
    I would think that once you get a "Thank you for your order" page/email, then the transction has gone ahead and a contract has been entered into. An a contract is a contract is a contract is a contract. At least if it was me that's what I'd be saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Syth wrote:
    I would think that once you get a "Thank you for your order" page/email, then the transction has gone ahead and a contract has been entered into. An a contract is a contract is a contract is a contract. At least if it was me that's what I'd be saying.
    Yes and no. The retailer cannot change the terms of that contract as it has been agreed upon, but the provision to cancel or amend that contract (by creating a new one, agreed upon with buyer) exists, in cases where that original contract cannot, for whatever reason, be fulfilled, or the original contract is incorrect due to human or machine error.

That's how I understand it anyway, but I'm not exactly up on contract law. By the very same virtue, a shopkeeper who discovers a member of staff undercharging his mates on goods can cawncel the contract of sale before delivery of the goods takes place.

A quick check on oasis.gov.ie seems to say that, in the case of Internet transactions anyway, once an order has been placed, the retailer has an obligation to carry out that order within 30 days, and in that time, he can refuse to carry out the order and refund the cost, or change the order, on agreement with the buyer.

Did you get the card for the price and if so can you PM me the link? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭El_MUERkO

The deal was on dabs.co.uk and its long gone, it looks like some people did get it though.

Yeah, 2nd that. Come on musician! Pipe up!

El_MUERkO wrote:
    The deal was on dabs.co.uk and its long gone, it looks like some people did get it though.

Feck! I knew it was dabs, from the exremely accurate price. I went digging there, but couldn't find it. Did they honour it though, yeah?

Fair play. I can't stand them because of their delivery costs to here, but they get a thumbs up if they did honour it.

Anyone here get one?

No I didnt get it. They obsoleted it and emailed saying it was an incorrect price. I had the option of taking the card at cost price (a gesture on their part) or cancelling the order. So I cancelled. I'm buying an AMD 64 anyway so PCI-E is no use to me. Would have been nice at the price though. I probably will eventually go for their x800XT PE because it's the best price I've seen.