Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

wooo my temps are sorted!

• 07-09-2004 9:39am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 807 ✭✭✭

just mailed msi for a new bios and they have sent me a 1.45 beta i think

updated it..reboot cpu temp 33! :D

thats more like it!

whether it works after another reboot is another subject but i just thought id share my good news..for now :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,998 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Could you attach it here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭-oRnein9-

Could ya post the email address that you used, I have the same setup as you and I installed win xp from 98 yesterday and now corecentre says that my cpu idles at 47degrees and motherboard monitor says that my cpu idles at 126degreess wtf, I need this sorted, imho both these temps are wrong.
    Richy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 807 ✭✭✭ViperVenoM

nuts it doesnt allow .rar files i emailed em at:

support@msi.com.tw

Thank you for contacting MSI Technical Support.

With regard to your concerned, we would suggest you try to update the attached BIOS and kindly let us know the result.

Thank you for supporting MSI product. Please feel free to let us know if you still have any further issues or inquiries.

Best regards,

MSI Technical Support

got that off em the next day ..hold up ill zip the file..when i install winzip..

noo file size too big..ill upload it to my webspace..

http://www.homer9k.karoo.net/Bios.rar

hope that helps...my system is reporting 40 which i think is still off..but cpu 35 seems a lot better than 69 :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭Jammer

there is a 1.48beta bios too...the msi support forms have it stickied

what the hell did they send me an old 1 for then!

well..i dont care ive rebooted my machine amd my temps have stayed under 40 so its good enough for me

34 idle..loooking goood..think i may let some overclocking take place..

thats cool..i'm idling at 39' at 1.7V @ 2607mhz...i wonder if my temps are misreading...if they are...there shall be some more hiking done. i doubt it though. i'm using the last offical bios, 1.3

1.3 was a no go for me..first installed it and it went down to 41..then after i restarted it was stuck at 69..ran pcmark04 and bloody mbm5 started beeping coz it was 78 or summat...ran pcmark04 now...goes to 49..seems a little high since it idles around 34...my barton only went up about 6 degrees from idle to full load :confused:

but ah well ..these are working..for now

just had a little test run, tightened my ram timings and upped them to 220fsb gave em 2.7v just incase.. and put the mulitplier down to 11 so the cpu is only overclocked like..20mhz im trying to keep that stock for now till i see how far i can get the ram..but things are looking good..memtest encountered 0 errors..and put my cpu under full load and that time it only went to 42 :rolleyes:

but im nearing 22k on 3dmark01..definetly seeing an improvement..

whats the fsb and multi as stock on that chip?

my 3400?

12x200 ...i tried 12x210 first time and i got some crap drive error..dunno wot thats about ..maybe the htt thing...but im gonna try 10.5x230 next...still leaving it..stock..or there abouts..

was it telling u something was corrupted? if so ur AGP/PCI lock isnt activated. Put AGP setting from 66 to 68 to activate it

how did u flash ur bios?

• Moderators Posts: 5,580 ✭✭✭Azza

Nice viper I sent you a page message.

i flashed it by finding the bios program in the msi live update folder
    errr
    live update 3 >> flashUty >> Award then opened WinFlash that opens the bios program then file update driver and selected the .145 file or whatever it was

bit nervy really i dont have anyway of making a back up..i just close everything and beg...it paused on 56% for a second or so and i nearly bricked myself but i think it was my comp opening summat else as it just went straight to 100% and updated..phew!

about the error thing..i got the "platinum" screen instead of post ..then before windows loaded i got some strange error about drive problem press ctrl alt del to restart on a black screen..maybe corrupted was mentioned..i forgot to take note i just hurried back into the bios and reset it back to default ;) ill try changing that to 68 though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

i dont have a floppy...so i couldnt really do anything :( my floppy refused to read any disks i ever put in no matter which way round i put the ribbon ..i tried everything..with 4 floppys but none refused to work so i ripped em out and left a gap :rolleyes: ive just purchased a 256mb usb memory stick thing which mentions something about bootable...can that be used instead of a floppy or something i cant find where i put it now to read it (i knew id put it somewhere "safe")

yep i heard it was pretty risky through windows ..its probably the most nerve racking thing ive ever done in windows..some of you guys will prob do it all the time and will know wot to do if it screws up but until this board ive never flashed a bios and not being able to back anything up gives me even more reason for concern :o

oh and ..do you know why it kindly cleared my cmos?...did i ask it to?? lol ..i tell you though..i did have to clear it once...i accidently set my ram timings to aggressive and put em to 2-2-2-5 and this ram refuses to boot at 2..but i couldnt even get back into the damn bios...that was bloody scary ..till i did the jumper thing...

btw anyone else tried this bios...any of you having luck if you dont post ill get worried and think its screwed your bios and u cant get back to post :o
    MSI sent me it!! not me lol...hopefully it can solve someone elses temp probs coz its sorted mine..im well chuffed :D

hmm..i dont recall doing that..but ah well i guess i survived :confused:

Quick question, would it interfere with my RAID 0? Would i just have to rebuild the array?

VIPER...I found this on MSI Support Forums....http://forum.msi.com.tw/thread.php?threadid=59711&sid=

"Oh well, 1.48 is also a no-go for me.
    With 1.47 and 1.43 i could do:

230x11@1:1, 1t, 4Ht
    and
    260x9,5@1:1, 2t, 3Ht

With 1.48 i can't even do 250x9,0...go figure!

Indeed, the 1.43 bios seems best for OC so-far, but be carefull: CPU-Temps shows about 10°C lower than the ACTUAL/REAL core temp, also, NB fan-speed control doesn't work properly. "

ive read ones good for overclocking too.

I'm about to flash to that now....

hmm, interesting ....i think ill stick with these 1.45's for now though...yet to try more overclocking but when this 1 cocks up which is probably will...give it a couple of days ;) i can try another !...although not that 1.43...i dont want false readings the other way!

msi better not just be guessing a lower temp..like taking 20 degrees off 1 of the offical ones ..and calling it a new bios..

i want fairly accurate temp readings really....i mean my mbm5 is now saying 34 and corecentre is saying 38...im guessing thats probably something like with a zalman on normal speed mode?...if so ill just leave it..and hope :rolleyes:

yeah, i know its not the same board...the K8N Neo series takes the same bios...says MSI

nice one :)

hey jammer hows the 1.47..you got any more out of your cpu?

i've no feckin floppy disks. I only bought the drive last week so i could put my RAID drivers on the computer...so i'll have to suffer the embarrassment of buying some floppy drives 2morro. I don't reckon theres anything left to be squeezed outta the chip though...its worth a try!!

Jammer wrote:
    i've no feckin floppy disks. I only bought the drive last week so i could put my RAID drivers on the computer...so i'll have to suffer the embarrassment of buying some floppy drives 2morro. I don't reckon theres anything left to be squeezed outta the chip though...its worth a try!!

lmao gotta go buy floppys..oh the shame
    :p

hey who knows you never know what your little baby might do ;)

temps are the same, but my RAID0 problem is fixed, woohoo

\o/ for you..however

im getting worried now...i think my temps are starting to screw up..ive just opened ut and its running in the background and my temps are reading 62 :mad: nooo way does it go from 34 idle to 62 gaming it...argh! just when msi sent me a nice email saying how grateful they are for me to give em feedback about the bios..time to bitch again i think ;) ...whatever bios next!

however!..ive just overclocked my vid card a little more ..452 core now (it wouldnt go past 440 before artifacting..dunno if its the new cooler and stuff giving the vid card a little more room to breath or summat..rams crap though anything past 380 and artifacts :rolleyes: )..ram and cpu still the same..and im up to 21699 3dmark01 and 7220 3dmark03 woooo i havent even unleashed the cpu from stock i may be peaking in 03 but theres plenty of room in 01 me thinks

Your about 1000 off my 2001 score and about 100 off my 2003. I don't believe i hit the roof in either. You say your at stock speed then your going clober me. What are your exact settings at the moment.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,761 ✭✭✭Col_Loki

He has his GFX card overclocked but not the CPU AFAIK.

Azza i meant to ask you , what timings are you running with your Ram (and what speed)? Ohh and have you tried 2.5-2-2 timings with it?

None now my motherboard is dead :( bios flash went arseways I'm afraid)

Was at 2.5-2-2-8 I think at about 440mhz I been told it will hold that timing up to about 470-480mhz.......for some reason I could not get it to detect the raid array at anything over 220. Whic is weird as in previous overclocks I got to 250 and it booted fine.

Timings are the least of my worries now.

what happened?

Bios 1.47 fixes the raid array detect problem...MSI sent me the bios today cos i emailed them about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,761 ✭✭✭Col_Loki

Was at 2.5-2-2-8 I think at about 440mhz I been told it will hold that timing up to about 470-480mhz.......for some reason I could not get it to detect the raid array at anything over 220. Whic is weird as in previous overclocks I got to 250 and it booted fine.

Ahh that sucks. Are you getting a new BIOS chip for it or going to try the hot swap with someone who has the same board? I didnt think BIOS flashing was that feckin dangerous, have been alot of people with problems over the last while....... i remember flashing my ASUS through windows while ripping a dvd and it was fine (why i chanced it i dont know).

Those timings are perfect for the A64 , the MSI board has a few things that need fixing but atleast they seem to be making some progress bit by bit.

mine is grand now, the RAID0 thing was the only thing bothering me, but it seems to be fixed up, found it pretty solid in all other aspects. my temps have always seemed fine!

Quick Questions : When i goto the system menu in control panel, it lists spec of my computer, ie A64, 2.61ghz etc, but under that it has "Physical Address Extension"...whats that mean??

feck Azza was it the 1.45 that screwed up on yours,im feeling guity now if it was for sendin you it :o what happened???

its still running sweet on mine..i think i can never tell it seems flashin the bios is worse than i originally thought...i dont think ill flash mine again now..even if these temps are screwed because i wouldnt know wot to do if it died...

anyone like you said..least of your worries but my set up is:

cpu - 2420mhz @ 11x220 (was trying to keep the cpu near to stock while pushed the ram)
    ram - 220fsb @ 2.5-3-3-7 @ 2.7v (dunno if it needed the extra gave it to be safe..its good for 2.95 though...)
    vid - 452/378 - i think the mems had it and the cores pretty much topped out..im holding out on a good cpu oc..as long as i knew the correct temps :(

sorry about the bios, hope you can get it fixed :confused:

u shud get more outta ur memory, i get 390 on mine, and ur "Real" XT should go better then mine! Get that CPU mhz up there, stop feckin about :P

lol i intend to with the ram ..still worrying about the cpu....bit costly to be frying in my mind..even though i know i cant do any real damage as it will shut down...

vid card is asus though..to me i think the "big copper heatsink" they slapped on it is rubbbbbish my last 9800 would only do 419..since 412 is stock..wtf! that got sent back..this 1 is 452 but thanks to my hardcano unit dying on me it seems i cant put the thermal sensors down the heatsink to see what heat im actually getting outta it..memory sucks that wont do anymore 380+ - artifacts....havent got artifacts with 452 core yet..but i fear it will be soon :(

ey my ram is 200 @ 2.5-4-4-8 when i got it..im happy with what its doing at the mo..but yeh i want a lot more yet... ;)

the cpu will be fine as long as u stay at or below 1.7V! Well, thats the limit i've set myself at anyway. I'm at 1.7V now, and the motherboard flashes red on that setting so...

Is there somewhere i can check OC'ing patterns on RAM, and how much voltage i cant put into them without frying them?

the only reason i know my geil ram will do 2.95v is coz ive got a big label thing that i a) read online and b) got saying i have a life time warranty for the ram between 2.65v and 2.95v ..if they die at 2.95v...not my problem :D

surely you can get something off a review about your ram or something saying how much ram they can do within the warranty or something?

as for the patterns..i dont have a clue :o

think i should go to bed now though..3am and ive got a router coming at 7am :eek: ..i hate being up on the wrong side of 12 :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭TinCool

Well done lads, you'll be able to squeez another few fps out of your autocad software now.

TinCool wrote:
    Well done lads, you'll be able to squeez another few fps out of your autocad software now.

Autocad? That a new mod for Battlefield or something? :rolleyes:

:cool:

w00t look out Autocad here i come!

bah i tell thee!

1.45 bios - PoS after about..5 restarts id say ive done since ive been using this ....my temps..at stock..and idle are now a lovely toasty 55 :eek: ...now unless my heatsink has manage to loosen itself from not moving..its managed to go up 20 degrees....

i hate you msi!!!! :mad:

bare in mind the humidity of the room too. u seem to get low temps in the evening, high in the day time! :p

restarted to play in bios..36 now :D

i set it to 10.5 x 230 ...and er core centre is saying 242 x 10 :eek: so ..now i ant even rely on core centre for anything!

230x11 wouldnt post :( but maybe coz i havent upped the vcore...

gonna run 3dmark again..see if the upped ram helps..

heh ...21728! w00t another 29 more points..im so happy :p ..def time to give the cpu a tad more voltage...

ahhh stupid crappy cpu...ok ive give it 1.6 now 220x11.5 - 2530mhz and tightened the ram timings a little more to 2.5-3-3-6 this stuffs doing pretty well on 2.65! from 2.5-4-4-8 @ 200 to 2.5-3-3-6 @ 220 only going from 2.6 to 2.65..im quite pleased :D