Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Air Show ?

• 03-07-2001 3:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,425 ✭✭✭

Yesterday afternoon, at about 1:45pm, I saw a Chinook accompanied with what looked to be of generic eurocopter design, flying at a few thousand feet and heading South-East over Greystones, probably heading to Wales if they were British or possibly to France. I was wondering if anyone heard anything about it, an airshow ? military exercise or a demonstration for the Air Corps ? Just curious smile.gif

Nil Desperandum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭kayos

There was an air show in Galway on Sunday so they could have been haeding home from that.

kayos

When you get to hell tell them I sent you,
    you'll get a group discount...

tribes.gameshop.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Kix

That was a Blackhawk, and very tasty it was too in the flesh (or more accurately, kevlar impregnated carbon fiber skin smile.gif).

They were both US Army and down in Galway for the air show. The crews were incredibly laid back about 200 kids and perenial youths climbing all over their valuable aircrafts. If you wanted, and could suffer the queue, you could sit in the pilots seat and flip all the controls you liked smile.gif They'd disconnected the batteries to prevent anyone dropping the fuel tanks off, that kinda thing smile.gif Personally I got to sit in the gunners window seat and fulfill all my 'Nam fantasies biggrin.gif

K

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,425 ✭✭✭Fidelis

That guy from FMJ ?

"Get some, get some"
    "Anyone who runs is a VC, anyone who stands still is a well disciplined VC"

biggrin.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Yeah I've had freaky experieces like that from time to time - like a dozen Chinooks and Blackhawks flew over my place - Clinton was in town the next day.

Or the CIA spook wagon in the US Embassey - Clinton was in town the next day.

Or the Capitan of a French navy ship the 'Loire' giving out hell to his security detail - why was I (Victor) being allowed take close up pictures of all the equipment on board.

Or the time I walk out of Tara Steet DART station and see a column of British Army APCs

They were filming 'The Boxer' at City Hall.

Too many freaks, not enough circuses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭ThrAx

aha u should have seen them! They flew fright over my house, talk about loud! there was 2 F-16's 2 A-10's and 2 german luftwaffe tornado jets, they were at the airshow in salthill in galway on sunday. it was fu<king kewl! The F-16 were really kewl, they flew past at 750mph and it took them 7 seconds to get to the aran islands from salthill in galway. At the start of the airshow a tornado flew over the crown without warning, i'd say half the peeps shat a brick it was flying so low. I was there with a guy i know whos a dj, he was just telling me that he needed to get his ear syringed and that he wasnt supposed to listen to loud music for a while when the fu<kin tornado jet flies over us at about 200 feet at supersonic speed. U should have heard the sonic boom, everything shook it was mad.

This device complies with part 15 of the PCC rules. Ooperation is subject to the following two conditions:
    (1) this device may not cause harmful interference, and
    (2) This device must accept any interference recieved, including muppetry from muppets which may cause undesired operation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,425 ✭✭✭Fidelis

I was at the 75th Air Tatoo at Fairford a few years back, that was mind boggling. The B-52 literally couldn't turn on the runway, it was that big smile.gif

Also had the pleasure to view the 80th anniversary of the Air Corps in Baldonnel a few years ago, that was quite good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭phobos

Being a resident of Salthill for the past 20 years, can I just say: THIS PLACE ROCKS!

We love it all, from the 50K people who attended the Air show, to the people who attended the Salthill Motor Show Riots.

I would have loved to see the face of the lads in Salthill GARDA station, who probably were frantically searching through "Templemóres Guide to fending off 50K rioting youths".

;-phobos-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭ThrAx

Riots?

I'm from ballybane my friend!!

This device complies with part 15 of the PCC rules. Ooperation is subject to the following two conditions:
    (1) this device may not cause harmful interference, and
    (2) This device must accept any interference recieved, including muppetry from muppets which may cause undesired operation.