Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Pickups Arrived

• 26-08-2004 8:47am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭

Got my rosewood covered stacked humbuckers for the 6... they sound better than they look :D

JM3006.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

these the hand made ones from Germany that Jay is waffling about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

Indeed they are. I must say, they're a vast improvement on the Bartolinis, they really bring out the whump of the low B string. Nice, very nice :p

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Allow me to be the first to say ooooohhhh.

Thank you.

Thanks man. I'm pretty proud of the soldering work I did too. I was gonna take a pic for ye ;)

You're too..... kind :P

Must get some new pickups for my 7. EMG's I think. Now to find ?200.

Nooooooooooooo... not more EMG's :eek:

Try something else man, EMGs are just so... characterless, they're too perfect. Why have Tony Martin when you can have Bon Scott, if you know what I mean?

Hmmm, maybe. But the big black lumps of plastic are loverly :)

I was thinking about DiMarzios. A Blade 7 and an Evo 7 but I don't know. I know I'm safe with EMG's...

Rock and roll isn't about being safe. It's about stupid risks! The low B deserves a sneaky, dirty bastid of a pickup, not some sanitised yoke that'll suck the balls out of it. :p

So an EMG 707 then :D

Might be getting the wood today for a new neck for it :) Excellent...

That didn't take long. Did you read through Ron Jarzombek's site (he of Watchtower and Spastic Ink - http://www.spasticink.com/gtrs.html

He does that crazy sort of stuff. Me? I like to get people who know what they're doing to do it for me :D

Doctor J wrote:
    Me? I like to get people who know what they're doing to do it for me :D

Me? I like to become those sort of people and charge you sort of people silly amounts of money for it :D

Live the dream, brother! :D:D;)

OK. I will...

Doctor J wrote:
    Rock and roll isn't about being safe

It isn't? So I shouldn't wear my safety goggles and overalls when I'm changing strings?

Overalls, no. Safety glasses, yes. I'm surprised I haven't poked myself in the eye with a string yet tbh.

it's only a matter of time (not that I'm wishing it on you!)

True. But then, so is death. Meh. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 800 ✭✭✭dabhoys

Those pick ups have the look and the sound to back them up. I've heard them in person.

There one sweet mo fo...

It's a shame they aren't topped with the wood that was routed from the body for the pickup cavity. That would look pretty sweet imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

You people are what happens when a musician gets paid! It's sickening!
    *mutters over lack of money to do all the crazy guitar-related stuff he wants to*

The trick is to get the musicians to pay you....

You people are what happens when a musician gets paid! It's sickening!
    *mutters over lack of money to do all the crazy guitar-related stuff he wants to*

No, this is what happens when musicians don't get paid and have to get a real job ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭Paladin

OMG safety goggles changing strings! Good god yes.
    Almost as important is a guantlet or something. The number of holes in my fingers, pierced by goddamn G strings. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH.

Also real jobs suck. I hate mine.

Join the club man, death can't come soon enough :confused:

I find my job very satisfying and I wouldn't swap it for anything.

The above statement may not be true.

Bah, real jobs, who needs them? We should have an unofficially organised "Boards Bank Robbery" and we could live happily, musically ever after. BTW, has anyone got recordings from Boardstock?

I like my "job". I get to fix guitars :)

Make me something like one of these

Chop chop!!!! :p

Which one would you like? It'd be about a grand from first glance.

Sweet! I'd like a job like that but it requires some form of talent. Poo.

No it doesn't :)

Score!

It requires specialist knowledge :P

I don't mind learning. How did you get into it?

projectguitar.com Read every article and tutorial on that site. Go to the forum. Read everything on that forum. Buy a cheap guitar. Apply newly gained knowledge to the cheap guitar. Repeat. Start earning money by doing setups for cheaper and better than the local guitar shop.