Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

first build

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭Mutant_Fruit

The power supply isn't really enough. I'd advise getting something a little bigger, maybe an antec PSU. They are very reliable. You may run into problems with just a 350watt.

Just noticed you also linked an antec, get it! Its by far the better PSU. Other than that, its all good.

But have you considared an AMD64 machine? If you are going to be doing gaming, rather than encoding as your main use, then definately go with the A64. They had a pricedrop recently, which makes em even more attractive.

EDIT: As for the case, i don't think a clear case would look half as good as the other one, but its up to yourself. I like the Diabolic one myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Well....here's my 2 cents!!!!

With a completely seethru case your wiring will want to be pretty good because you have nowhere to "hide" loose power connectors and the like.

IMHO power supply are both good. But i'd probably go for the antec if money is not a problem....

Don't know nuthin about Intel and pentiums....

I'm dead jealous....looks like a decent system!!!! Wish i was building another one!

p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭Mutant_Fruit

If you want to go the AMD64 route, take a look at the anandtech review.

This Chip with This Mobo should be grand. And afaik, there is a PCI/AGP lock on all nforce3 boards, so you can overclock to your hearts content, but i'm not sure how far AMD64's go.

If you want to upgrade in the future, your much better off getting the antec power supply, it will be able to power a lot more than the other PSU. Definately worth the cash if you can spare it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭Nukem

Ya was thinking about that case would look well stupid with everything everywhere. Thanks for the PSU pointer

As for the AMD cpu, i would consider it only that i dont know anything about AMD and the fact that HT is recommended for CAD and other 3D programs (as well as Games) and even looked a ZEON CPU's and was steered off them.

Joined another forum as well and found this dead handy for PSU Selection
    Compliments of the lads at www.pcmech.com

PSU Calculator
    PSU

Thanks for the advice keep it coming & if anyone wants to explain an AMD cpu please do.

Nukem wrote:
    .....the fact that HT is recommended for CAD and other 3D programs (as well as Games)

Are you sure the AMD 64 aren't as good at games as the HT? I was always under the impression that they were the best for gaming....

BTW Will you be doing CAD? no point getting equiped for stuff you wont be doing! :)

p

pekelly wrote:
    Are you sure the AMD 64 aren't as good at games as the HT? I was always under the impression that they were the best for gaming....

BTW Will you be doing CAD? no point getting equiped for stuff you wont be doing! :)

p

Im studying mechanical engineering and i need a multi tasking cpu for Pro engineer and 3D CAD . Have a Dell P4 2.8 GHz ,256mb Ram with an intel 128mb graphics card ->(needs to be BURNED- TERRIBLE CARD) and had a package called Prodesktop 8.0 which is all 3D and my computer was like a lame cat in pain.

I was told that a HT was better for what i wanted. Was looking at www.jes.de earlie and there 3.2 GHZ HT is only 20 euro more so might get that instead

As i said i dont know squat bout AMD,so any advice ; is cool :)

Nukem wrote:
    Im studying mechanical engineering and i need a multi tasking cpu for Pro engineer and 3D CAD . Have a Dell P4 2.8 GHz ,256mb Ram with an intel 128mb graphics card ->(needs to be BURNED- TERRIBLE CARD) and had a package called Prodesktop 8.0 which is all 3D and my computer was like a lame cat in pain.

Yeah intel would probably be the way to go with CAD....

p

pekelly wrote:

p

OH well il stick with the intel for a while so. If anyone has idiots guide to AMD let me know, want to know what im missing. Might build a pure gaming comp next year when i have cash and as you said AMD are supposed to be better for games

Cheers fof the help ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭Mac daddy

Does the mainboard you have picked out support AGP?? looks like it only has pci express therefor getting the 9800 is pretty useless- you might be better gettting a pci express Gfx card- and take advantage of the speed :)

Mac daddy wrote:
    Does the mainboard you have picked out support AGP?? looks like it only has pci express therefor getting the 9800 is pretty useless- you might be better gettting a pci express Gfx card- and take advantage of the speed :)

Thanks for that i missed it completely,changed it now to a AGP board but its a cheap one so i dunno about its quality. Any other Suggestions :D

Mac daddy wrote:

Sorry noticed the link after i answered the first one. i had a look at the PCI cards
    Which are better the AGP or the PCI looked at the Gainward 5950 even though its out of stock its supposed to be a decent enough card

Any thoughts :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Good items bar case but that boils down to a personal choice :)

My one suggestion is spend a little extra and get a better Abit mobo like an IC-7 or IC-7 max3 as its a shame putting such nice bits on a low end board.

Venom wrote:
    Good items bar case but that boils down to a personal choice :)

My one suggestion is spend a little extra and get a better Abit mobo like an IC-7 or IC-7 max3 as its a shame putting such nice bits on a low end board.

If you know of a Socket 775 board of good quality that fits please let me know caus IC-7 are a 478 board i thought,i dunno im new at this let me know please

Nukem wrote:
    Sorry noticed the link after i answered the first one. i had a look at the PCI cards
    Which are better the AGP or the PCI looked at the Gainward 5950 even though its out of stock its supposed to be a decent enough card

Any thoughts :eek:

Right first came PCI Gfx cards that was replaced by AGP GFX cards now the latest on the markett is Pci Express - if i remember correct it has twice the bandwidth of AGP - so if you are going for the 775 sockett wich has Pci Express sloths go for a Pci Express gfx card- :)

Or alternative you could just go for a socket 478 board like the ones venom mentioned- they support AGP so you could pop a 9800pro in it- My fav board has to be the asus p4p800 deluxe or the p4c800 great overclocking tools and bios options.

The card you have picked out Gainward GeForce PCX 5750 i couldn't tell you what it is like never had a Nividia :) i'm more a ATI man myself some of the other guys will be able to point you in the right direction - wich to stay clear of.

Nukem wrote:
    If you know of a Socket 775 board of good quality that fits please let me know caus IC-7 are a 478 board i thought,i dunno im new at this let me know please

Well if your into overclocking the Asus 775 based mobo is coming out tops in tests so far. If not the Abit is fine as Abit are a very good company to by from. The main problem you will run into tho is that due the this being the latest tech and costing a fortune, in 3-4 months time newer mobos will be out that will blow the current batch away.

Now don't take this as an insult but I think your nuts to upgrade so much when you will get better performance from a 478 based system and save a good amount of cash as well. The new P4 64bit chips will start coming out around the end of the year and then in Feb the P4 4.0 ghz chips will be launched :D Needless to say the current 775 based system are a failed experiment as far as I can see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭tba

pekelly wrote:

p
    is this true, I never run CAD on an AMD powered machine, but I would have thought that there shhould be no difference? I mean its all software rendered in CAD.

tba wrote:
    is this true, I never run CAD on an AMD powered machine, but I would have thought that there shhould be no difference? I mean its all software rendered in CAD.

TBH tba, i'm not sure where i read it (and a quick search has failed to back me up here) but i'm pretty sure that with CAD you are better off with an Intel Pentium. I use GIS (vaguely Similar) all the time on my AMD machine and it's fine but i have no benchies versus an equivalent Intel....

p

Mac daddy wrote:
    Right first came PCI Gfx cards that was replaced by AGP GFX cards now the latest on the markett is Pci Express - if i remember correct it has twice the bandwidth of AGP - so if you are going for the 775 sockett wich has Pci Express sloths go for a Pci Express gfx card- :)

Or alternative you could just go for a socket 478 board like the ones venom mentioned- they support AGP so you could pop a 9800pro in it- My fav board has to be the asus p4p800 deluxe or the p4c800 great overclocking tools and bios options.

The card you have picked out Gainward GeForce PCX 5750 i couldn't tell you what it is like never had a Nividia :) i'm more a ATI man myself some of the other guys will be able to point you in the right direction - wich to stay clear of.

Ok bare with me (i is Stupid) your saying get a PCI express board and a matching card. Thats cool,but is there anywhere that you could recommend a a good graphics card for reasons explained already.

By the way that site was class.much appreciated

Venom wrote:
    Well if your into overclocking the Asus 775 based mobo is coming out tops in tests so far. If not the Abit is fine as Abit are a very good company to by from. The main problem you will run into tho is that due the this being the latest tech and costing a fortune, in 3-4 months time newer mobos will be out that will blow the current batch away.

Now don't take this as an insult but I think your nuts to upgrade so much when you will get better performance from a 478 based system and save a good amount of cash as well. The new P4 64bit chips will start coming out around the end of the year and then in Feb the P4 4.0 ghz chips will be launched :D Needless to say the current 775 based system are a failed experiment as far as I can see.

HUH? i dunno bout that 478. I really don't. For the price range i thought a 3.0 Ht would be better than a 3.2 Norm.

Would i be better off waiting a few monthsand is there a new line of CPU's comin in.

Nukem every intel cpu since the P4 2.4 came out has had Hyper Treading on it. The difference between the 478 and 775 chips are the mobo's and socket types (yes there are a ton more differences but thats a different disscussion).

You can buy a P4 3.0 to 3.6 ghz 800fsb HT chip for the 478 mobos and it will be a good deal cheeper that the same chip for a 775. With a 775 based system you are paying top dollar for a system that is not that much better than a 478 based system.

Venom wrote:
    Nukem every intel cpu since the P4 2.4 came out has had Hyper Treading on it. The difference between the 478 and 775 chips are the mobo's and socket types (yes there are a ton more differences but thats a different disscussion).

You can buy a P4 3.0 to 3.6 ghz 800fsb HT chip for the 478 mobos and it will be a good deal cheeper that the same chip for a 775. With a 775 based system you are paying top dollar for a system that is not that much better than a 478 based system.

AH! You is wise and patient. Sorry about that & thanx for the point out. Intel would have taken me 4a nice ride otherwise. I'll put together in 478 config which as you said; will be cheaper and post it. Cheers :p

NEW SPECS IN A 478 SOCKET CONFIG

LET ME KNOW WHAT YE THINK

CPU Intel 3.2 GHz
    Motherboard - Asus P4C800
    Graphics Card - 9800 Pro
    HDD - Seagate
    DVD Drive - Lite ON
    FDD - MSI
    Sound
    RAM

Not 100% on the RAM or the Motherboard or just looked at this bundle in Komplett http://www.komplett.ie/k/ki.asp?sku=118334&cks=PRL :so let me know whats ur opinion :confused:

TwinMos ram is fine unless your planning on overclocking, if so get better. I would suggest you get at least 1gb of ram tho as it really makes a difference.

Much better choice for pockett :)

Are you planning on overclocking - if yes get yourself a lump of PC4000 256x256MB instead of pc3200 - for the Ram have a look at This site-
    You will be able to get more out of cpu when overclocking-
    Decent heatsink will be required for overclocking :)

If your not forget about it all that stuff above ;);)

Mac daddy wrote:
    Much better choice for pockett :)

Are you planning on overclocking - if yes get yourself a lump of PC4000 256x256MB instead of pc3200 - for the Ram have a look at This site-
    You will be able to get more out of cpu when overclocking-
    Decent heatsink will be required for overclocking :)

If your not forget about it all that stuff above ;);)

Motherboard wont take PC4000 , 3200 is the max according to the spec
    What if i went this way; never thought of overclocking but would be nice to do if i wanted to later

1Gb kit DDR PC-3200 Dual Channel - GeIL ULD
    (2x 512Mb DDR RAM PC3200 Dual Channel GeIL ULD)
    400Mhz, 184 pins, 64 bit, CL 2, 6-3-3 1T Rating
    Ultra Low Latency, w/ tin coated copper heatspreader
    Full memory specification, Stock: 6-10 kits
    Manufacturer: GeIL, Warranty: Lifetime € 242.98
    ex. VAT € 294
    incl. VAT

And i changed the case color, thsi looks way nicer, What ye think ?
    90109184.jpg

Thanx for all the help so far :)

Thats damm good ram Nukem.

How much is the latest spec of your planned system going to set you back now?

CPU 239
    MOBO 155
    Graphics Card 215
    HDD 133
    DVD 93
    CD 35
    Sound Card 46
    RAM 294
    Case 95
    PSU 136

Total is 1500 ish,

But i have since found cheaper suppliers (GERMAN) for most of the parts so hopefully i can get it under 1400

Found this place but must ask them abut Delivery and the PSU

Diablo Case (silver)
    PSU - 500 W (unknown Manuf.) TOATL £49.25 (75 euro ish)

Have a look Planet Micro

What you think?

Nukem wrote:
    Motherboard wont take PC4000 , 3200 is the max according to the spec
    /QUOTE]

It will :)

Lets put it this way you have bought a car max speed is 60 Mph- you get to sixty but the pedal can still be pushed down do you stay at 60 or do you push it ;)

You push it in overlocking there anyway- My Mobo Supports max Pc3200 I have 512Mb of Pc4000 - gives me great space for overclocking

You can get your GFX on Jes computers for about 195 euro's now - Have a look at the Jes computers prices before buying everything of komplett