Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Seized package from Jes.de??!!

• 12-08-2004 3:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,334 ✭✭✭

Well I've just recently gotten confirmation of payment from Jes and today I though I'd check on the packages and see if they are out of Germany yet and so I pop over to the gls-germany website and stick in my parcel numbers and this comes up in the last entry:

"Das Paket ist im Eingang des Partnerlandes erfasst."

I translate it vith ze google und it zaid:

"The package is seized in the entrance of the partner country."

At which stage I sh*t myself....seized?! has anyone had this happen to them before? Or is it just Google not being able to translate the German correctly? I according to Jes have 3 packages heading towards me and GLS only seems to be able to find 2....:eek: That's not all!my address on the packages to me is:

My Name

123 My Street
    Ire Dublin 1 Dublin

Not exactly what I have given Jes in my account info :(, the main problem is that I don't live in Dublin 1 but in Dublin 15 <-- something missing there(must have been truncated so anyone giving the post code to Jes get rid of the space!). In short even if these packages where not seized GLS will never find me! Woe is me, so has anyone had this happen to them :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭seanos

The dublin 1/15 wouldn't be too important I assume, so many people change which dublin postcode their in, as they don't like their own ones ...

Once it's dublin & address, shouldnt be any problems, other than a delay [erm ... more of a delay, gls after all ...]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

They are probablty just waiting to be cleared by Irish customs, I doubt they are seized.

If you can ring GLS and get them to change the address on the package.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,334 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

Ciaran500 wrote:
    If you can ring GLS and get them to change the address on the package.
    My friend once phoned them and it took him hours to get through and his reward was some ignorant person telling him "Na Can't Do Nada". I suppose what SeanOS said is probably true that all they need is the proper street addy...but I don't know, I'll wait till next week and then try and assualt GLS costumer service :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Zakalwe

I had the same issue with Dublin 24 and Dublin 2. I rang GLS but the package had gone out to Dublin 2. They said they'd put it out to 24 the next day. Suprise suprise the driver actually came from Dublin 2 the same day with the card for me!

OK Zakalwe I'll phone 'em when/if it arrives in EIRE - it hasn't moved all day :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

GLS are slow, but i emailed ronan.peyton@gls-ireland.com and asked him what the craic was... and he sorted it out nicely for me. give him a shot, or when you ring up ask for him, hes the import manager for GLS.

lemme know how you get on,

Vinny

I will indeed Mr VinnyL! Thanks 4 the e-mail addy hopefully it will be more helpfull then just phoning them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭seanos

Forget who I managed to get in contact with - whoever it was however, was sound :)
    Think found 1 decent person in GLS heh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭maxheadroom

Ciaran500 wrote:
    They are probablty just waiting to be cleared by Irish customs, I doubt they are seized.

There *is* no Irish customs on goods coming in from another EU country. Single market and all that.

I'd imagine its a bad google translation, why not ask over in the german forum ?

Well I've gone and tried out http://www.freetranslation.com/ and they translate it a bit differently

"The package is grasped in the entrance of the partner country"

So I *think* Google just gave me a heart attack for no reason :)
    There *is* no Irish customs on goods coming in from another EU country. Single market and all that.
    I thought that was the case! The first thing I thought was "But this is coming from the Vaterland!, there can't be customs on it". This reinforces my belief it was just a Google mistake
    why not ask over in the german forum ?
    I'll go and do that now - it doesn't seem the liveliest ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

AFAIK, 'erfassen' means to collect or receive - they probably just mean the package has reached Ireland and is awaiting delivery there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭maxheadroom

http://www.gls-holding.de/parcel/status.php3

Try tracking there - should give you english status messages. And it actually works, unlike gls-ireland.com

I tried it maxheadroom but it says it can't find them - the only web-site that will actually give me any info on my packages is General Package the other GLS sites just say "Sorry no info on your package". I found GP on another thread about Jes someone said they got it directly from Jes when they phoned them, so I'm using it instead. By the way Sico collect or receive sounds a lot better then seize :) so thanks for that, I'd say that the packages are slowly on their way here to Ireland and that GLS really dont have a clue where exactly they are. It seems as if I'm not the only one who has some problems with GLS ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭moridin

A friend of mine had the same message on his GLS tracking and it arrived a day or two later. Nothing to worry about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Verdammt

It means that the packet is in Ireland now.

Those translation sites give you a direct translation of each word and not sentences.

moridin wrote:
    A friend of mine had the same message on his GLS tracking and it arrived a day or two later. Nothing to worry about.
    Yep someone from the German forum gave me a link to a dictionary which translates "erfasst" as "on target" :D, so I think I'm OK. I've just checked gls-germany.com and they say my packages are now "NIF InBound scan" so it seems as if they have arrived in Ireland :D

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

I received a parcel via GLS yesterday (14th) which had left the US via Airmail on 26 July. It arrived in Ireland (per tracking and per the printout that came with it) on the 4th and spent 10 days going to and from the warehouse and the reason given was "incorrect address" - the address is perfect and is my full postal address...one entry even had that a "postcard [was] sent" though this is nonsensical seeing as they considered the address to be wrong...I'm in Cork city in an established area and yetthey couldn't find me... arrrgggghhh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭M@lice

Do you have to email gls to find out what the address on the parcel is or is there a way of checking it on the website?

M@lice wrote:
    Do you have to email gls to find out what the address on the parcel is or is there a way of checking it on the website?
    Oh no Jes e-mail me all the details when they ship out the packages those details include the address on the packages. I have e-mailed GLS about the incorrect address I used the e-mail addy VinnyL gave me, the real reason I e-mailed GLS is because after the packages left Germany and arrived in Ireland via the UK....they returned to Germany :rolleyes:, yes my packages are back in Germany. Hopefully tommorow my e-mail will be answered and the packages will return to Ireland. Thanks parsi for cheering me up :), I have even less confidence in GLS now - if that's possible!

Hey I blame you guys for making me worry about GLS in the first place :-) They obviously don't care too much,.. anyway OfflerCrocGod you should be ok - Dublin is way better mapped than Cork - the yshould get your parcel to you in 4-5 days after its arrival in the depot... :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

did you get a decent response from that e-mail i gave ye?

VinnyL wrote:
    did you get a decent response from that e-mail i gave ye?
    Well this morning my packages were sent out for delivery you see if he got in today and checked the website that's what he would have got......so I doubt he would have bothered with replying since he may have figured "they will be delivered today anyway". At around 3:30 I got sick of waiting for the packages so I phoned up GLS for a horrid half an hour I had to listen to the terrible GLS music, before I finally got answered :rolleyes: Anyway the chick on the other end told me the packages were taken by the Dublin 15 driver even though they were marked Dublin 1; she said she tried phoning the driver but he wouldn't answer and said that he will probably deliver by 6 and that I should wait. I did. No packages: so I'm phoning again tommorow and making sure I get the drivers number :( Right now I should be tinkering with a new computer instead I'm waiting, waiting, waiting :mad: Hopefully tommorow will bring better luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭talking_walnut

I'm going through something similar. The last 3 entries say that the parcel is in the warehouse. There's 2 entries (1 on the 12th, 1 on the 13th) saying incorrect address. I'm livin outside Galway city so I'm not holding out much hope of a speedy delivery. Emailed the address givin earlier in this thread during the weekend but haven't received a reply yet. Gonna try ringing them tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

Umm...

Parcel Data Entry I-Point
    HUB-Flow STANDARD
    NIF InBound scan

The above are what's coming up in Status Text...do they just mean "It's in the warehouse"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭pyxxel

"Das Paket ist im Eingang des Partnerlandes erfasst."

I translate it vith ze google und it zaid:

"The package is seized in the entrance of the partner country."

Yo Offler!

I have no idea what you're talking about with "Jes" and "GLS", but one thing I can tell you 100%: Ze Göögle iz rongg! Here's my translation:

"The package has been registered entering the partner country."

As a native German with 13 years of working as a translator, I can vouch for that! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭M@lice

"routing error" Thats the latest that i'm getting on my tracking page. Is that bad cos it sure sounds bad.

Ignore the tracking - its just designed to do your head in to see the way companies actually operate - I think we were nearly better off when we didn't know the routes things took...!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Hello Kitty

This is Offler's sister:eek: , he went to GLS today and picked up the comp himself....
    GLS couldn't find our house because of the bad address Jes put on the packages.

Hes not posting this because his comp has no power cords - he needed them for the new comp...the German ones don't work in Ireland!!!

Phone GLS that's how he got everything sorted.. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭morgana

German power cords: You just need an adaptor - check the travel section in Roches or Hickeys and you're sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭GarGuile

GLS are the worst company I've ever dealt with. Stuff seems to get routed around their warehouse aimlessly and it takes hours for anyone to answer a phone. Hope you have better luck than me!