Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heat 3 Date/Time/Location

• 03-08-2004 2:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭

Post up here when you are free, when you are not free, etc.
    I can provide the chips, cards, button etc. Anyone want to offer a venue

I'm for either the 14th (evening), 15th (afternoon), or the 21st (all day) or 22nd (afternoon).

Karl favours Saturday 14th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

14th or 15th suit me fine thanks.

as always, can't offer a venue as I live in a showbox!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Marq

What's a showbox? Sounds like an interesting place to hold a poker night. :)

it's where showbands practice.

it's a right pain in the arse!! i share with Joe Dolan and Red Hurley..........can't see the telly for the screamin' aul-ones!!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

if we're stuck I may be able to host, I'll give it a few days and see if anyone else volunteers, otherwise we can probably play at my place..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

The 14th would clash with the Mid month madness thingy, unless we started at around 12ish which I don't mind. As for venue, are people sick of playing at my gaff?

Probably best to go with the fifteenth so, considering people probably don't want to get up too early on the saturday. A BSOP heat, a twenty five multi table freeze and HCGA / Sit & Go's might be too much poker for one day.

Yes. I did just say that. I know.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

I'm flexible for any date as long as I get enough notice

Hyzepher

I'm going to struggle to make one of those days, If I was being arrogant I'd say that I'd miss the 15th (the first team of my club are playing that day) but assuming that like poker my ability isn't really in line with my perceived ability, then I'd miss the 14th (the second team are playing that day). Problem is that I won't actually know which team I'm in until the 10th!!!

best guess is that Sunday is out for me, but then I am very arrogant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭whiteshadow

eep... going to a wedding on the 14th
    so the 15th is good for me.. .or the following week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭Spiritus

Hi would someone be able to swap with me? I'm currently in heat 1 to play this weekend but I've doublebooked myself.

Thanks.

Ken

Hi Ken,

I can swap if you want
    suits me perfectly

mick

Thanks mick :)

Ok - we need a venue - it looks like Iago's place may be in doubt. Amp can you host? If so let us know what dates suit you.

Hyzepher

is there any possibility that we can either put it off a week (seen as the mid-month madness is taking over the Saturday) or play it on the Friday night?

Friday night I know isn't great, but Sunday is out for me unless we're playing on Sunday evening.

I can host either Friday night or Saturday before the main event...

I would be up for playing on the Saturday before the Fitz game, but I don't expect that to suit everybody, some people do actually think that you can play too much poker!! go figure..

DapperGent is now in this heat - I'm off to Heat 2.

Hyzepher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

You're all ****ed for sure now. Except those of you who come second and third. Then you be ****ed for sure at the final.

Can we either play it Friday evening or Sunday as planned?

I can't play friday which is why I swapped heats. Sunday is grand though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭evillive

sunday is ok with me

any suggestion of a start time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

Sunday is definately impossible for me unless its at around 7 or so as I intend on going to watch the hurling in Croke Park

is it not best to leave this until next week? I know I'm speaking from a biased point of view, but with heat 2 on this weekend as well as the mid month event in the fitz we're struggling to find time to fit it all in, would it not be easier for all concerned to have it the following weekend?

just my 2c

Ill agree with that

Can't do weekend of the 21-22 personally.

ok, so lets review,

Dapper can't play friday night or next weekend..

Whiteshadow can't play on Saturday..

Myself and Ger can't play sunday during the day...

the only option that seems open to everyone is Sunday evening from about 7 or 8. Problem with that is getting up the next morning for work, and it rules out playing in the fitz for any who are so inclined...

Who'd of thought organising a game of cards would be so difficult!

ok can everyone post their 1st and 2nd preferred date/time, and we'll have to go with a majority ruling if everybody can't be accomodated.

Options Are:

Friday 13th Evening
    Saturday 14th Noon
    Sunday 15th Afternoon
    Sunday 15th Evening
    Friday 20th Evening
    Saturday 21st Anytime
    Sunday 22nd Anytime

for me

Friday 13th Evening
    Saturday 14th Noon

Friday 13th Evening
    Sunday 15th Evening

Sunday 15th Afternoon/Evening

Do we have a host yet btw?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

able to do most of the weekend except Sat noon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭evillive

sunday 15th anytime for me

I vote for Sunday Evening, on the plus side Ill probably be Drunk after the game

I'm withdrawing from the BSOP and so will not be playing in this heat.

Ken

My personal preference is sunday afternoon. I'll be in work for the twenty-in at 9, so can't do too late in the evening.

Sunday noon/evening sounds fine to me. I'll host if nobody objects.

I still think that we are better off pushing it off and either playing it midweek or next weekend, no matter what we choose this weekend there are players it doesn't suit.

Sunday evening seems to be the most popular but Marq can't make it because of work commitments, it's the same with every other time mentioned, at least one and in some cases 3-4 players can't make it.

As far as hosting goes, I'm happy enough to play in yours Amp it'll make it all the sweeter when I knock you out :D

I'd like to make the fitz twenty game on sunday myself.

If we have a start time of 5-6 could Iago and Gerire make it?

If all comes to all and sunday evening is the best time for people, I'll pull out. I'll be away for the final this month so even if I get through I'm effectively dead money anyway.

<edit>As I'm now in work for the whole weekend including sunday afternoon, I'm afraid i'll just have to pull out of the BSOP this month. ah well, that's another bubble i won't get</edit>

So are we on for Sunday then? Can we confirm a day today please?

Sunday evening 7 o'clock start???

Amp are you still hosting or do we need a venue....

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Hosting in our place is fine with me, Amp you need to let Dotc know!

DeV.

DeVore wrote:
    Hosting in our place is fine with me, Amp you need to let Dotc know!

Yeah, I was waiting for us to get some exact dates/times to avoid saying "Do yiz mind if we host a poker thing at vague time in the future?"

Right. 7pm at the Batflat, those who haven't been before please pm me/or Dev for directions.

...confused....

just to remind you lucky lucky folks.
    i swapped with spiritus, played in heat 1 and got into the final 3

but spiritus has dropped out so im hardly going to play again.
    (...unless i could win 2 seats for the final table... reraise myself all in.
    fold... so anyway im not in this heat. thank you for your time)

so are we still on for tonight then? Has everyone confirmed that they'll be there?

yup seven at my place

Oh sh1t; gerire got the dates all confuzzled in his head; sh1t

You lasted a good bit longer than me!

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

apparently you're stack would have gotten the bubble if it hadnt been taken away!

DeV.

So Iago won by a fair amount, with Decker and Karlh also going through. I did not play very well at all but bizarrely did ok in the cash games. I think I need to have a look at my gearbox. :)

DeVore wrote:
    apparently you're stack would have gotten the bubble if it hadnt been taken away!

DeV.
    Better than I would have done had I been there so!!