Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Noisey Neighbours!

• 25-07-2004 12:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭

Anyone know how to deal with this?

I'm typing this at 1.30am and and there is a house at the back of me with about 50 people in it shouting there heads off...

I've called the local Garda station and they tell me that they can do nothing as it's on their own private property... This seems to me to be very poor legislation.

Has anyone got any experience in how to handle this type of thing?

Thanks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,579 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by monkeyfudge
    I've called the local Garda station and they tell me that they can do nothing as it's on their own private property.
    Which is true. You are free to do what you want in your own home.

Now, underage drinking, drugs, illegal parking, drinking and driving, public disorder and quite a few other things are illegal.

You can however sue the person if this behavior is a regular occurance. Or you could call around say "hi" and/or and say they are keeping the twins and your pregnant wife awake.

A pair of re-usable foam ear plugs will set you back all of €1 in the pharmacy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Yes.. I found this...

Environmental Protection Agency Act, 1992 (Noise) Regulations, 1994 (S.I. No. 179 of 1994)
    These regulations prescribe the form of notice to be served under section 108 of the Environmental Protection Agency Act, 1992, by a local authority or a person who intends to make a complaint to the District Court, concerning a person who is alleged to have made, caused or been responsible for noise giving reasonable cause for annoyance. The regulations also provide that failure to comply with the requirement of a notice or a notice as amended, issued by a local authority under section 107 of the Act, may be prosecuted summarily by the local authority.

But I'm pretty sure I remember Guards turning up at the doors of partys I've been to in the past, and these were much smaller affairs, that took place indoors...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Call the police, explaining that you were at a house party there, and that there was alot of drugs (try pills or coke) going around, if you want to push the boat out even say that some guy tried dealing to you.

The cops will be happy to oblige you and raid the party.

Suggest that you explain that since you were at the party you would prefere to stay annonymous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Mutz

Originally posted by gillo
    Call the police, explaining that you were at a house party there, and that there was alot of drugs (try pills or coke) going around, if you want to push the boat out even say that some guy tried dealing to you.

The cops will be happy to oblige you and raid the party.

Suggest that you explain that since you were at the party you would prefere to stay annonymous.

Won't work - need to get a warrant. Would be very hard to get one in the AM.

and it looks like I might be in for another night of it...

They're already starting up again...

I didn't get any sleep last night... This is totaly unexceptable....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

If it's a regular occurrence you'd have grounds for complaint but otherwise get the earplugs as already mentioned.

The suggesion of calling the Gardai and suggesting drugs is sneaky and mean.

We'd have a number of times through the year where the neighbours in our area would have a hooly as we would also. Nobody minds as it doesn't happen every week and it would always be a genuine celebration e.g. birthday, anniversary, or whatever.

I don't mind people having a party in their house, as long as they keep it in their house. Having Sumo wresting matches in your back garden at 4.30 in the morning and shouting at the top of your lungs simply isn't on.

There is actually a very good article on this in the Sunday Tribune today. The Environment Protection Act that I quoted earlier is how you can get them. You can take them to the district court, it only costs €15 and you don't need a solicitor. Even the threat of this might do some good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

Perchance, you don't live in Ardee do you?

Only... we had a party here last night.... with open air wrestiling and roaring and shouting in the wee small hours.......

So if it was us, SORRY!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭L5

Originally posted by monkeyfudge
    Anyone know how to deal with this?

I'm typing this at 1.30am and and there is a house at the back of me with about 50 people in it shouting there heads off...

I've called the local Garda station and they tell me that they can do nothing as it's on their own private property... This seems to me to be very poor legislation.

Has anyone got any experience in how to handle this type of thing?

Thanks...

Inform them your annoyed and cannot sleep. If they ignore you throw a stone through theyre window.

Originally posted by embee
    Perchance, you don't live in Ardee do you?

Ardee? Where's that..?

I'm in Kilmore, on the North Side of Dublin.
    Originally posted by L5
    If they ignore you throw a stone through theyre window.
    I was thinking more along the lines of nailing a dead goat to the front door....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

u dont live in water ford?
    saturday night our neighbour came out , boards people will back me up on this , called us all cun*s and threatened to smash our faces in with his shotgun
    next day his wife goes in our lawn without us knowing and counts our beer bottles calls the landlord tells him our windows are open too much , we have too many empty bottles and were cun*s
    so yea nieibours and noise can get out of hand very quickly

ha.. no I'm in Dublin.. and I'm only joking about the goat thing...

It's alot more fun and cheaper to take them to court.

If you are renting, then it is very easy for the neigbours to do something about it. It's a bit harder when the noisey people in question actually own the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

yea were renting there
    we were coming back from a night out at 4am , the guy was getting in his car to go fishing , starts roaring how can i sleep with ye cun*t etc
    anyway the landlord coming round tonight were going to the guards about the threats
    and his viper wife rooting around in our yard too
    reckon theres anything we can do about that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Err..

This is what you can do:

http://www.oasis.gov.ie/environment/noise_regulations.html

Gardai won't do anything.