Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hey its here :D.. now the questions, please help :P

• 23-07-2004 9:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭

Well after alot of panic attacks and worries, ive gotten a good bit in..

Motherboard, Cpu, ram, gfx card, psu, all installed...

Thanks goes to Truckle on tech.ie, and syk, sionn and some others for getting me this far.. BUT, help is needed

Fitted the sata hard drive, and was a little confused why connectors (ide) didnt fit.. heh seems u need sata cable heh :D.

Few questions on that does my fecking motherboard even SUPPORT it im going to go mad if it doesnt I really am, cus I posted the motherboard and sata drive up when I was wondering were all the bits compatible on the new rig. So I guess it actually is but I dont see any sata connection places on my motherboard (asus a7n8x-x).

Help on a few other things also, I have this cable running from the front of the Case,
    DSC01270.JPG
    The double one on the far left says HDD led on the double one on the far right says POWER SW
    What are the middle 2 single wires for? Also How do I know which is negative and positive, for the HDD led and POWER SW, because on the MB manual it says put neg/pov in certain ways.

As regards to the Dvd-drive, the IDE cable that came with the MB, will I plug that into the PRI_IDE or the SEC_IDE, and do I Plug it in so as that it is the MASTER device? Also I figure I need to buy another type of cable for this as well for Audio? What type of cable is this called so as that I can get it.

I noticed on the back of my lovely new DVD drive, there is a nice dent in it, I wont be able to check if it works or not (think it will have fecked the drive?) for 2 weeks as im going on holidays for 2 weeks tomorrow, how long does the RMA thing last for Jes- (the thing when the product is damaged?).
    DSC01273.JPG

Also, I have 2 Fans for the case, yet the motherboard only has a CPU_FAN plug on it and one CHA_FAN, how do I get my 2nd Chassis Fan working :/ ?

It would be great if I could get these questions sorted by tonight as im gone tomorrow.

Thanks loads,
    -Coz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,334 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

Bad News, if this is your MotherBoard I don't think it supports SATA:dunno:. As for DVD-drive put it in Secondary and as Master, ye a sound cable goes from the DVD drive to your sound card (or onboard sound as it's good). Have you installed your Hard Drive already? - is it pluged in with both Power and Data Cable? If so then your fine if you can't get the HDD pluged in to your MB because you can't find anywhere to plug it in on your MB then it doesn't support SATA (I hope I'm wrong).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭-ADREN-

no my mobo isnt damn well Sata compatible grrrr...

Was talking to tman there he said I could pick up a PCI sata controller, for 40 euros, damn it anyways I should have got that N7 board, but no one said anything :( im going to have to dish out an extra 20 euros to get this HD working.

Does anyone have any idea on the other questions?

Stick the DVD-drive in another computer I'd bet dollars to donuts that it works fine but testing it in another computer would be the quickest way of making sure. As for the LEDs it doesn't matter whether they are installed or not they are not vital components - I usually just try them both ways until they work:p; those two wires may be earphone plug wires:confused:. Is that a Gaming Bomb (Chembro) are you happy with the case?, surely that case comes with a manual telling you what the different wires are for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭-oRnein9-

For those eight or so wires that connect from the front of the case to the mobo refer to any manuals or leaflets that came with the mobo, I was a first time builder myself not so long ago and my mobo supplied a plan view indicating all locations on the motherboard including where and in what order these wires should be installed, note these are the wires that will turn your pc on when you press the button on the outside of the case so it shouldn't be too hard to find the right configuration even if you motherboard doesn't come with neccessary diagrams as the comp will not start unless these wires are connected effectively, if all else fails just try a little trail and error.
    Richy.

Ok, thanks for the wire thing, I think i kinda got it sorted, wont know for a while, going away on sat for 2 weeks, and ill get the sata controller when I come back, then I should finally be able to boot the system.

Btw I checked the DVD drive in this comp and yea its working fine, except not writing/reading at its best. Im hoping thats down to the Spec Pc I Tested it in p3 500 128ram, 12gb hd 5400rpm.

Originally posted by -ADREN-
    except not writing/reading at its best. Im hoping thats down to the Spec Pc I Tested it in p3 500 128ram, 12gb hd 5400rpm.
    Well that PC is probably not helping the performance of the drive but it could also be down to poor test media; in the end it works and that means you wont be able to return it and demand a replacement:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭ozt9vdujny3srf

Also, I have 2 Fans for the case, yet the motherboard only has a CPU_FAN plug on it and one CHA_FAN, how do I get my 2nd Chassis Fan working :/ ?
    [/B]

Do the chassis fans not have normal molex connectors on them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

if you got the parts online you have 10 days to send it back and get a full refund by law
    once the parts are in perfect condition with all boxs and wrapping

so if you got something wrong be quick to send it back and you will be fine :)

Do the chassis fans not have normal molex connectors on them

No both just have a 3 pin one that fits onto the motherboard thing, there 80mm fans.

Ugh please dont tell me one of these fans are now obselete?

Also How exactly do you fit the fan onto the grid, they came with screws that dont screw in anywhere on the fan :/ ?

if you got the parts online you have 10 days to send it back and get a full refund by law

Great that means I could have an entire pc that doesnt work, and I wont know for 2 weeks, that brings me beyond the 10 days thing. (Going away for 2 weeks today)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭Mutant_Fruit

can you not throw in an old IDE harddrive to test with?

And i can show you how to wire up the 3pin to connect to a molex. I have 4 adapters for that myself (but i think i need al of them). They came with my new fans.

I'll see if i can get away without needing to use all the adapters, and if i have a spare, i'll give it to ya. Or you could just drop in 2 wires to hook the 3pin to the 4pin molex. Thats what i did on another fan.

Hey Mfruit,

Em, about the hard drive thing, if I just take out the current IDE HD im using now, (with windows and everything left on it) and plug it into the new machine is that ok?

About the fans, thanks that would be nice, and im sure I could pick on of those converters up somewhere, yea?

On the fan side, I still cant figure out how to attach them to the PC, they came with these screws that screw into no where :/ ?

One of them came with these type screws ta22131r7d.gif
    and on the site i took this from it says that they are used for mounthing platic framed case fans. Now the only way I can see possible that they might, is if they go into these Holes on the corner of the fan, but there is no indication that they are ment to fit, it only screws in about 1/4 of the way, trying any harder to get it in feels like I may crack the plastic.

Yeah, you should be able to pick em up in Peats (but they'll rip ya off :P). I'm going to work on my computers now, to replace the old noisy fans with cool quiet new ones. I'll let ya know how many adapters i have left over.

AS for the screws, don't force em! Don't want to break the fan. Get a thin screw that easily just pushes through the hole, and then get a nut and tighten that onto the screw so that the fan can't fall off. Thats my advice.

OK thanks, for the moment I just used those mounting srews but didnt force them all the way in..

As regards to the Hard drive question any ideas?

If I take this Hard drive out with out formating, should It boot up ok on the new machine?

oops, forgot to reply to that :p

yes, you can. I've done it before. probalby not the ideal thing to do, but it works grand, and the OS will still work again when you put it back int he origional computer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Great that means I could have an entire pc that doesnt work, and I wont know for 2 weeks, that brings me beyond the 10 days thing. (Going away for 2 weeks today)

well if any parts are faulty you have longer then that to send them back im just saying you can leagaly send back anything you dont want even if it working within 10 days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭unklerosco

I have a spare molex to 3 pin adapter if u want it, splits one molex to 4 3pins.... 2@12v and 2@7v

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

yes, you can. I've done it before. probalby not the ideal thing to do, but it works grand, and the OS will still work again when you put it back int he origional computer.

It all depends on the Operating System. I use win2k and it doesnt work with it (blue screens).
    I cant change the hd from machine to machine and it will work as they use different chipsets, gfx drivers and stuff ( tho doing a no driver load up might work but whats the point in that :p )

If your winxp apparently it will work (what iw as told but i dunno how accurate this is). Either way its not ideal!

The hd thing works sometimes... I managed to use the hd on two different setups, but it wouldn't work on another. Luck o the draw really. Best to format it even if it does wrk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭duridian

Regarding putting in a hd from another pc to test, it depends on the version of Windows on the hd.

If you have any of the Nt type Windows (Win Nt4, Win 2k, Win Xp or Server 2003) then you have to initialise windows setup on the original machine, at the first restart do not allow it to restart (stay powered off, pull the plug at the post or something). Take out the hard drive and transfer to the new pc. Power on and the hardware detection stage of setup will reconfigure windows to work on the new machine. If you do not follow this procedure you will keep getting BSODs and never be able to boot into windows.

For Win 9x or Win Me it's easier, just swap across the drive and it will reconfigure without running setup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

ah cool, good to know :)

ok lads thanks for all the replys, I did the hard drive swap thing, and 1st boot and everything worked :p lucky me. I didnt bother letting it finish the set up into windows 2000, I had to go, im gone now for 2 weeks, and looking forward to getting back to a nice working system.

I think ill end up returning the old hard drive, and setting up the new sata one by getting one of those PCI sata controller things. If I get one of these to make my new hard drive work, will it slow down my system of drive and more than if it was to be just directly linked to the motherboard? Also where does the Sata drive draw power from? I dont see a Molex connection on the back of it.

Should I be able to boot and load up windows XP, even with my hard drive not being and IDE one? How does the BIOS pick up on a sata drive?

Thanks for the replys,
    -Coz.

There should be a plug on the power supply for the sata HD, Its a thin flat one. If theres none u'll need an adapter.

Dont know bout the rest