Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Simon and Garfunkle gig

• 19-07-2004 8:01am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭

WOW!!!

For anyone who wasn't there.. you missed a once in a lifetime gig. Iffy sound engineering for first tune or too and then perfect.
    Paul Simon looked at least 100, but that guitar sounded like a young man raring to go. 2 encores, and a mixed crowd from teenagers to ancient wrinklies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Beëlzebooze

My GF and I where in the angelsey stand, looking out over a sea of grey hair...

the gig was brilliant...and I am not surprised that "bridge over troubled water" got a standing ovation....it was excelent!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭cleareyed

Astonishing concert. Hard to believe those guys are 60 years of age. Quality of the music after all these years was wonderful. And nobody mimed!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

dam im so pissed i didnt get tickets for that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭McGintyMcGoo

TicketMaster screwed the touts again!!! They sold extra tickets from their mobile van at the RDS. Fair play!! The gig was great. The Everly Brothers were very good, even if their voices have faded over the years!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭mcguiver

Very hard to listen to ice cube cd in the car after that show..... much as i try to stay up to date with music, s+g just sent me back down memory lane.
    Wierd how tunes can stirr up old memories..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭corm500

Great Gig. Anyone know where you might find a set list from that show?

corm500

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

I was surrounded by people who thought they'd go to the gig for a chat. I don't know why people do that, pay so much money and then just talk through the whole thing. I think they quitened down when I gave them my evil look though. Spantastic gig tho!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭threebeards

Originally posted by cormie
    I was surrounded by people who thought they'd go to the gig for a chat.

Same here. It did my head in. It was hard enough to hear because I was on the pitch at the back and to the side cos I got there late in the evening (pun very much intended!!!). Great gig although the taxi man I got to the airport yesterday morning annoyed my h0le saying it was ****e etc blah blah blah. ".....when I saw Simon and Garfunkel in 1972 blah blah it was great but they're not the same now blah blah. I met them in New York you know in 1975.............." I'm never getting into a taxi again!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭mcguiver

Ye there was a high mpsq factor
    (Muppits per square inch)

I dont understand, they go to every gig, they make jokes about the performers and spoil the show for people around them. I tapped one on the shoulder and in my nicest northside accent said " excuse me has anyone told you that the concert started".

Try going to the theatre... there they discuss how much better so and so was in this role???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

I chatted to my mate about the gig and didn't think it was a problem. An english guy sitting behind us told us that he had paid "to listen to them, not to you two, if you want to talk to your boyfriend then go to the bar", he got told not to be spreading his homophobic vibes around the gig and that he had a cheek calling us gay when his wife looked like a man. Big deal if we wanted to discuss the gig, it's not as if we were talking loud. We had to put up with his ugly wife singing along with the tunes. We were both tall guys so I'm sure he wasn't happy about his view being obstructed slightly.
    Originally posted by mcguiver
    Ye there was a high mpsq factor
    (Muppits per square inch)

I dont understand, they go to every gig, they make jokes about the performers and spoil the show for people around them. I tapped one on the shoulder and in my nicest northside accent said " excuse me has anyone told you that the concert started".

Try going to the theatre... there they discuss how much better so and so was in this role???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

On another note, as I was walking from my car to the gig I passed a guy in a yellow vest on Herbert Park directing traffic to park on the footpath. As I got near the venue I told a member of the Gardai that there was a guy doing this and if it was legal, he waid it's not legal. I said myabe he should warn the guy or inform the drivers. He said it was none of my business and that he couldn't leave his post (guarding a laneway beside the Spar). On my return to my car I noticed each of the cars on the footpath clamped. Lazy Gardai