Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

McGarry-under rated?

• 15-07-2004 1:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭

Is it just me or is James McGarry (kk goalkeeper) not getting the recognition he deserves. He is cool headed and determined looking in the goal and has made many a great save. He has been with the team a long time now and has won many medals. So i am taking my stance and promoting JAMES MCGARRY NO1 GOALIE - VOTE ALL STAR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Its not that hes a bad goalie its just that he's not the best keeper at the moment. In nearly every game he's been beaten and alot of the time he doesn't want to get his jersey dirty, Unlike Fitzhenry, Fitzgerald or Cummins who dive for everthing and put their head were the ball is,
    and besides even people from Bennitsbridge don't rate him that highly either, but I'm sure if he had the Tipperary full back line instead of the Kilkenny one in front of him we'd see a lot more of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

I agree with TippTop the reason he is not rated so highly is mainly because of other goalkeepers .

Cummins and Fitzhenry can be a one man defense at times , but McGarry just isnt up to that quality .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

I think that McGarry is a great goalkeeper in terms of distribution, although it is easier with the ability of the kilkenny midfield, half backs and half forwards. That is one of the two jobs that goalkeepers have!

However, and unfortunately for him, in terms of shot stopping I would rate Fitzhenry, Mullins and Cummins ahead of him. He is unlucky, in terms of an allstar, that there are so many good goalkeepers around at the moment and that there have been so many good performances in the last few years e.g. Fitzhenry vs Offaly 2004, Cummins vs Kilkenny 2003, Mullins vs Wexford 2003.

He will just have to console himself with his numerous national league, leinster and all-ireland medals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

I think Davey Fitz should probably be shown a bit more respect in this thread. As a shot stopper I would have thought he is second to none.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭kilkennycat2004

Good goalkeeping is not about diving around for the cameras.
    McGarry is by far the most consistent hurling goalie over last 5 years & in both reading the game & puck out distribution second to none.
    Medals are more important than ALL Stars but still consistency should be rewarded.
    We live in hope for ALL Statrs 204

Originally posted by Waylander
    I think Davey Fitz should probably be shown a bit more respect in this thread. As a shot stopper I would have thought he is second to none.

Respect, RESPECT!!!:confused: What repect did the little B*****ks ever show me, I hope offaly full forward line tear him apart tomorrow night,

But behind all that he is a good shot stopper(for the size of him)

Davey Fitz isnt the best shotstopper in Ireland , and did u think some of that lack of respect is because me and TippTop are biased ? , well did ya ?..............well u should have .

Originally posted by kilkennycat2004
    Good goalkeeping is not about diving around for the cameras.
    McGarry is by far the most consistent hurling goalie over last 5 years & in both reading the game & puck out distribution second to none.
    Medals are more important than ALL Stars but still consistency should be rewarded.
    We live in hope for ALL Statrs 204

funny that this should be some1's first post on Boards.ie , I suspect that this is just another account of a current user , possibly one that has posted on this thread already .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭Shaque attack

hmmm... the name also adds to the suspicion but unfortunately there is no proof so i propose a race around the world between the two aforementioned posters to show their independence. meet me tommorow at trafalgar square, the queen herself will adjudicate....

btw McGarry has never shown himself to pull off match winning saves in the same way as fitzhenry and cummins have

No I am not anyone in disguise & I stand over my opinion re James McGarry.
    The puck out distribution thing can be viewed next Sunday as its McGarry & Fitzy at either end.
    Although Fitzy is a good goalie & a nice guy also by the way I know which 1 i'd sooner have on goal for the Cats next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭country_gurl

i hope ur not suggesting that other kilkenny person is me? because (a) i wasnt at home at the time of the crime and (b) i wouldnt bother my ar$e making another account when i have a perfectly good 1... the point would be what? And whenever i have a name online i spell it as "kat". Does this satisfy ur inquisitive minds? if not meet me and the cat at croker next sunday although i have my suspicions as to who the cat maybe? does bubbles ring a bell cat?

Yes there are an awful lot of people from Kilkenny not just country gurl & myself who feel McGarry is number 1 in more ways than 1.
    A lot of anti-KK stuff in the papers this weekend also so plenty of attention on Croker next Sunday.
    As usual McGarry will go about his business in a quite but efficent manner.
    No point in repeating whats already said. Up McGarry, Cody et al
    :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

I can confirm that Culchie girl and Kenny the cat are not posting from thr same IP address, no doubt they are of the same mind set.

I still think that kats will win the all ireland (with ease too)

However McGarry isnt the best goalie in Ireland.... has been in the past but not this year, his defence are too good for him to prove himself time after time.

Alan

its country! im not yet a culchie... hoping to be promoted

Originally posted by country_gurl
    Is it just me or is James McGarry (kk goalkeeper) not getting the recognition he deserves. He is cool headed and determined looking in the goal and has made many a great save. He has been with the team a long time now and has won many medals. So i am taking my stance and promoting JAMES MCGARRY NO1 GOALIE - VOTE ALL STAR.

I would rate Jim mcGarry and im a passionate Tipp man. to win 2 all irelands and 6 leinster in a row you need a class act between the sticks and Jim is that. an unsung hero for sure. Made great saves v Cork last yr when KK were well and truly as Gorta would say "Under the Cosh"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

I think he is a very good keeper but that there are 5 or 6 that I think are better. These would be Cummins, Fitzgerald, Ffitzhenry, Byrne and O'Sullivan.

Mc Garry's not under rated he's blody OVER RATED:ninja:

Originally posted by country_gurl
    its country! im not yet a culchie... hoping to be promoted

get used to it , any of us outside the pale , are culchies .(according to those inside the pale )

Originally posted by TIPPTOP
    Mc Garry's not under rated he's blody OVER RATED:ninja:

Made wonderful saves today proved to have kept Kilkenny in the game

Originally posted by tipp_Gunner
    Made wonderful saves today proved to have kept Kilkenny in the game

very true , its now put him above Fiztgerald in my ratings of goalkeepers .(but maybe thats unfair on Fitzy , its not like he got a lot of oppouirtunity to shine )

fitz... i heard threw the hurley yesterday after penalty and hit umpire causing umpire to b seen 2 by first aid... not very sportsmanship... yet nothing was said bout this but coady was abused constantly(on another board) for his "mad man actions" yet he did not cause any physical violence? Maybe its a rumour but im certainly going to watch the taped version tonight!

This was maybe as good a display of goalkeeping by a Kilkenny keeper since Noel Skehan in All ireland finals of seventies.
    McGarry has always been rock solid but rarely has to do the saving part of the job as he did yesterday in Croker. Always Mr. reliability in all the other parts though.
    The long awaited All Star may happen after all. Hopefully the All Ireland medal 2004 comes first :D

damn straight kkcat! and many a night drinkin up and down high street and john street.
    just one more thing big ears... u said fitz didnt get to shine but either does mcgarry so perhaps they are equals.
    McGarry saved us yesterday. He is the king in my eyes and a lovely guy 2. Oooh i think im in love.......:p

and u cant rate what u cant see , and as I said before I know rate McGarry better than Fitzgerald .

thats what i like 2 hear ;)