Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Doors play dublin tonight.

• 12-07-2004 1:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭

Hey just looking to see if anyone knows whats the craic with the doors tonight, it says doors open at 7pm, anyone know what time they are coming on stage at?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

Dunno, would love to go but am tired of being rode by MCD/Ticketmaster. That's just a stupid price for a 90 minute tops show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭boogie man

Don't know what time they're on at but I'll be there ready and waiting! I hear they play for around 2 hours. 49 bucks is a bit steep, but it's gonna be a great show. Pitty jimbo aint around still!! :(

BM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭Slosh

Over two hours... what an amazing gig....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭jay567

Well it has to be said, Jim may not have been there but Ian did a well cool job of filling the space. Great night, great atmoz and an all round great gig.

If you liked the doors it was the one and only way of seeing (although just a glimps) them jam out the classics. Well happy !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Kêrmêttê

Originally posted by Slosh
    Over two hours... what an amazing gig....

I gotta agree there... prolly the best gig I've ever been to.
    Practically 2 and half hours performance... and that sneaky 3rd encore?
    I was well impressed! :D
    HAW HAW HAW @ all the ppl who left after the FIRST encore...
    ... yiz REALLY missed out! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

I'll be seeing them on sunday. Can't wait now.
    Who was the singer last night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

I really wanted to go and see them, but i could not find any1 that had the money to go :( . But hopefully they will come back soon.

Btw, The singer was the lead singer from The Cult.
    I'll be seeing them on sunday. Can't wait now.

Where are you going to see them?? I really want to go. It's meant to be an amazing Gig.

Well, I left the point feeling rather dissapointed! :( I was really looking forward to this gig and the doors are one of my favourite bands. I just felt that they were a bit musically sloppy. Bum notes, overly extended soloing. I mean for the last song - Light my fire, they all did a solo, and none of them blew me away.

Ian Astbury was doing his best, but the shoes were just to big for him to step into.

Loads of the songs were great though - unknown soldier, 5 to 1, Alabama song & L.A. woman spring to mind.

And why did they have to keep going on about peyote, lsd and the california desert? OK, one time is funny but come on guys!

OK, I'll stop moaning, 'cuz I'm glad I went to see them, it's just a pitty I wasn't around in LA to see them in the late 60's!!:D

BM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Originally posted by Y o u s s e f
    Where are you going to see them?? I really want to go. It's meant to be an amazing Gig.
    Near Vienna. The wiesen jazzfest.

If u have this coming to u on sunday ur a lucky dude! As Kêrmêttê was saying, one of the best gigs! Ian from the cult was singing, he pulled it off perfect! 20 min version of light my fire, what with solos and all. The ppl where a bit chilled at the begining, then as it went on, ppl just dancing the way it should be, not caring and having a GREAT time, never again will age be an issue to go see someone. They still got it in them!

but boogie, we all wish we could have been there in the day, but we wernt. the bass solo was the only one that missed the mark for me. I just feel lucky to have gotten even if it was only 30% of the orig, its still better than nothing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

Yeah, some people are saying it's brilliant and other are saying it's not all it's cracked up to be. But i know what your saying about been too big a thing for the singer guy. He is not experianced enough.

Oh, and the vienna gig, Thanks but i am in dublin... Ha ha

Originally posted by jay567
    but boogie, we all wish we could have been there in the day, but we wernt. the bass solo was the only one that missed the mark for me. I just feel lucky to have gotten even if it was only 30% of the orig, its still better than nothing :)
    Exactly! and that's why I went. I LOVE the Doors and I really enjoyed listening to and watching the 2 dudes, but it just didn't have the magic ingredient and I knew it wouldn't. So I guess I shouldn't complain!

Y o u s s e f Ian Astbury is plenty experienced! The cult were HUGE in their day, it's just that he is so pathetically uncool compared to jim :rolleyes: His voice was a great substitute, but they should have got someone who was not trying to be jim, I really don't think it worked in that regard. All the press releases were saying he's not trying to be like jim but come on, he so is.

BM.

I hear yeh Boogie man! Jim was missed, even if we did hold a thought that maybe he arrived as a ghost just for us to create the best gig of all time , one night only!

Ian, he has been around for years and vocally i think did do what most other would have failed terribly at. Yeah he wasnt perfect, but have to say, for me, he was the man last night with the vocals, gritty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭Shewhomustbe...

Oh come on guys, quit bitching, it was an AMAZING gig.
    It was the best one for me ever, and that was in part to how the crowd (me included) were responding and enjoying it.

Of course it wasn't going to be perfect, care to name me any that are??, but isn't that the point, if you want perfection stay at home and listen to the album.

Ian was GREAT, he really looked like he was enjoying himself.
    It's damn hard to fill anyone's shoes let alone someone like Jim and I'm sure he knows that he's constantly being scrutinized because of it.

I have a copy of their New Year's Eve performance in Hollywood and while they are great the crowd were a bunch of ba*tards showing little or no interest. A gig like this is what you make of it and for me it is a night I will always treasure because all the tribute bands in world can't compare to seeing the real thing (even if it wasn't all of it)

Dont get me wrong "Shewhomustbe" i agree with yeah, as said, if u want the DOORS full, go home and listen to them.
    I was over on the left side and danced for the entire 2.5 hrs , sweeted like a lunitic. Decided on the way in that this will prob be the only time u get to dance to the doors!!!

Originally posted by Shewhomustbe...
    Of course it wasn't going to be perfect, care to name me any that are??, but isn't that the point, if you want perfection stay at home and listen to the album.
    Hey, I'm just saying that I heard a few bum notes and a few dropped beats. They sounded like they havn't been playing together as a band for long. Just a little bit sloppy. Maybe the sound at the point was crappy. I don't know but they just didn't do it for me like I thought they would.

I can now see why John Densmore didn't want anything to do with it!

It's a shame, but that's the way I feel about it. Sorry guys !

BM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭kaiphas

I thought it was a fab way to spend a Monday night. 2.5 hours of sheer musical magic. Unfortunately the Doors or D21C have become a tribute band to themselves. Ian Astbury did an excellent number - but how they can claim he bringa a new dimension is beyond me - he looks, sounds & moves like the man himself. Never before though have I seen so many people dance in The Point. Everybody was in their own little world (some moreso than others!).
    Well worth the price of the ticket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Bonzo

Originally posted by boogie man
    Hey, I'm just saying that I heard a few bum notes and a few dropped beats. They sounded like they havn't been playing together as a band for long.

I can now see why John Densmore didn't want anything to do with it!

Of course you heard a 'FEW' bum notes, it was a LIVE gig!?!
    They've been playing together for well over a year (how long before is long enough?)

Here's the reason John isn't touring with them

http://www.raymanzarek.com/D21CPressDiamond.html

Thanks for the link Bonzo, interesting reading. Now listen closely, in my humble opinion, I think they sounded like they haven't been playing together for long as a band. They could have been together for the last 10 years playing a gig every night - but on monday night they sounded sloppy to me. Of course there is gonna be a few bum notes etc but I just didn't think they sounded great at certian points of the show. Thats simply my opinion. I know the crowd loved it - I never seen the point so animated!

I'm sooo glad I got to see it though, I'll always remember it when I listen to the albums from now on. :)

BM.