Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nickname

• 09-07-2004 9:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I've had a nickname for a few years, which i aquired during a school trip.. "Pickers" because when away on a school trip a few lads saw my scratching my as$hole (sorry) with a spoon. Admititly, i can see how its funny and all that but we're six years on now and everytime i meet someone somewhere the name gets said, the story gets told and its just plain embaressing. Trying to pull birds with my mates around is near impossible, they go on and on about it when they start because generally they're hammered when they do.

I don't want to come across as some pussy and start asking the guys to call me my real name, nor do i want them to stop calling me pickers (i doubt they even could).. i just don't like the story anymore! If only that spoon wasn't so soothing, i wouldn't be in this position at all.

Anyone in a similar situation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,579 ✭✭✭Webmonkey

aw man a spoon, someone got to eat with that....

I don't know what you can do really, just try telling them...i know u may seem like a pussy and all but fcuk it, isn't it better than getting embarrassed all the time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Megatron

MOst of the time i refered to as Samos ( cus appently thats how my name looks when i sign my name even though my name is James o_O) or many moons ago it asuzits ( spelling ?) cuz i used to shave my head and i was really skinny.

i don't mind the samos one but i managed to stop the 2nd one .
    when my m8's used to keep calling me it when i was trying to chat a girly up
    i used to tell them they only reason the call me that is cuz my garndfather died there,
    now depending on how the person reacted i'd done 1 of 2 things. First just leave it as that if they seemed no pulsed or 2nd i'd say yeah .. he fell off a watchtower ;P

i hope i didnt' offend anyone if i have .. i'm sorry

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,344 ✭✭✭fitz

[wooden expression]

There is no spoon...

[/wooden expression]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

Don't stress out over it dude.. Actually, sorry, clearly you are stressed out over it, but try not to be.

Nicknames stick, and even if it doesn't, there'll always be someone there to tell the story.

Thing to remember though, is as you get older, it's easier to laugh these things off, and other people you talk to will see the funny side. And as long as you're not scratching your arse with a spoon while you actually tell the story, they won't think it so strange. We've all done some odd things that get let out of the bag.. scratching yer hole with a spoon is nothing.. believe me!

Kevin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

I'd have to say that the worst possible thing you can do when you have a nickname is make a big deal about it. People pick up very quickly that you dislike it and wind you up about it. I've had nicknames for years and respond automatically to three/four different things some people might call me. Admittedly none of them are as a result of being caught scratching my ass with an item of cutlery (that would be a truly creepy "you too" moment ;) ) but it's something I just ignore.

Most young guys are generally too childish to drop something like this even if it does really irritate you so ignoring it may be the best option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

Originally posted by Megatron
    ...many moons ago it asuzits ( spelling ?) cuz i used to shave my head and i was really skinny....

Do you mean auschwitz? lol :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

how old are you? sounds a bit imature of your mates to be saying that infront of the ladies

you're gonna have to tell em its not on........ use the bird angle, say, "lads, i know ye think its funny n all, but can you not bring that up in front of the women? its out of order"

without getting pissed off, just bethat blunt.

your mates are supposed to be your wingmen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭Paladin

They are allowed tell birds about the nickname AFTER you sleep with her, but not before. Cant ruin a mates chances of scorin. Go ruin their chances and see how they like it.

But, heh heh, that spoon story is funny :) If a girl laughed at it and stayed talking to you then you know youre onta a winner!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭ravenhead

I wouldn't worry too much about it ... girls like funny personal stories to break the ice (admitedly yours is a 'little' over the top).

Keep the chin up & just laugh it off ... you'll put girls off more if you have a scawl on your face everytime they call you by it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Rnger

your just going to have to ask them to stop. if your good friends with them they will stop it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Originally posted by Megatron

i don't mind the samos one but i managed to stop the 2nd one .
    when my m8's used to keep calling me it when i was trying to chat a girly up
    i used to tell them they only reason the call me that is cuz my garndfather died there,
    now depending on how the person reacted i'd done 1 of 2 things. First just leave it as that if they seemed no pulsed or 2nd i'd say yeah .. he fell off a watchtower ;P

i hope i didnt' offend anyone if i have .. i'm sorry

I saw that on bash.org.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Kernel32

It could be worse. I remember a guy I grew up with who got the nickname "feck the knickers" after he got caught stealing womens undergarments from washing lines. Nicknames do have a habit of sticking, you will probably have to learn how to laugh it off, even capitalise on it by coming up with some good lines you can use when your friends tell the story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Megatron

Originally posted by Dr. Loon
    I saw that on bash.org.

?

what did u see in particular ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,083 ✭✭✭✭Stark

When I was in danger of acquiring a nickname (think it was some character from police academy or something) I used to beat my friends up any time they called me it. Amazing how effective that is when you're 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

You need better friends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Mutz

This is obviously a great way of breaking the ice with strange women my friend - SIEZE THE OPPORTUNITY!

Its not emabrressing - just a funny story - if it makes the girls laugh, you're on a winner! Don't be so embarressed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

I wish I had a nickname... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

Pfff, bloody whinger.
    I was given a far worse nickname.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭satori

ugh, as i live in a small rural town in the west of Ireland and people tend not to forget things.... Im known as "the queer-en"

(some people will just never grow up)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

Originally posted by Mutz
    Don't be so embarressed!

i used to know of a guy who's nickname was Jipo. Try not be embarressed bout that one :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

i used to know of a guy who's nickname was Jipo. Try not be embarressed bout that one

I get called Jipo all the time. or Jip.

Where was this guy from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Originally posted by Pickers
    I've had a nickname for a few years, which i aquired during a school trip.. "Pickers" because when away on a school trip a few lads saw my scratching my as$hole (sorry) with a spoon. Admititly, i can see how its funny and all that but we're six years on now and everytime i meet someone somewhere the name gets said, the story gets told and its just plain embaressing. Trying to pull birds with my mates around is near impossible, they go on and on about it when they start because generally they're hammered when they do.

I don't want to come across as some pussy and start asking the guys to call me my real name, nor do i want them to stop calling me pickers (i doubt they even could).. i just don't like the story anymore! If only that spoon wasn't so soothing, i wouldn't be in this position at all.

Anyone in a similar situation?

YOU PICKED YOUR ASS WITH A SPOON!?

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHA

Jesus that is funny. :p

But very very wrong. :(

I would tell the lads to stop saying it in front of birds or simply deny it to the bitter end in front of the ladies and say "typical whatever your mates name is to talk **** when he is drunk".

Make them out to be stupid. act cool and confident when it comes up and give them weird looks as to what the hell are you talking about?