Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oxegen Essential's

• 06-07-2004 11:08am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 38

Stuff you will need but always forget!!

Alway have a small backpack which must ALWAYS be strapped to you:
    2 x toilet rolls TAPED INTO A PLASTIC BAG
    Torch and extra batterys and bulb and chain / rope to attach it to yourself
    Rain jacket or poncho, camouflage style
    Waterproof watch
    Spare contact lenses and small folding mirror or old pair of glasses
    Bottle's of water
    Loads of chewing gum
    Suncream,
    Hat
    Roll of good strong, preferably waterproof tape
    Loads of smokes, and several lighters,
    Sunglasses make them CHEAP cos you wont be bringing them home
    painkillers
    disposable camera

for camping:

a sleeping mat for under your sleeping bag
    Cushion
    Toothbrush, toothpaste, bar of soap, small towel
    A basic first-aid kit
    Something to sit
    Food as you can, and stuff that will last the weekend (loaf of bread, packet of ham / cheese, choccie bars, crisps, etc. in a cooler bag)
    Driving down bring a bbq in the boot and a proper cooler box with all your food, and a camping kettle; you and your mates can go get a goof feed before the festivities start (youre allowed use a bbq in the car park, NOT in the campsite)

More tip's from elsewhere

1:- after you put your socks on put your be-socked feet into plastic bags, tape em up around your legs and put your shoes on over that; if it rains, you won't give a ****, whereas everyone else really will

2:-if it rains it can be loads of fun to jump / slide around in the muck, but beware the pissmuck, for it be evil and is ANYWHERE NEAR THE JACKS

3:- Swap your mobile for an older one like your mam's or dad's so if ya lose it or break it, it won't be such a big thing!!

broght to you from the good ppl of the Oxegen Survivors Guide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭briano

Last year I brought:

1 x Loaf of Bread
    1 x Jar of Jam
    1 x Shorts
    2 x T-Shirts
    2 x boxers & Socks
    1 x toothbruch, toopaste, deodrant
    24 x Dutchie
    E40 cash

And Was sorted for the weekend. Nothing that people wanted to steal, and nothing that I really minded losing.

Happy Days!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

Now for the really REALLY practical question:

What booze are ya allowed bring?

I'll just be on cans but the girls i know wanna bring bacardi and that sort of shenanigans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Originally posted by SteveD
    Now for the really REALLY practical question:

What booze are ya allowed bring?

I'll just be on cans but the girls i know wanna bring bacardi and that sort of shenanigans

You're not allowed bring in glass bottles or cans. So you'll have to stick to the cheap plastic litre bottles of booze :P

NO CANS!?!?!?!?!!?!?!

What shall be done?

Guess it'll be knacker juice for me then... roll on linden village.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Pour the cans into an empty 2-litre bottle or something.

Where'd ya hear no cans...?

The practical camping section is very non-specific

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

It says no bottles, but cans and plastic bottles are ok.
    No I gotta get me a cooler

• Closed Accounts Posts: 630 ✭✭✭LastIrishMonkey

cans allowed no bottles tho but how will u keep em cool ?

Whats the Tshirts and Hoddies like in the place are they off good quility and size ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭Cozpyro

Originally posted by LastIrishMonkey
    cans allowed no bottles tho but how will u keep em cool ?

Whats the Tshirts and Hoddies like in the place are they off good quility and size ?

Try this out for keeping cans cool. Soak some newspaper in cold water. Wrap a can in said cool wet paper. The paper will eventually dry and harden but by then the can will be cold. The paper will then have little air pockets in it and it acts in the same way as a thermos or styrofoam.

The TShirts and Hoodies will be the same as at any gig in The Point/Vicar St etc... It's basically one central point where all bands can sell their merch.

And for anyone who is interested, the reason you are not allowed have caps on bottles - Have you ever been hit on the head with a full 2 Litre bottle of Coke?!? If there is no cap on the bottle the 'hitter/thrower' gets doused and the 'hitee' is left unharmed (apart from some mild metnal scarring caused by the fact that someone felt it necessacry to club them with a bottle of sodypop).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

Originally posted by Cozpyro
    And for anyone who is interested, the reason you are not allowed have caps on bottles - Have you ever been hit on the head with a full 2 Litre bottle of Coke?!? If there is no cap on the bottle the 'hitter/thrower' gets doused and the 'hitee' is left unharmed (apart from some mild metnal scarring caused by the fact that someone felt it necessacry to club them with a bottle of sodypop).

/me throws can at Cozpyro.

Ha!

Although it'll probably just get confiscated, it is possible to sneak glass bottles etc in. Saw two guys havin a fight last year. They were throwing a glass bottle at each other for about 20 minutes. Kept missing though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Hell_en_earth

Alrite, can's are allowed!! Glass bottles can be brought if you wrap them in clothes in your bag and they can't feel them but glass is heavy your better off putting it into a coke bottle!!

Keeping can's cool, put them underneath your tent it'll be a bit bumpy but it work's and they don't get stolen! Just be careful when you come back cause you might burst some and you'll be living in swamp ville!!

Everything can be smuggled in if your careful enough!!

Hoodies and t-shirts and stuff aren't great just print's safe your money and spend it on more booze!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

if you freeze your cans of beer do they lose their fizz? :)

silly question no doubt but interested in knowing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭p.pete

Originally posted by chump
    if you freeze your cans of beer do they lose their fizz? :)

silly question no doubt but interested in knowing!
    No idea but I'd imagine they take on other explosive qualities.

Ask your mother first...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

How strict are they on drugs? Are they easy to get in? Once in, how secretive do you have to be?

Originally posted by NekkidBibleMan
    How strict are they on drugs? Are they easy to get in? Once in, how secretive do you have to be?
    There can be quite a few gaurdí on the entrances between the campsite and the venue - possibly more as a visual deterrant then for a full body cavity search but bear it in mind.

I remember being in the small tent last year and a tremendous smell of weed. Let your sense / senses guide you...

Same with anything really, unless they have sniffer dogs they should be pretty easy.

Last year they just hit my bag to check for bottles. They didn't actually open the bag. I didn't have any drugs though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭clearz

I know a fella that got caught with one pill at Wittness last year and got done in court for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

Originally posted by p.pete
    No idea but I'd imagine they take on other explosive qualities.

Lol :)

Indeed they do :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭beans

- Bring a smile :) They're contagious
    - Show some respect for those camping around you
    - Dont just spectate, get involved - chat to a stranger; get naked

But most importantly, :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Don't forget the skins!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭beans

Yar, but be a bit more careful than you would like - the DS use this weekend to reach those quotas :rolleyes:

A good friend had a day in court for skinning up, this man doesnt indulge himself and was just helping out a friend with broken fingers. They'll take no prisoners (pardon the pun)...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭froggie_1

what are the chances of gettin the ride?

Originally posted by froggie_1
    what are the chances of gettin the ride?
    Rides will be given in exchange for money at the fairground towards the middle of the venue area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭deckie27

A pack of those moist wipes
    Is also an essential piece of kit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭Cozpyro

Originally posted by clearz
    I know a fella that got caught with one pill at Wittness last year and got done in court for it.

There's always a high number of undercover cops at all large open air events. And they really hard to spot! Used to work as security and I nearly threw one of the out for acting the gob****e (pissed drunk, falling around and annoying people). Turned out to be an undercover cop who was stone cold sober. They just put on a really good act.

They are only there to catch the big dealers but if your stoopid enough not to try to hide what you're at they'll nick ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭spectacleinrock

This is the first year ever that the sponsors are paying the gardai so there will be three times as many guards than last year.They've been told to be strict by the sponsors. Got this from a guard who will be working at the event! So you will definately need to be really secretive though it propably won't be as bad in the campsite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 630 ✭✭✭LastIrishMonkey

the gardi are going too be all over the place its supposed to be a Gardi Controled event (that means sh** loads off gards) elegedly :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

The cops are sneaky, they pick a few high points on hills and sit there with Binoculars and a radio, while you look around for cops within 20m while your skinning up/Snorting/Poping. The cop miles away spots you and radios to a nearby cop and busts you!

They explained this to a mate while they were detaining him.

He didnt think it was so funny.

Rabbit

Apparently MCD have said that the band times won't be available this year until inside the festival:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭tibor

WELLIES!

You'll be so glad you brought them if it rains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Cannibal Ox

Apparently MCD have said that the band times won't be available this year until inside the festival
    Bah...that's a joke. What's the point in doing it?
    I hope you can find out at the campsite tommorrow night what the times are. Or do we have to wait until Saturday and buy one of those necklace thingys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

There should be a full break down in tomorrow's Ticket supplement with The Irish Times. The papers generally have all the info. The website should do too by tomorrow, if it ever comes back online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

DON'T FORGET:

CONDOMS!

(I think thats the smartest thing ive said all day)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭futility_

OH man I can't fricken wait. Don't like the sounds of all this crazy gardai nonsense but I'm sure checks on your belongings will mostly be for weapons and shít like that that's easy to find in a quick search. If they take my blow I'll cry and be hungover all weekend :(

Do many chicks go down on the Friday? /me ponders...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭froggie_1

om fcukin god im BOUNCIN OFF THE WALLS here....cant wait to get outa work...20 more mins and im gonna run outta here buy my drink and hit da road.

gonna go NUTS

1 word - ORBITAL

From my experience, everyone is garunteed a ride. ITs pretty much a big orgy disguised as a music festival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

You'll be thankful of a police presense there. So many people, so much going on, if anything happens, you'll have someone to turn to.

Rice cakes, fruit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 RiverDawg

Originally posted by Cozpyro

could you imagine standing in the middle of a throng of festival goers as they all dance around to the melodies on a sea of empty bottles with the caps still on- many a twisted/broken ankle ergo lawsuit ergo money ergo no caps on bottles at these things :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

Also an important thing to bring would be.....

THE TICKET

And everyone, have a good time... ;)