Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

College Course Advice

• 29-06-2004 7:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭

(don't know where to post this so, mods feel free to move)

Internet Technologies

just like to know what you think of this course? do you think it'll be worth 4years of my life and will it lead to a good job in the long run?

any advice appreciated!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭subway_ie

I'd be grateful for any advice/comments on any of these courses:

GY309 Financial Mathematics & Economics
    LM037 Economics & Mathematical Sciences (Like the NUIG course?)

GY204 Commerce (International) with Spanish
    LM073 Mechanical Engineering
    GY401 Engineering (Undenominated)
    GY101 Arts (Probably more maths/physics orientated with Spanish)
    GY301 Science
    LM058 Financial Mathematics (Seems to be a new course this year?)
    LM060 Mathematical Sciences
    GY408 Biomedical Engineering

That's my "order of preference" - although I know relatively little about the courses/career opportunities... getting a bit desperate since the CAO deadline is less than 48 hours away... Any advice would be appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

LM073 Mechanical Engineering, generally considered difficult but challenging. job wise you start of as ****, but you prove yourself by being good at what you do,.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭oeNeo

Leaving it a bit late lads dont you think? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭damnyanks

It really depends on what your goals are and what you want out of it. It seems to be an ok course, nothing great. Not much choice you are stuck with what they give you.

If you want to become a nurse it wont help you become one. So what is it you want to do ? Programming, web devlopment, documentation etc. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Johnny Versace

I'm very weary (spelling?) of any computer science type course. I really think IT is a dead industry for Ireland.

I think the best option is to do a general business/finance degree so you don't have to be an employee for the rest of your life.

Specialising is a bad idea.

Just my 2 cents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭irish life

Originally posted by Johnny Versace
    I'm very weary (spelling?) of any computer science type course. I really think IT is a dead industry for Ireland.
    :( I'm starting a computer science degree in September, I was told the industry would be back up in around 4 years. I deferred the course for a year so I've no chance but to take it or leave it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Superman

B.A. Computers - 4 years - UCD

Great course, Very flexible.
    You can pick any 2 arts subject (except politcs) and computers. Programming etc. Its not a mickey mouse computers either, bassically the same main elements as Computer Science.
    Then in 2nd year its computers and 1 of your art subjects.
    Same in 3rd year.
    And in 4th year its a project thing collaborating the two subjects.

Its a good course because you do computers at a reputable place and you don't have to do all the science shit, well I find it a bit borin' and I can't hack it.
    Plus if in 4 years the computers industry looks crap you can always do a H Dip. and teach your arts subject at second level.

It is aslo possible to do computers and a language such as German, French and welsh (ha! welsh).

Also if you do something like economics (I hate it) and computers you would be pretty empolyable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 947 ✭✭✭neXus9

Originally posted by irish life
    :( I'm starting a computer science degree in September, I was told the industry would be back up in around 4 years. I deferred the course for a year so I've no chance but to take it or leave it.
    I doubt that someone can just predict that the industry is going to be on it's feet in a matter of years, unless they have information on huge corporate businesses coming over here to settle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Superman

Originally posted by irish life

Don't worry about the computer industry, check out this thing, It was given out in college, to get us to do computers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭cartman

feckin better be coz im in the same boat as irishlife, deffered my course have to take it now, soft development :/ might join the gaurds yet tho...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Unpossible

Id be a bit wary of anything calling itself internet technologies (says the man about to accepta place on a B.Eng in Information Technology in finland), but having read the description its doesn't seem too bad, you get a year abroad which sounds cool. I suppose it depends on what you want to do, do you plan to be a programmer? don't worry if you don't have an answer, after a Nat Dip in Software Development Im still not sure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Cookie

I did a similar course to the dundalk course. Doing technical support now, which is grand, but not really software programmer :o)

The big thing is to do something you like and are interested in, otherwise you are unlikely to do well unless you kick your ass studying. And then, you might not use the course afterwards. I know a lot of people that struggled through 4 years, getting quite a good mark, but hating the course and doing something totally different.

Is there any way to break it up? Do two years and get the cert, then do the dip and degree? If I could go back, I would have done it that way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I think the best option is to do a general business/finance degree so you don't have to be an employee for the rest of your life.

I'd actually be of the exact opposite opinion about busines/finance degrees. If you're looking to do a technical course though, I'd try and do an engineering course, rather than a specific computer science course. Any decent engineering course should teach you loads of computer science, while also giving you heaps of problem solving skills. All much more valuable than a general business degree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Johnny Versace

Well, having a good finance background behind you will give you the extra confidence when it comes to setting up your own business.

Being financially literate is so important these days.

For example, I know a girl who earns terrible money but is very financially literate, so she has a lot more $$$ saved and invested than my high-earning IT buddies.

I'm very much of the mentality that owning your business is the way to go, not being an employer making someone else rich.

That's also why I disagree with specialising. The more you pigeon-hole yourself the less marketable you become... especially when economies are not strong.

Again, just my 2 cents!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭yossarin

i hope you've invested those 2 cents wisely :)

To the original poster:
    Do what your interested in. If you don't know what that is, pick the best of what seems good.

don't, *DON'T*, pick a college course based on what seems likely to get you a job, or what seems hot right now. I started college at the hight of the dot com thing, and a lot of people on my course went into it 'cos they thought it'd make them rich. They all found they hated the subject, got bored, and dropped out or were shíte at it. After you finish college you'll think you know it all, but you won't know crap. You'll get a terrible first job, and wonder what went wrong. then you'll earn more and more and the work will get more and more interesting as you go on. this is just how it works.

Your career is just that. Its long term. Economies have crests and troughs. Eight months ago i couldn't get a job in the uk (moved over here for my GFs job & was offered work in Irl at the time), now I'm getting offers for interviews every day. In fact, i just got one while i was writing this post.

to finish my mini-rant: do what you love !

As to the Dundalk course - its seems like a good course, but might be too generic and not heavyweight enough for some peoples tastes. The course head is a maths guy, so thats good.
    The topics are cohesive and seem well planned. A similar course with the same and (in my biased option) better areas would be ICT in Trinity.

It comes down to what type of techie you want to be...this course will make you a high level abstractions programmer, not a down and dirty assembly level programmer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

Originally posted by Cookie
    I did a similar course to the dundalk course. Doing technical support now, which is grand, but not really software programmer :o)

The big thing is to do something you like and are interested in, otherwise you are unlikely to do well unless you kick your ass studying. And then, you might not use the course afterwards. I know a lot of people that struggled through 4 years, getting quite a good mark, but hating the course and doing something totally different.

Is there any way to break it up? Do two years and get the cert, then do the dip and degree? If I could go back, I would have done it that way

thats it!

the only way you'll get anything out of a course is if you like it!

If your not sure of the course yourself, the best bet is DONT DO IT

if it doesnt sound good to you... it wont be good for you

no point in doing a course for the sake of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Originally posted by dub_dan
    (don't know where to post this so, mods feel free to move)

Internet Technologies

just like to know what you think of this course? do you think it'll be worth 4years of my life and will it lead to a good job in the long run?

any advice appreciated!!

I honestly think you're best off doing a Computer Applications/Software Development type course in DCU or DIT if you really want to get into Internet stuff. When you graduate with your degree in Internet Technologies in four years I think the guys with the more general degrees will have a definite edge and you'll be struggling to find work. Whereas in a general computer application/science degree you can work on Internet stuff on the side of your normal degree. I have no reason to doubt that there'll still be an over supply of internet programmers four years down the line whereas there may very well be a more likely demand for software developers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

I would agree with what most people are saying here - do a course that you will enjoy. Do not, repeat, do not, do a course that you think will make you the most money.

Quite a substantial number of people I work with did computers because it was the done thing. They are crap at their jobs and consequently hate their jobs. One poor individual (she is in IT support) would rather be a fashion designer. I rest my case.

Originally posted by tom dunne
    I would agree with what most people are saying here - do a course that you will enjoy. Do not, repeat, do not, do a course that you think will make you the most money.

The problem is trying to find something you'll enjoy when you don't have any real idea what the course is like... College prospectus' don't give you an information about the course - they just try to sell it, and stay really vague. And it's pretty impossible sometimes to talk to people who are doing the course and get their experiences/thoughts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 947 ✭✭✭neXus9

Originally posted by subway_ie
    The problem is trying to find something you'll enjoy when you don't have any real idea what the course is like... College prospectus' don't give you an information about the course - they just try to sell it, and stay really vague.
    I know what you mean, with all their buzz words ( "product realisation" :rolleyes: ).

Originally posted by neXus9
    I know what you mean, with all their buzz words ( "product realisation" :rolleyes: ).

What's even worse, is when you go to the open days, and you find out that all the people there have just learned off the prospectus and just recite it back to you without actually giving you any useful information what so ever. You'd think that the lecturers would actually be able to talk to somebody about what they teach...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

The problem is trying to find something you'll enjoy when you don't have any real idea what the course is like... College prospectus' don't give you an information about the course - they just try to sell it, and stay really vague.

Ok, I see your point.

But let me turn that thought around and say - would you enjoy doing Financial Mathematics and Economincs?

A degree is a degree, no matter where you do it (I assume these courses are degree level?) Most job adverts are generic in nature, i.e. require a Degree in Economics or Finance, I doubt you will see a job advert requiring a specific degree in Financial Mathematics and Economics. A degree is an award to prove you can attain a certain level of education, that is primarily what employers are looking for.

That is why I suggest that you do a course in your chosen field that you will enjoy.

Yeah, I get your point. I mean, I like maths and economics seems interesting - but I'm still not even close to being 100% sure if it's for me. I'm sure it's the same for loads of people, nursing, medecine, commerce, IT; most people would never have dealt with any of those subjects in school and are just going on what kind of reputation the job has. I like maths, but for all I know I could despise probability/statistics. I'm fairly sure that'd be a huge part of financial maths, and any kind of 3rd level maths degree.

so look into it!

get out books from libraries, look up stuff on the net

like Tom says... a degree is a degree

they may all vary in their teaching techniques but the source material will still be the same... so research!

nobody else is gonna tell you whether a course is good for you or not... your the only person who knows that!

I have been looking it up... but untill last Friday, getting the points has been the priority so I haven't really had much time. I'm just crap at making important decisions really. And I'd rate this decision as being fairly important.

not many people are good at making important decisions!

just remember: nothing is written in stone, not even the CAO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Know the feeling about making important decisions... I'm studying for my repeat exams at the moment, but even if I pass, I'm not sure if I want to go into 3rd year in my course(2nd mathematical science, UCD). So I'm trying to decide whether, if I pass the repeats, whether to finish out a course I'm not mad about or to repeat 2nd year and make a subject change. So you're not the only one who's undecided! And I discovered this year that I hate probability and statistics...

Mathematical science would probably be roughly the same thing as Financial Mathematics... Any particular reason for not liking the course (apart from the probability/statistics? It wouldn't be too bad if I knew I could just change after first year, but I really can't afford to pay fees - so basically, if first year doesn't work out, then it's over (for a few years at least).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Cookie

One thing to be aware of - sometimes it's easy enough (well, not impossible) to change to another course, once you get in there before Christmas. For example, a mate of mine did Computers and German. Hated German, but was told TWO WEEKS AFTER the deadline, that he could have changed to Computers only.

Something to keep in mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Raz

As cookie said, once you're in there you can change but you can only change to another course within the college. If you go somewhere like DCU, Trinity, UCD you'll have a lot more choices if you decide to change.
    You'll probably be assigned a tutor when you start, if you talk to them they'll be able to tell what to do.
    So choose a course, research it, and if you don't like it try and change when you get into the college.
    Remember, your points from your leaving will still be a bit of a restriction but you may be able to get into a course that requires higher points than you got.

Points shouldn't be a problem... it's just trying to decide what I want to do. I think I'm just going to leave it as it is, without changing anything else - I'll probably just regret changing it a few hours before the deadline. Besides, I think 4 chages of mind is enough for anybody...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭pork99

One poor individual (she is in IT support) would rather be a fashion designer. I rest my case.

If you think IT is competitive try a so-called "creative profession" like design.

Cut-throat competition barely describes it. Plus crap money. You don't have colleagues you have competitors. If you think that's an easy option think again.

I have a graphic design degree and after I graduated I specialised in web design (this was back in the mid to late 90s dot com fever days) and ended up for a few years as in-house designer in a software company. I found IT people generally much easier to get on with than other designers.

probability and statistics : some people love it, most people hate it (me included)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Regardless, it's extremely necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Mathematical science would probably be roughly the same thing as Financial Mathematics... Any particular reason for not liking the course (apart from the probability/statistics? It wouldn't be too bad if I knew I could just change after first year, but I really can't afford to pay fees - so basically, if first year doesn't work out, then it's over (for a few years at least).
    If you're in UCD, you can change out of MS into the general science course after the end of 1st year or 2nd year, so if you liked one of your 1st year science subjects more than you thought you would then you can change. Personally i'm kicking myself for not doing computer science in 2nd year...

Well, the deadline's past now, so I'm stuck with the choices I've already made. Just hope I wont be regretting them in a few months time...