Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Little Britain

• 22-06-2004 3:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭

Anyone been watching Little Britain on BBC - is on every Monday night now from 10:00 - 10:40. Used to be on E4.

Well worth the watch, its comedy sketches, a bit like the old Mython Python one's, some of them are hilarious, especially the guy in the wheelchair =)

Have many people been watching, what do they think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

i watch it when i can, it's feckin hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭trotter_inc

The sketch with the 'crazy' woman is good too :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭oneweb

As a mate said to me in a wholly sarcastic manner...
    "Well done, you're only six months behind everyone else on that one." :rolleyes:

But yeah, I got into it fairly recently and think it's very amusing! :D

It is what it's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭Time Man

I've seen it a few times to try and see what all the fuss is about but I have yet to find it funny. And that's hard as I'm a funny guy. Surely I should find one or two bits funny but nothing at all works

didnt realise it was around that long....

I hate those kind of guys, "oh you've only started watching it, you're so lame", I bet he only started watching it last month himself

"chimpokomon dolls are so last week"
    Originally posted by oneweb
    As a mate said to me in a wholly sarcastic manner...
    "Well done, you're only six months behind everyone else on that one." :rolleyes:

But yeah, I got into it fairly recently and think it's very amusing! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 448 ✭✭Agent Orange

The canned laughter ruins it.

It's not very funny though anyway... c'mon lads, in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭penguinbloke

It can be very hit or miss. I didn't find the first one that funny at all and only saw the second by chance. The second episode however more than made up for the first, for me anyway.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

E4?? Didn't it start on BBC and now its on RTE on a monday?? (maybe on bbc atm too, i havent noticed)

Anyway, it is hit and miss, watched some last night, laughed at some of it, but I saw it before and didnt find any of it funny.

those two are brilliant together though, like rock profiles... that was brilliant.

Flogen

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

4042.jpg3618.jpg4088.jpg4066.jpg3622.jpg4065.jpgintkgs.jpgintray.jpg3vickyandteacher.jpg

little Britain is a classic i love Andy & Lou "yeah i know" , "i want that one"

Fawlty Towers is a classic, little britain hasnt been around long enough to become a classic.

sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Watched it last nite, while it wasn't awful, it wasnt great, not one bit actually had me laughing tho :(

Its like The Office - give it a chance and it will def grow on you!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

it's funny, but i wouldnt go out of my way to watch it....

if it was on, while i was watchingtv, i'd watch it....

THAT IS ALL

While I have given it a chance it hasn't done much for me. The Office only took one episode and I was hooked, probably due to David Brent and my old boss being quite similar. It was him you told me "If you want the rainbow you're going to have to put up with the rain", and I now no longer work for him. And people still say he's just a big tit
    Originally posted by trotter_inc
    Its like The Office - give it a chance and it will def grow on you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

I read somewhere that Andy and lou " I want that Wun" is in the top ten best Uk catchphrases(no. 4), homers D'oh coming first of course.

I really like your one that is the defination of chavscum, "like, yes,no,yes,no, i said, he said and anyway, vanessa is a slapper" (something like that)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Little Britain started on BBC3 not E4, so many channels so many random numbers and letters! :D

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭ChumpStain

I like most of the sketches but it is a bit hit and miss. Although I watch it when I can so it must have more hits than misses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭garyc

but how is that possible when i am the only gay in this town

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Evil_Bilbo

some of em are brilliant, some of em (the training course bird) are a bit of a rip off of League of Gentlemen (which is far superior imo)

Good though - compared to some of the sh1te thats on at the moment its fecking gold.

yeah - I think the "smallest ant in the world" sketch that they had on at the end of the show on Monday was a rip-off of Monty Python.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

yeh but no but yeh but no but

"well i say the prime minister, he's really just that guy from buffy". Tom bakers voiceover is brilliant...

Plus the kids go to kelsey grammer school.... classic stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭munkeehaven

i love that show their humour is right up my alley.....am i weird to think the tall skinny one is kind of sexy??(when he is not in drag) there is something very endearing about his face...he could laugh me into bed any day **hee hee**

blackwhiteface.jpg

thats scary =)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,036 ✭✭✭BArra

Yeah i know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

Originally posted by munkeehaven
    i love that show their humour is right up my alley.....am i weird to think the tall skinny one is kind of sexy??(when he is not in drag) there is something very endearing about his face...he could laugh me into bed any day **hee hee**

blackwhiteface.jpg

AFAIK they are both gay, but either way i find them both endearenly (sp?) ugly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭munkeehaven

aww thats a pity (not matt lucas though).............ah well

got this from http://scotlandonsunday.scotsman.com/spectrum.cfm?id=975872003 david ain't gay...lucas is......

''Little Britain is a sketch show rather than a sitcom, but the bad news for stout comedy actresses is that when size-16 performances are required, Lucas and Walliams play them with considerable glee. Slimming-club sadists? They do them. Also gum-chewing girl-gang leaders. And transvestites and gays, lots of gays. In fact, David Baddiel told them the pilot was "like a gay Goodness Gracious Me and should be marketed like a gay comedy show". Which begs the question, are they gay?

One is, the other isn’t, but appearances can be deceptive. While Lucas, 29, is small, bald, fat, wears dull clothes and doesn’t seem remotely image-conscious, 32-year-old Walliams sports an expensive, gelled, highlighted haircut, a tight T-shirt, through which he tweaks his own nipples when he’s not lifting it to flaunt his six-pack, and a bit of a sulky pout when he’s not the one doing the talking. Lucas is an Arsenal fanatic. Walliams loathes football. Yet it is Walliams who’s straight.

They’re an unusual double act. Not at all buddy-buddy and back-slappy, they initially give the impression of having been paired together randomly, possibly by computer, at the insistence of increasingly desperate comedy execs. But slowly their shared vision emerges. Little Britain, they explain, is an old-fashioned sketch show. Morecambe and Wise is credited as an influence, also The Two Ronnies. And, with all that comedy cross-dressing, there’s a bit of Dick Emery in there as well. "I like playing gay," says Walliams, who does it very well. ''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Unpossible

They have a sketch in the last episode of a russian babysitter, its probably the best thing they came up with. They wheelchair sketch is overdone, there is no difference in them. But apart from that its a really good series

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

I think Little Britain is much funnier then TLOG, well, the last series of TLOG was dreadful and has coloured my view of it ever since :(

There's a new series of LB in production now!

Yeah, I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Originally posted by eth0_

Yeah, I know. [/B]

I want that one